American Speedway  

2001 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2001 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
San Bernardino, California

2001 Arrowhead
Arrowhead Speedway
July 11, 2001
From Ryan Evans


Gary Hicks celebrated Independence Day in style by winning the Scratch Main at Arrowhead Motor Speedway in San Bernardino Wednesday Night.

Hicks lined up on the pole for the main with Dukie Ermolenko in gate two, Ryan Fisher in gate three, and Shawn McConnell on the outside. Hicks got the best start and took the lead right away. Fisher tried to challenge on the first lap, but Hicks held him back. Hicks steadily pulled away to comfortably win his second Scratch Main at the new facility. Fisher, who was seeking is third straight Scratch Main victory at the track, finished second, Ermolenko was third, and McConnell finished fourth.

Jim Estes started from the 30 yard line and was the closest rider to the tapes in the Handicap Main. Estes led the 6-man field throughout lap one. Fisher had the best start of the 50-yard quartet of riders and moved up behind Estes. Fisher went under Estes on the back straight on lap three with Hicks in tow. Hicks was planted on Fisher's back tire throughout the remaining three laps, but the former Junior National Champion never succumbed to the pressure and took the victory. Hicks was second, Ermolenko was third, Schwartz finished fourth, Estes was fifth, and McConnell finished sixth.

The Second Division Main featured a great battle between two riders who were new to San Bernardino. Bill Ewing, returning to speedway after several years, and Ron Woodsford, who traveled down from Northern California for the evening, battled for the lead throughout the race. On the last corner Billy Lyons made it a three-man battle to the checkered flag. At the line it was Ewing taking the win by inches, Woodsford was second, and Lyons was third. Eloy Medellin, returning from an injury, finished fourth, Chad Newlee was fifth, and John Stunkard was sixth.

Kim Stevens, Southern California's only female professional speedway rider, led the Second Division B Main Event through turn one and two. "Insane" Shane Kump, who started on the 20 yard line, rode the outside through the first corner and then passed Stevens on the outside going into turn three to take the lead. Kump lengthened his lead with each lap and won the Second Division B Main Event for the second time this season. Scott Tidwell was second, Billy Braden finished third, K.G. Fairbarnwas fourth, Stevens was fifth, and Jeremiah LeBlanc was sixth.

The first Junior race was a scratch race featuring Justin Boyle, Troy McConnell, and Ricky Wells. Boyle was so impressive in winning the race that he was handicapped 30 yards for the second race. Boyle was able to get past Wells and set his sights on McConnell. After chasing his fellow second generation racer for a lap, Boyle made the pass entering turn three and went on to the victory. McConnell finished second and Wells was third.

There was another overflow crowd attending the evening's racing which also featured a fireworks show immediately after the races in celebration of Independence Day. The evening was marred, however, by crash during the first Second Division Consolation. Johnny Lupo got tangled in the fence on the back straight and was stretchered off with a probable broken femur. The lengthy delay resulting from the crash, and a 9:30 curfew due to the fireworks show, forced the cancellation of the other Second Division Consolation and the Scratch Consolation while the Second Division Main was slotted between the Handicap Main and Scratch Main.

Next Wednesday, speedway will revert to its normal 8:00 starting time and Arrowhead Motor Speedway will not have a curfew to adhere to. Wednesday's curfew was only to clear the facility during the fireworks show that was held in conjunction with the stock car event at the neighboring stadium.


Second Division B Consolation
163 - Rohn Zellner               20
198 - Mike Boyle                  20
205 - Mike Lewis                 10
350 - Kodiak Calkin               10  	(retired)
327 - Colby Calkin                10   	(non starter)

Second Division B Main Event
228 - Shane Kump                  20
118 - Scott Tidwell               20
117 - Billy Braden                20
310 - K.G. Fairbarn              10
197 - Kim Stevens                 10
137 - Jeremiah LeBlanc            10   	(non starter)

Second Division Consolation
106 - Robert Fiesler              10
103 - Brent Smith                 10
125 - Johnny Lupo                 30   	(fell)
293 - Rick Valdez                  0   	(fell)
165 - Randy Kreps                 10   	(retired)
131 - David Lynch                 30   	(non starter)

Second Division Consolation
148 - Chris Metoyer (10)
182 - Rudy Laurer (20)
177 - Mark Hitchcock (20)
239 - Philip Williams (10)
162 - Mike Lupo (30)
147 - Winston Williams (10)  qualified, but the race was canceled due to time constraints.

Second Division Main Event
110 - Bill Ewing                   0
111n - Ron Woodsford               0
321 - Billy Lyons                 30
178 - Eloy Medellin                0
123 - Chad Newlee                  0   	(fell, remounted)
249 - John Stunkard               10  	(fell)

Junior Race #1
  3 - Justin Boyle
 39 - Troy McConnell
142 - Ricky Wells

Junior Race #2
  3 - Justin Boyle            	30
 39 - Troy McConnell               0
142 - Ricky Wells                  0

Handicap Main Event
 36 - Ryan Fisher                 50
  3 - Gary Hicks                  50
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko             50
 11 - Bobby Schwartz              50
 56 - Jim Estes                   30  	(fell)
  6 - Shawn McConnell             40

Scratch Consolation
11 - Bobby Schwartz
189 - Danny Perkins
56 - Jim Estes
223 - Bobby Krips qualified, but the race was canceled due to time constraints.

Scratch Main Event
  3 - Gary Hicks
 36 - Ryan Fisher
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
  6 - Shawn McConnell    (retired)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.