American Speedway  

2001 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2001 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
San Bernardino, California

2001 Arrowhead
Arrowhead Speedway
August 1, 2001
From Ryan Evans

2001 Ryan Fisher

Ryan Fisher withstood a fierce attack from Gary Hicks to win the Scratch Main at Arrowhead Motor Speedway in San Bernardino for the second straight week.Fisher drew the pole, alongside Dukie Ermolenko in gate two, with Hicks in three, and Randy DiFrancesco on the outside. DiFrancesco was on fire, literally, at the line as a flame ignited on his bike, but he was undeterred and dropped the clutch when the tapes went up. Fisher used the pole to gain the advantage in turn one, but Hicks tried to cross underneath the Former Junior National Champion exiting turn two. Fisher stayed low and held the lead down the back straight. Meanwhile, DiFrancesco purposely laid his bike down in turn two in an effort to douse the flames burning under his seat. Amazingly, DiFrancesco remounted his machine and finished the race!

At the front, Hicks was giving Fisher all he could handle as he tried to pass him first on the inside and then on the outside throughout the race. Fisher couldn't afford to make a mistake and he withstood the constant pressure to take his fourth A.M.S. Scratch Main of the year. Hicks' efforts would only get him second, with Ermolenko finishing third, and DiFrancesco finishing fourth.

Charlie Cooley led the field in the Handicap Main from his starting position on the 20 yard line. Immediately behind him on the 30 yard line was Englishman Andrew Silver, a former British League competitor, who was making his debut at the track. Silver immediately pressured Cooley, but was feeling pressure himself as Hicks made his way to third on the first lap. Cooley succumbed to the pressure at the end of lap two but fell entering turn one which forced Fisher to lay his bike down and brought out the red flag.

The staggered restart would begin with Silver at the head of the field and four laps left to complete. Silver took the lead, but had to fend off Hicks again. Hicks tried the low line for two laps and was unsuccessful, so he went wide entering turn one on the fifth lap. Hicks went around Silver on the back straight, and to add insult to injury, he playfully slapped Silver on the backside as he made the pass! Hicks went on to victory, but Silver was worn out and pulled off as he took the white flag allowing several riders to pass. Fisher finished second, Castro was third, DiFrancesco was fourth, Silver was fifth, and Cooley was sixth.

The Second Division Main was full of low yardage riders with three lined up on at the tapes and three lined up on the 10 yard line. Billy Braden, making his debut in Second Division, rocketed to the front and took a commanding lead on the first lap while the field sorted itself behind him. Braden stretched his lead on every lap and had the race in hand on lap four when Eloy Medellin fell down entering turn three forcing a red flag. Since half the race had been completed, Braden was awarded with the victory. Philip Williams was credited with second, Brent Smith was third, Robert Fiesler was fourth, Chad Newlee was fifth, and Medellin was sixth.

For the second straight week, the Second Division B Main used a scratch format. 17 year old Wesley Mounts blasted into the lead from his gate two starting position and opened up a large lead on the opening lap. Mounts rode a smooth and steady four laps to take his first ever main event victory. K.G. Fairbarnfinished second, Steve Dziadus finished third, and Kim Stevens finished fourth. Mounts is the cousin of former Junior National Champion Randy Evans and his victory occurred on his debut at A.M.S.

Andrew Silver was impressive in his initial appearance at A.M.S. and adapted quite well to a track that is much smaller than those found in Europe with his only problem being fatigue which forced him to slow in the Handicap Main and the Scratch Consolation.

Silver competed in the British League for Rye House, Swindon, Arena-Essex, and Eastbourne and is the son of Rye House Promoter Len Silver. He was a spectator at A.M.S. the previous week and stated his intention to race at the track despite the fact that he hadn't raced in several years. Dukie Ermolenko provided Silver with a bike and former Middlesborough rider Donnie "Too Tall" Odom and fellow retiree Rodd "Sledge" Saunders were Silver's mechanics for the evening. Silver said that he plans to ride next week, but is unsure beyond that. He also expressed interest in competing at Costa Mesa as well.


Second Division B Consolation (scratch)
171 - Ken Montague
227 - Mark Robertson
327 - Colby Calkin
350 - Kodiak Calkin        (non starter)

Second Division B Main Event (scratch)
145 - Wesley Mounts
310 - K.G. Fairbarn
512 - Steve Dziadus
197 - Kim Stevens

Second Division Consolation
182 - Rudy Laurer                30
338 - Dave Delbridge             20
165 - Randy Kreps                10
198 - Mike Boyle                  0
293 - Rick Valdez                40
163 - Rohn Zellner               0
126 - Doug Lupo                   0
118 - Scott Tidwell              40   (non starter)

Second Division Main Event
117 - Billy Braden                0
239 - Philip Williams            10
103 - Brent Smith                 0
106 - Robert Fiesler             10   (penalty line)
123 - Chad Newlee                10   (penalty line)
178 - Eloy Medellin               0   (fell)

Handicap Main Event
  3 - Gary Hicks                 50
 36 - Ryan Fisher                50
 14 - Eddie Castro               40
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco          40
    - Andrew Silver              30
 16 - Charlie Cooley             20

Scratch Consolation
 14 - Eddie Castro
223 - Bobby Krips
    - Andrew Silver
 11 - Bobby Schwartz

Scratch Main Event
 36 - Ryan Fisher
  3 - Gary Hicks
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco       (fell, remounted)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.