American Speedway  

All Speedway Race Results

2000 West Coast Results Page


Arrowhead Motor Speedway

2000 Season Opener
Arrowhead Motor Speedway
November 25, 2000
From Ryan Evans


Current AMA National Champion Greg Hancock used a great start to win the Scratch Main for the second consecutive week to close out the 2000 season at the Orange Show Fairgrounds in San Bernardino. Hancock entered the Scratch Main having won five consecutive scratch races over two weeks, but would have to start on the outside. Joining Hancock in the Scratch Main were Billy Janniro on the pole, Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz in two, and Scottish rider David Meldrum starting in three.

Hancock trapped beautifully from the outside and opened up a comfortable lead ahead of Janniro at the end of lap one. Hancock maintained a safe cushion between he and Janniro until he drifted a bit exiting turn two on the third lap and allowed Janniro to close some ground. It would prove to only be a slight bump in the road for Hancock, as the former World Champion quickly pulled away from Janniro again to take the checkered flag. Meanwhile, Schwartz and Meldrum waged a race-long battle with Schwartz barely beating the Berwick Bandit for third.

The Handicap Main began with Marvin Sonnier leading the field from the 10 yard line. Janniro got a great start from the 50 and passed 40 yard rider Meldrum going into the first corner. Janniro quickly passed Jim Estes and then Sonnier to take the lead. Hancock, after a self-imposed 60 yard handicap, quickly worked through the field passing riders at a furious pace.

With nobody in front of him, Janniro opened up an insurmountable lead. Hancock, however, was not giving up the fight and knifed his way to second on the sixth lap. Janniro had a big lead at this point and it didn't look as though Hancock would catch him. Despite making up significant ground, Hancock simply ran out of laps and Janniro took a comfortable victory. Eddie Castro finished third, Gary Hicks was fourth, Meldrum was fifth, and Schwartz was sixth.

The Second Division Main Event began with three riders starting from the 10 yard line and it was Johnny Lupo who got the best start and led into turn one. Lupo was pursued by Dave Delbridge for several laps before Delbridge drifted wide and allowed Lupo to pull away for the win. Delbridge's mistake also cost him second place as Marvin Sonnier and John Stunkard both went under him and placed second and third, respectively.

In the Second Division B Main Event, Jeff Blaydes won his first main event with veteran Mike Boyle finishing second, Howard Larson finishing third, and Rick Valdez finishing fourth. Junior Speedway made its only appearance of the three-week series with four riders participating including two from Northern California. Prior to the main event, J.T. Mabry took a nasty spill when his bike looped during a practice start. Thankfully, Mabry walked away after several minutes on the ground. Mabry's misfortune left three riders in the main event and it was Justin Boyle taking the lead from the outside starting position. Boyle was well on his way to an easy victory until he fell on the final corner. Tim Gomez, running second at the time, had to take evasive action, which included going across the infield, but was first to the line. After initially awarding Danny Easley with the victory, referee Steve Lucero determined that Gomez had gone into the infield as a safety precaution and awarded Gomez the victory and declared Easley second.

Saturday's event was the final of a three-week series promoted by Charlie Venegas as Edge Promotions. Venegas established this series, as well as a one-night event in July, to use as a barometer to judge the viability of the Orange Show Fairgrounds as a future venue for speedway in Southern California. Venegas is tentatively planning a 15-week season for 2001, but his plans are contingent on the approval of the Orange Show Fairgrounds. Venegas is very thankful to the fans and many volunteers who helped him with this series. Venegas is also thankful to the riders and stated such during a meeting prior to the races. In addition to the many Southern California regulars who competed throughout the series, international superstar Greg Hancock, Stuart Robson from England, David Meldrum from Scotland, eight Northern California riders, and two riders from Colorado also raced. Venegas is hoping that this variety of riders will continue in the future, and should this venue continue in 2001, then he would like to encourage riders from all over the world to compete at his track.

The Orange Show Fairgrounds was home to Wednesday night speedway from 1975 until 1987 when the promotion was moved out of the city to the Glen Helen Off Highway Vehicle Park for the 1988 season. Speedway ceased at Glen Helen after the 1995 season and weekly speedway has been void in the Inland Empire since. The current track is approximately 245 yards and is inside a stock car track, whereas the original Orange Show track was built as a separate facility on the parking lot next to the stock car stadium.


Second Division B Consolation
174 - Tomasz Hampel 		10
148 - Chris Metoyer 		20
178 - Eloy Medellin 		30
206n - Paul Baldwin 		20

Second Division B Main Event
173 - Jeff Blaydes		10
198 - Mike Boyle 			20
168 - Howard Larson 		20
293 - Rick Valdez 			10
228 - Shane Kump 			10
135 - Kerry Conner 		10

Second Division Consolation
336 - Bill Green 			10
234 - Frank Pecce 			20
 49c - Chuck Johanson 		20
200 - Gerry Duttweiler 		30
178 - Eloy Medellin 		10
131 - David Lynch 			30

Second Division Main Event
125 - Johnny Lupo 			10
152 - Marvin Sonnier 		30
249 - John Stunkard 		10
338 - Dave Delbridge 		20
182 - Rudy Laurer 			20
147 - Winston Williams 		10

Junior Main Event
 10 - Tim Gomez
 23n - Danny Easley
  3 - Justin Boyle 	(fell)
 93n - J.T. Mabry 		(non-starter)

Handicap Main Event
 14n - Billy Janniro 		50
  1 - Greg Hancock 		60
 14 - Eddie Castro 		50
  3 - Gary Hicks 			50
  2 - David Meldrum 		40
 11 - Bobby Schwartz 		60
 56 - Jim Estes 			30
152 - Marvin Sonnier 		10

Scratch Consolation
 14 - Eddie Castro
223 - Mark Adams
 56 - Jim Estes
321 - Billy Lyons 		(non-starter)

Scratch Main Event
  1 - Greg Hancock
 14n - Billy Janniro
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
  2 - David Meldrum
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.