American Speedway  

2001 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2001 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
San Bernardino, California

2001 Arrowhead
Arrowhead Speedway
August 8, 2001
From Ryan Evans


Josh Larsen and Jim Estes each took home the top honors in front of another large crowd at Arrowhead Motor Speedway in San Bernardino Wednesday Night.

Jeff Blaydes started at the front of the field in the Handicap Main and assumed the lead when the race began. Jim Estes beat fellow 30 yard rider Mark Adams to turn one, thus leading the charge from the back. Estes passed Blaydes on the second lap, but had to contend with pressure from Eddie Castro, who was feeling the heat from Ryan Fisher. Estes did an excellent job of keeping his bike right on the pole and was able to hold off Castro and Fisher throughout the race for a very well deserved Handicap Main Event victory, his first of the season. Castro held off Fisher for second, with Gary Hicks coming in fourth, Adams was fifth, and Blaydes was sixth.

In the Scratch Main, Hicks drew the pole, with Fisher coming out of gate two, Larsen was in gate three, and Dukie Ermolenko was on the outside. Fisher got away first with Hicks close behind. Fisher was in command at the end of lap one when Hicks and Ermolenko came together in turn two and both went down. Ermolenko was up right away, but Hicks remained on the ground. Hicks was a little sore, but he was able to walk away. Hicks was deemed the cause and was excluded from the restart.

Larsen took advantage of his second chance by beating Fisher and Ermolenko to turn one. Fisher tried to go inside Larsen on the back straight as well as into turn three with Larsen mustering just enough speed to hold Fisher back as the two former Junior National Champions raced just inches apart from each other. Larsen drifted a little wide exiting turn four and Fisher tried to charge underneath on the front straight, but Larsen was still able to pull his bike down to the pole and hold the lead in turn one. Fisher tried the same move on the back straight as both riders were still just inches apart with Larsen holding the lead through turns three and four. Larsen found the drive he needed exiting turn two on the third lap and was able to establish some breathing room. Fisher wasn't able to get close again as Larsen took his second Arrowhead Scratch Main Event of the year. Fisher was second, Ermolenko was third, and Hicks was credited with fourth. The crowd showed their appreciation of the intense and close action by giving the two competitors a large ovation for their performance in the most exciting Scratch Main in Arrowhead's young history.

Rick Valdez and Eloy Medellin gated evenly at the start of the Second Division Main, with Valdez taking the lead on the back straight with a great move on the outside. Valdez was in control at the front, but Rudy Laurer was weaving through traffic and was in second on the second lap. Entering turn one the third time Valdez fell which forced a couple riders to lay their bikes down. Valdez was banished to the penalty line for the restart.

Laurer was at the head of the field for the restart and common sense says that a back yardage rider starting in the front equals easy victory. Laurer made that theory hold true as he left the field behind and raced away with the victory. Tomasz Hampel finished second, Philip Williams finished third, Medellin finished fourth, Valdez finished fifth, and Robert Fiesler finished sixth.
Kim Stevens took the lead at the start of the Second Division B Main Event, but Steve Nelson , making his speedway debut, fell in turn three which caused the referee to order a restart. Stevens got the best start again and held the lead through lap one much to the delight of the crowd. With the crowd's enthusiastic encouragement Stevens rode a solid race and did not disappoint her fans as she won her first main event. Mike Boyle finished second, Jeremiah LeBlanc finished third, Nelson finished fourth, Steve Dziadus finished fifth, and last week's winner, Wesley Mounts, fell and finished sixth.

Stevens is a native of New Zealand and is the only active female professional speedway rider in Southern California. Her main event victory is the first by a female in Southern California since Angela Hale several years back.

Arrowhead promoter Charlie Venegas took his first laps at his own facility during two exhibition races with Junior rider Justin Boyle. Venegas has been inactive since breaking his femur while competing in an ice race in St. Charles, Missouri in January. Venegas was using the exhibition to knock off some of the rust as well as gauge the stability of his leg, which currently has a metal rod inserted into it. Venegas justifiably appeared a little tentative the first time, but was smooth and fast during the second exhibition race. Boyle also showed his ability and his cool as he never appeared intimidated with the idea of the current National Champion coming behind him. Venegas started 50 yards back each time and Boyle beat him to the line the first time and they crossed the line together the second time.

Venegas was very happy to announce that the Arrowhead season will be extended by two weeks with the season finale being moved from August 29 to September 12. The size of the crowds was the determining factor and Venegas was satisfied enough to go forward with two more Wednesday Nights. The stability in attendance and the fact that Venegas is confident enough to extend the track's maiden season is proof that speedway has a bright future in San Bernardino.


Second Division B Consolation
227 - Mark Robertson           10
350 - Kodiak Calkin            10
171 - Kenny Montague           10  (non starter)

Second Division B Main Event
197 - Kim Stevens              10
198 - Mike Boyle               20
137 - Jeremiah LeBlanc         10
202 - Steve Nelson              10  (penalty line)
512 - Steve Dziadus             10  (fell, remounted)
145 - Wesley Mounts            20  (fell)

Second Division Consolation
196 - Rod Lenz                  0
165 - Randy Kreps              10
234 - Frank Pecce              20
117 - Billy Braden             10  (penalty line) (retired)
118 - Scott Tidwell             0  (fell, excluded)
103 - Brent Smith               0  (non starter)

Second Division Main Event
182 - Rudy Laurer              20
174 - Tomasz Hampel             0
239 - Philip Williams          10
178 - Eloy Medellin             0
293 - Rick Valdez               0  (penalty line)
106 - Robert Fiesler           10

Handicap Main Event
 56 - Jim Estes                30
 14 - Eddie Castro             40
 36 - Ryan Fisher              50
  3 - Gary Hicks               50
 23 - Mark Adams               30
173 - Jeff Blaydes              0

Scratch Consolation
 14 - Eddie Castro
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
 56 - Jim Estes
223 - Bobby Krips

Scratch Main Event
  4 - Josh Larsen
 36 - Ryan Fisher
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
  3 - Gary Hicks        (fell, excluded)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.