American Speedway  

2001 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2001 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
San Bernardino, California

2001 Arrowhead Speedway
Arrowhead Speedway
July 11, 2001
From Ryan Evans

Dukie Ermolenko used a little bit of luck to win his first Scratch Main of the year at Arrowhead Motor Speedway in San Bernardino Wednesday Night.

The first attempt was over before it started as Shaun Harmatiuk was excluded for touching the tapes. It was a tough break for Harmatiuk who was making his first-ever Scratch Main event appearance. On the second try, Bobby Krips, also making his first-ever Scratch Main appearance, and Gary Hicks gated evenly and entered turn one together. Hicks got the better drive coming out of turn two and took the lead. Ermolenko passed Krips for second and it looked as though the finishing order was set until Hicks had a fuel line come off on the back straight on lap three. Ermolenko was the benefactor and cruised to the victory. Krips finished second and a dejected Hicks finished third.

Harmatiuk came from the 10 yard line and was at the front of the field for the start of the Handicap Main. Harmatiuk held a comfortable lead at the beginning of the race, but the action was furious behind him. Hicks and Ermolenko were charging through the field after starting on the 50 yard line. Hicks took over second on the third lap and quickly closed on Harmatiuk. Hicks made his move entering turn three on lap four and went under Harmatiuk for the lead. Things got worse for Harmatiuk as he fell in turn two on the next lap. Hicks went on to record his third San Bernardino Handicap Main victory of the year, Ermolenko finished second, Charlie Cooley, in his 2001 debut, finished third, Bobby Krips finished fourth, Northern California rider and Junior National Champion Bryan Yarrow finished fifth, while Harmatiuk was credited with sixth.

In the Second Division Main Rick Valdez got the best start of the three riders starting at the tapes, but he had to contend with Chad Newlee right away. Valdez did his best to hold the lead, but Newlee was relentless and made the pass. Matt Browne, who drove down from Northern California, weaved his way through the field and into second. Browne was within striking distance on the last lap, but Newlee thwarted his attempt for the lead in the last corner and recorded the victory. Browne was second, Mike Lupo was third, Valdez was fourth, Dave Delbridge was fifth, and Shane Kump was sixth.

Second Division B used a Scratch format for the evening and it was Billy Braden who enjoyed it most as he won his second main event in three weeks. Braden started from the pole and rode four smooth laps to earn the victory. Scott Tidwell was second, Jeremiah LeBlanc was third, and Kim Stevens was fourth.

In addition to Yarrow and Browne, Jonathan Curry and Greg Hooten Jr. also came down from the Northern California. The four young riders made the trip together. All four had positive things to say about the track and all of them expressed interest in returning next week. It was great to see their enthusiasm and is always good to have riders making trips down south to race.


Second Division B Consolation (Scratch) 
310 - K.G. Fairbarn
512 - Steve Dziadus 
350 - Kodiak Calkin 
227 - Mark Robertson 

Second Division B Main Event (Scratch) 
117 - Billy Braden 
118 - Scott Tidwell 
137 - Jeremiah LeBlanc 
197 - Kim Stevens 

Second Division Consolation 
174 - Tomasz Hampel            0 
106 - Robert Fiesler          10 
178 - Eloy Medellin            0 
182 - Rudy Laurer             20 
148 - Chris Metoyer           10 
165 - Randy Kreps             10 
103 - Brent Smith             10 

Second Division Main Event 
123 - Chad Newlee              0 
211n - Matt Browne          20 
162 - Mike Lupo               30 
293 - Rick Valdez              0 
338 - Dave Delbridge          20 
228 - >Shane Kump               0 

12n - Greg Hooten Jr. 
  3 - Justin Boyle 

Handicap Main Event 
  3 - Gary Hicks              50 
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko         50 
 16 - Charlie Cooley          20 
223 - Bobby Krips             20 
854n - Bryan Yarrow           20 
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk         10   (fell) 

Scratch Consolation 
854n - Bryan Yarrow 
31n - Jonathan Curry
173 - Jeff Blaydes 
 16 - Charlie Cooley

Scratch Main Event 
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko 
223 - Bobby Krips 
  3 - Gary Hicks        (retired) 
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk   (tape exclusion) 
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.