American Speedway  

2002 Costa Mesa Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, CA

Orange County Harley Davidson Night
Costa Mesa Speedway
August 24, 2002
By: Ryan Evans

Scott Brant took home all the gold as he won both main events at Costa Mesa for the second time this season.

It didn't appear as though Brant would win both main events because the first attempt to run the Scratch Main Event found Mike Faria at the front and in control when Eddie Castro lifted in turn two and stepped off the back of his bike, which ended up hitting the fall at high speed. Castro was put on the penalty line for the restart.

On the restart, Brant launched from the pole position and found traction all the way to turn one. Brant took the lead and Josh Larsen blasted under Faria to take second behind Brant. Brant maintained a safe cushion in front of Larsen until they took the white flag and Larsen began to close. Larsen couldn't get close enough, though, and Brant took the checkered flag. Faria finished third, Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz was fourth, and Castro was fifth.

Shaun Harmatiuk's 10 yard handicap placed him at the head of the field in the Handicap Main Event. Harmatiuk held the lead, but Randy DiFrancesco was closing fast when he experienced a problem entering turn three on the third lap. This handed second to Brant who began his own pursuit of Harmatiuk. Harmatiuk went very wide into turn three the next lap and by the time he recovered, Brant had taken the lead and several more riders went by. Brant opened up a big lead and cruised the rest of the way for the win. Shawn McConnell was second, Larsen finished third, Andy Northrup was fourth, and Faria was fifth.

After finishing an uncharacteristic fourth last week, David Lynch found his winning form and won his sixth Support Main Event of 2002. John Stunkard, who's battling Lynch for the season points championship, finished second, Billy Braden was third, Rick Valdez finished fourth, and Philip Williams was fifth.

Mark Baldwin piloted his two-valve Jawa to the victory in the Support B Main Event. Rusty Hall finished second, Steve Dziadus was third, Kim Stevens finished fourth, and Mark Robertson was fifth.

Racing to Costa Mesa for the first time this season was 2000 National Champion Charlie "The Edge" Venegas. Venegas suffered a mechanical problem in his Handicap Heat, but transferred out of his Scratch Heat, then finished fourth in the semi and third in the Last Chance. Venegas has only competed a handful of times since breaking his leg in an ice race in January 2001. He re-injured the leg last September while leading a Scratch Main at Costa Mesa.

The evening featured the popular Harley Races which provided extra entertainment for the large crowd. There will not be racing at Costa Mesa next week due to the Labor Day Holiday, but speedway returns on September 7 with Fan Appreciation Night.


Support B Last Chance
115 - Mark Baldwin
228 - Shane Kump
102 - Jim Lavender
169 - Dan Wensloff

Support B Main Event
115 - Mark Baldwin
164 - Rusty Hall
212 - Steve Dziadus
197 - Kim Stevens
227 - Mark Robertson

Support Consolation
133 - Craig Collier
103 - Brent Smith

Support Consolation
338 - Dave Delbridge
165 - Randy Kreps
163 - Rohn Zellner
178 - Eloy Medellin

Support Consolation
182 - Rudy Laurer
118 - Scott Tidwell
112 - Bryan Baichtal
161 - Hector Quevedo

Support Last Chance
117 - Billy Braden
148 - Chris Metoyer
106 - Robert Fiesler
180 - Malcolm Roe   (fell)

Support Main Event
131 - David Lynch
249 - John Stunkard
117 - Billy Braden
293 - Rick Valdez
239 - Philip Williams

Handicap Main Event
 10 - Scott Brant		40
  6 - Shawn McConnell           40
  2 - Josh Larsen               50
166 - Andy Northrup             30
  9 - Mike Faria                50
 14 - Eddie Castro              40
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk           10
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco         30

Last Chance
  2 - Josh Larsen
166 - Andy Northrup
 43 - Charlie Venegas
  6 - Shawn McConnell

Scratch Main Event  (restarted)
 10 - Scott Brant
  2 - Josh Larsen
  9 - Mike Faria
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
 14 - Eddie Castro          (penalty line)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.