American Speedway  

2001 West Coast Results Page

All Speedway Race Results


Costa Mesa Speedway

Orange County Fairgrounds - Costa Mesa, CA

2001 Speedway and Sidecars
Costa Mesa Speedway
September 22, 2001
From Ryan Evans


Josh Larsen ran away from the field and captured the Scratch Main Event at Costa Mesa Saturday Night.

Jim Estes, who transferred to the Scratch Main after an impressive Last Chance victory, was first to turn one but Larsen went under Estes on the back straight. Eddie Castro went past Estes in turn three and chased after Larsen. Larsen was not going to be caught, however, and his lead got bigger with each lap. Ryan Fisher passed Castro for second, but had no chance to catch the former World Finalist who took the victory. Fisher was second, Castro finished third, Brad Oxley was fourth, and Estes was fifth.

Kitt Nay's 20 yard handicap placed him at the front of the eight-man Handicap Main Event. Nay was bidding for his third Handicap Main Event of the year, but Estes ended his hopes on the third lap when he went under the 20 year old as they entered turn one. Nay didn't go away easily, as he and Estes were next to each other when they entered turn three when the two riders, along with Shawn McConnell, made contact and forced all three to go down. The five other riders all laid their machines down in manner that made the whole incident look like a predetermined synchronized display. The crowd gave the riders a standing ovation.

Nay was deemed the cause and would start at the back on the restart. Estes started at the front and the race would restart with six laps remaining. Estes calmly rode a smooth race and was well on his way to his second Handicap Main victory in three weeks when his engine packed up on the seventh lap and forced him to slide off in turn one. McConnell didn't squander the chance as he took the lead and went to take the win. Scott Brant, last week's Handicap Main Event winner, was second, Fisher was third, Castro was fourth, and Larsen was fifth.

Sean McDougall made a great trap from the gate five to take the early lead in the Support Main Event. McDougall rode a very smooth five laps to earn his third Support Main Event victory of the year. Rudy Laurer finished second, Mark Hitchcock was third, John Stunkard was fourth, and Randy Kreps was fifth.

Wesley Mounts was the first rider into turn one in the Support B Main Event, but had to contend with Shane Kump who tried to make the pass on the outside. Kump took the lead at the end of the first lap and opened up some breathing room on Mounts. Rohn Zellner passed Mounts for second, but wasn't able to challenge for the lead as Kump ran away with the victory. Mounts finished third, Michael Novratil was fourth, Todd Brown was fifth, and Doug Benjamin, last week's winner, was sixth.


Support B Main Event
228 - Shane Kump          10
163 - Rohn Zellner     20
145 - Wesley Mounts       10
181 - Michael Novratil    10
211 - Todd Brown          10   (penalty line)
128 - Doug Benjamin     20   (fell, remounted)

Support Consolation
118 - Scott Tidwell        0
338 - Dave Delbridge      10
196 - Rod Lenz            10
148 - Chris Metoyer       10
296 - Tom Rossano          0
269 - Ed Martinez         10
293 - Rick Valdez          0   (fell, excluded)

Support Last Chance
182 - Rudy Laurer
106 - Robert Fiesler
117 - Billy Braden     (penalty line)
178 - Eloy Medellin    (fell)

Support Main Event
243 - Sean McDougall
182 - Rudy Laurer
177 - Mark Hitchcock
249 - John Stunkard
165 - Randy Kreps

Handicap Main Event
  6 - Shawn McConnell     40
 10 - Scott Brant         40
 36 - Ryan Fisher         50
 14 - Eddie Castro        40
  4 - Josh Larsen         50
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko     40
216 - Kitt Nay          20
 56 - Jim Estes           30   (engine failure)

Last Chance Race
 56 - Jim Estes
 10 - Scott Brant
  6 - Shawn McConnell
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko

Scratch Main Event
  4 - Josh Larsen
 36 - Ryan Fisher
 14 - Eddie Castro
  5 - Brad Oxley
 56 - Jim Estes
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.