American Speedway  

2002 Fast Fridays Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Fast Fridays Speedway
Gold Country Fairgrounds
Auburn, CA

Challenge #3
Fast Fridays
June 21, 2002
From Gary Roberts

A lower than normal crowd, for some reason, had an enjoyable evening at Fast Fridays. The track seemed to be patchy, catching a couple of riders by surprise.

Scratch Main
1. Chris Manchester
2. Bart Bast
3. Bobby Hedden
4. Alan Christian
The first semi final comprised Mike Faria, Bobby and Tommy Hedden and Chris Manchester. Chris got the gate, Mike followed, with Bobby Hedden behind, but using the outside. First Mike suffered a track irregularity, which cost him his qualifying spot, and the next lap Chris suffered the same, causing him to drop from first to second. He made no mistake in the main, winning it convincingly from the tapes. Bart Bast chased in second but made no impact on a very smooth looking Chris Manchester. Bobby Hedden and Alan Christian battled for third.

Scratch Consi
1. Mike Faria
2. Scott Brant
3. Tommy Hedden
4. Chad Felicio

Handicap Main
1. Chad Felicio
2. Mike Faria
3. Bart Bast
4. Scott Brant
5. Eric Carrillo
6. Greg Hooten Jnr
Greg Hooten Jnr. came out of the Youth program at the start of the season, just over a month ago and has moved from Division 2 to Division 1 and this week made the Handicap Main. With the rest of the field starting on the 30 and 50 yard lines, Greg started on the zero, but he found that one small mistake let the freight train past, taking him from first to last in less than half a lap. Once past Hooten, Chad Felicio pulled away for an easy win.

Handicap Consi
1. Rich Marcucci
2. Chris Kerr
3. Bryan Yarrow
4. Chris Manchester
5. Tommy Hedden
6. Matt Browne

Division 2 Main
1. Randy Martin.
2. Doug Benjamin
3. David Baker
4. Chris Olney.
Jon Curry and Robert Mellor qualified and rode in this event. Both fell.
Randy Martin won for a second consecutive week, this time with a 10 yard handicap. Southern California visitor Doug Benjamin adapted well to the Auburn track to take second.

Division 2 Consi
1. David Fonts
2. Brian Leventon
3. Devon Defreece
4 Harlan Bast Snr
5. Mike Browne
Derek Silva qualified but was a non-starter.

Division 3 Main
1. Lee Sharp
2. Correy Call
3. Mike Achilles
This race was running well until the last lap. While Dennis Chandler fell down in turn 2, taking at least one other rider with him, Kelly McBane, who was contending for the lead, fell in turn 3. Also in the race were Kevin Fereira, Deano Blankenbiller and Jason Botsford.

Division 3 Consi
1. David Lee
2. Chris Hooten
3. Don Adams
4. Kimi Valentine
5. Matt Peterson
6. Amanda English
7. Kim Stevens
8. Rick Gutzke.
Three lady riders in one race, is this a record?

Youths Division 1
1. Mark Carrillo
2. Danny Easley
3. TJ Fowler
4. Alex Marcucci
5. JT Mabry
6. Paul Johnson

Youths Division 2
1. Ricky Felicio
2. Ricky Adams
3. Mitchell Johnson
4. Jay Ricketts
5. Bruce Bast

Youths Division 3
1 Ronnie Woodsford
2. Hunter Morris
3. Tori Hubbert
4. Bryce Olney
5. Jesse Beccera

Gary Roberts - gary_rob@ix.netcom.com

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.