American Speedway  

2001 West Coast Results Page

All Speedway Race Results


Costa Mesa Speedway

Orange County Fairgrounds - Costa Mesa, CA

2001 Kids Night
Costa Mesa Speedway
August 11, 2001
From Ryan Evans


Shawn McConnell went home with all of the gold as he won both main events at Costa Mesa on Saturday Night.

McConnell had to qualify for the Scratch Main via the Last Chance, but the extra race didn't do him any harm. The first start of the Scratch Main had all the riders in a tight group on the first lap, but Bobby Schwartz took the lead entering turn three, but McConnell and Chris Manchester went down. Manchester was on the ground for a couple minutes but was able to compete in the restart. Manchester started his machine, but felt uncomforable and accepted Mike Faria's offer of a bike.

McConnell was first to turn one and held the lead on the back straight. Eddie Castro was right behind McConnell on lap one, but never got close as McConnell pulled away for his first Scratch Main victory of the season. Castro finished second, Bobby Schwartz was third, Randy DiFrancesco was fourth, and Manchester was fifth.

Kitt Nay took the lead at the beginning of the Handicap Main ahead of Jim Estes, who won the Handicap Main Wednesday at San Bernardino. Estes took the lead from Nay as they entered turn one the third time. McConnell followed Estes past Nay and immediately camped himself on Estes's back tire. Estes held the pole for several laps, but left an opening in turn four on lap seven and McConnell took the lead at the white flag. McConnell held on for the last lap to earn the double main event victory. Ryan Fisher finished second, Estes was third, Castro was fourth, and Nay was fifth.

The Support Main had a wild crash when Michael Mattocks lifted coming out of turn two and collected three other riders on the back straight. Danny Holt and Paul Hitchcock were the casualties as Holt had a possible broken wrist, while Hitchcock had a possible broken shoulder.2001

Mark Hitchcock took the lead on the restart and opened up some ground on Robert Fiesler. Mattocks, who had to start from the penalty line, passed Fiesler and went after the leader. Hitchcock was up to the challenge, however, as he went on to the victory. Mattocks ended up second and Fiesler was third.

The Support B Main Event had to be attempted three times as two crashes brought out red flags on the first two tries, the second of which occured in wild fashion. Wesley Mounts was the lead when he and Tom Rossano made contact and went down. Ed Martinez hit Mounts's bike, found traction, and was bucked off.

Rossano grabbed the lead on the restart and rode a smooth race to win his second main event of the season. Michael Novratil finished second, Martinez was third, and Mounts was fourth.
Justin Boyle was a runaway winner in the Junior Main Event with Krystal Cramer finishing second, Ricky Wells finished third, Skyler Greyson finished fourth, and Miles Calvin finished fifth.


Junior Main Event
  3 - Justin Boyle
 27 - Krystal Cramer
142 - Ricky Wells
  2 - Skyler Greyson
 99 - Miles Calvin
 34 - Destin Cantrell

Support B Consolation
163 - Rohn Zellner          20
227 - Mark Robertson         10
212 - Steve Dziadus            10
169 - Dan Wensloff            10
228 - >Shane Kump             20  (fell, remounted)
137 - Jeremiah LeBlanc       20

Support B Main Event     (restarted twice)
296 - Tom Rossano            20   
181 - Michael Novratil         10
269 - Ed Martinez            20
145 - Wesley Mounts            10
107 - Monte McKeon           20   
197 - Kim Stevens              10

Support Consolation
293 - Rick Valdez                 
148 - Chris Metoyer
100 - Phil Harmatiuk
336 - Bill Green   	    (fell)
182 - Rudy Laurer           (fell)

Support Consolation
165 - Randy Kreps
196 - Rod Lenz
198 - Mike Boyle
103 - Brent Smith
112 - Bryan Baichtal

Support Last Chance
106 - Robert Fiesler
147 - Winston Williams
174 - Tomasz Hampel        (fell)
338 - Dave Delbridge       (non starter)

Support Main Event
177 - Mark Hitchcock
122 - Michael Mattocks     (penalty line)
106 - Robert Fiesler
114 - Paul Hitchcock       (non starter - restart)
220 - Danny Holt           (non starter - restart)

Handicap Main Event
  6 - Shawn McConnell          40
 36 - Ryan Fisher              40
 56 - Jim Estes                30
 14 - Eddie Castro             40
216 - Kitt Nay               20
 11 - Bobby Schwartz           50
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco        40
130 - Chris Manchester         50  (non starter)

Last Chance
  6 - Shawn McConnell
 36 - Ryan Fisher
  9 - Mike Faria
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko

Scratch Main Event
  6 - Shawn McConnell
 14 - Eddie Castro
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco
130 - Chris Manchester         (retired)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.