American Speedway  

2002 Costa Mesa Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, CA

Skirt Night
Costa Mesa Speedway
September 14, 2002
By: Ryan Evans


Bryan Yarrow won his second Handicap Main of the season and Mike Faria captured his fifth Scratch Main at Costa Mesa Saturday night.

Faria drew the pole for the main event with Josh Larsen immediately to his right in gate two. The two riders had a spectacular battle in their semi which Faria won after the lead was swapped several times. Larsen was off the line first followed by Faria as they went into turn one while National Champion Chris Manchester was trying to sweep around the field on the outside. Larsen held the lead on the back straight and into turn three as Manchester couldn't muster enough traction to take the lead. Manchester wasn't going away, however and as the riders entered turn one the second time Manchester was still on the wide line while Faria was trying to take the lead on the inside. Larsen was put in the precarious position of choosing which line to protect, but he managed to hold both riders off through two laps. Manchester began to fade, but Faria kept the pressure on Larsen as they took the white flag. Faria made a last attempt as they entered turn three but Larsen held him back. As the two riders exited the last corner Faria made a run on the inside to make it close at the finish line. Larsen, and many others in attendance, felt as if he had won, but the scorekeepers saw it differently and awarded the race to Faria. Scott Brant finished third, Manchester was fourth, and Bobby Schwartz was fifth after experiencing an engine failure at the starting line.

Yarrow's 20 yard handicap placed him at the front of the field in the Handicap Main and that is exactly where he remained as the 2000 Junior National Champion remained poised and put together eight perfect laps to win. Yarrow never allowed anyone to get close enough to seriously threaten his lead. Dukie Ermolenko, out of action for many weeks, finished second, Brant, who won the last two Handicap Mains, was third, Shawn McConnell finished fourth, and Larsen was fifth.

Support Division points leader John Stunkard used the pole position to his advantage as he jumped into the lead. John DeFries, who has dominated the Support Division when programmed there, missed the start badly and was mired in fourth after the first lap. Stunkard was riding steady at the front while DeFries moved through the pack. DeFries moved into second and was chasing Stunkard as they finished the third lap. Stunkard wasn't bothered by the hard-charging DeFries, though, and held him off to earn the win. Rudy Laurer was third, Rod Lenz finished fourth, and Billy Braden was fifth.

Steve Murray jumped into the lead at the start of the Support B Main Event. Murray put together four smooth laps and ran away with the victory. Tom Rossano was second, Bryan Baichtal was third, Greg Vandemore finished fourth, Mark Robertson was fifth, and Kim Stevens finished sixth.

Dario Galvin took the lead at the start of the Junior Main Event. Galvin held the lead for two laps before going wide and allowing Krystal Cramer to take the lead. The young lady never looked back from there as she cruised to the victory. Galvin held on to second, Ricky Wells was third, and Jason Ramirez was fourth.


Support B Consolation
181 - Michael Novratil		20
102 - Jim Lavender              10
178 - Eloy Medellin             20
103 - Brent Smith               20
212 - Steve Dziadus             10
244 - DeWayne Stark             10

Support B Main Event
214 - Steve Murray              10
296 - Tom Rossano               20
112 - Bryan Baichtal            20
209 - Greg Vandemore            10
227 - Mark Robertson            10
197 - Kim Stevens               10

Support Consolation
163 - Rohn Zellner                
175 - John Vandermeulen
228 - Shane Kump

Support Consolation
118 - Scott Tidwell
165 - Randy Kreps
106 - Robert Fiesler
133 - Craig Collier

Support Consolation
131 - David Lynch
240 - Hideaki Ota
239 - Philip Williams
148 - Chris Metoyer

Support Last Chance
182 - Rudy Laurer
180 - Malcolm Roe
269 - Ed Martinez	(fell, remounted)
338 - Dave Delbridge    (fell, excluded)

Junior Main Event
 27 - Krystal Cramer       	10   
  5 - Dario Galvin               0
142 - Ricky Wells               10
 66 - Jason Ramirez              0
  2 - Skyler Greyson            10   (non starter)

Handicap Main Event
  8n - Bryan Yarrow             20
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko           30
 10 - Scott Brant               40
  6 - Shawn McConnell           40
  2 - Josh Larsen               50
166 - Andy Northrup             30
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco         30
  9 - Mike Faria                50   (retired)

Last Chance
  1 - Chris Manchester
  3 - Gary Hicks
166 - Andy Northrup
  6 - Shawn McConnell

Scratch Main Event
  9 - Mike Faria
  2 - Josh Larsen
 10 - Scott Brant
  1 - Chris Manchester
 11 - Bobby Schwartz     (engine failure)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.