American Speedway  

2001 West Coast Results Page

All Speedway Race Results


Costa Mesa Speedway

Orange County Fairgrounds - Costa Mesa, CA

2001 Skirt Night
Costa Mesa Speedway
September 15, 2001
From Ryan Evans

International Speedway Inc, promoters of Costa Mesa Speedway, did their part to follow President George W. Bush's request of a return to normalcy by doing what they have done since 1969. Providing the fans with speedway racing. The regular portion of the program did not commence until after an emotional tribute to those tragically killed on Tuesday.

The tribute included playing the songs "America the Beautiful" and "I'm Proud to be an American", a prayer, and a moment of silence. After the tribute, many of the riders competed with American flags mounted on their helmets, their suits, and their bikes.

Scott Brant led the Handicap Main from start to finish to capture his first main event victory at Costa Mesa since returning to action three weeks ago. Brant started on the 30 yard line alongside Northern California's Chad Felicio and was able to beat him to turn one. Brant quickly put ground between himself and Felicio. Shawn McConnell got behind Felicio and applied the pressure. Felicio eventually succumbed to the pressure and McConnell took second place. Brant, however, was long gone and was not going to be caught. Behind McConnell, Ryan Fisher held third place before Josh Larsen nudged him to take the position. Fisher tried to get the position back from Larsen in turn two, but hit Larsen's back tire and went over the high side. Fisher did not immediately leave the track and made an obscene gesture at Larsen the next time he came by. Brant went on to the easy victory, McConnell was second, Larsen finished third, Randy DiFrancesco was fourth, and Felicio was fifth. Larsen and Fisher weren't finished, however, as the two got into a shoving match and exchanged unpleasantries. Fortunately, no punches were thrown and the two were separated. Ironically, Chris Manchester played the role of peacemaker, this despite the fact that he has had two previous on-track incidents with Fisher earlier this year.

Defending National Champion Charlie Venegas made his long awaited return to action after suffering a broken femur while competing in an ice race in St. Charles, Missouri in January. After winning his heat and semi, Venegas found himself on the pole in the Scratch Main. When the tapes went up, Venegas shot into the lead, but drifted wide in turn two pinching Manchester and Bobby Schwartz. Venegas seemed to lose his momentum in the process and Fisher blasted underneath to take the lead on the back straight. Venegas went wide into turn three while Fisher stayed on the inside. The two raced alongside each other until the completion of lap two when Fisher took control. Manchester went under Venegas for second, but Fisher wasn't going to be caught. The former Junior National Champion captured the first Costa Mesa Scratch Main of his career, followed by Manchester, Venegas finished third, Schwartz finished fourth, and Larsen was fifth.

The Support Main Event required three attempts to complete after crashes brought the first two starts to a halt. Michael Mattocks and a Scott Olney, who traveled from Northern California, gated together on the third attempt, but they clashed in turn one and Mattocks went down. Olney slowed, and John DeFries went by for the lead. DeFries was smooth and fast throughout the race and was victorious for the second week in a row. Olney finished second, Jeff Blaydes was third, Philip Williams was fourth, and Mattocks was credited with fifth.

The Support B Main Event suffered from several cases of anxiety three riders were penalized for rolling the start. Doug Benjamin, who returned to speedway last week after more than a decade, took the early lead. While the rest of the riders in the field was sorting themselves out Benjamin was pulling away. Benjamin took the victory, Mike Boyle was second, Ed Martinez finished third, Chad Newlee was fourth, Billy Braden was fifth, and Todd Brown finished sixth.

Justin Boyle moved quickly through the field from his 40 yard starting position to take the lead on the second lap. Boyle opened up a huge lead and went on to the victory. Ricky Wells was second, Miles Calvin finished third, Krystal Cramer was fourth, Destin Cantrell was fifth, and Skyler Greyson finished sixth.


Junior Speedway
  3 - Justin Boyle                40
142 - Ricky Wells               20
 99 - Miles Calvin                30
 27 - Krystal Cramer            20
 34 - Destin Cantrell             10
  2 - Skyler Greyson              30

Support B Consolation
118 - Scott Tidwell             20
163 - Rohn Zellner           20
202n - Harry Bradwell             10
197 - Kim Stevens               20   (fell)
145 - Wesley Mounts               10   (fell)
212 - Steve Dziadus               10   (fell)

Support B Main Event
128 - Doug Benjamin               10
198 - Mike Boyle                20
269 - Ed Martinez               20   (penalty line)
123 - Chad Newlee               20
117 - Billy Braden              20   (penalty line) (fell)
211 - Todd Brown                  10   (penalty line) (fell)

Support Consolation
131 - David Lynch                 10
338 - Dave Delbridge               0
165 - Randy Kreps                  0
196 - Rod Lenz                    10
103 - Brent Smith                  0
296 - Tom Rossano                 10
148 - Chris Metoyer                0   (retired)
293 - Rick Valdez                 10  (non starter)

Support Last Chance
239 - Philip Williams
336 - Bill Green
178 - Eloy Medellin
200 - Gerry Duttweiler     (non starter)

Support Main Event
316 - John DeFries
417n - Scott Olney
173 - Jeff Blaydes     	   (penalty line)
239 - Philip Williams      (penalty line)
122 - Michael Mattocks     (fell)

Handicap Main Event
 10 - Scott Brant                 30  
  6 - Shawn McConnell             40
  4 - Josh Larsen                 50
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco           40
 54n - Chad Felicio               30
 11 - Bobby Schwartz              50
 36 - Ryan Fisher                 40  (fell)
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko             40  (non starter)

Last Chance
130 - Chris Manchester
  9 - Mike Faria
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco
  6 - Shawn McConnell

Scratch Main Event
 36 - Ryan Fisher
130 - Chris Manchester
  1 - Charlie Venegas
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
  4 - Josh Larsen
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.