American Speedway  

2002 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
Orange Show Pavilion
San Bernardino, California

2002 Week Two
Arrowhead Speedway
April 10, 2002
From Ryan Evans


Gary Hicks captured top honors in the Scratch Main for the second consecutive week at Arrowhead Motor Speedway in San Bernardino.

The lineup for the Scratch Main featured Scott Brant on the pole, Dukie Ermolenko in gate two, "Cowboy" Bobby Krips in gate three, and Hicks on the outside. Hicks trapped the field entering turn one and held the lead after one lap. Brant managed to stay close and ventured to the outside looking for enough traction to get by Hicks. Despite Brant's best effort, Hicks held the lead all the way to the finish. Brant maintained second, Ermolenko was third, and Krips was fourth.

Northern California's Chris Kerr started in the front of the field in the Handicap Main and quickly established a comfortable lead. For four laps it looked as though nobody would catch the young rider. Fellow Northern California native Tommy Hedden managed to close some ground on the fifth lap. As they took the white flag Hedden was on Kerr's back tire. Entering the last turn Hedden made one last attempt to pass Kerr on the outside. Hedden found enough grip and completed the pass just before the finish line much to the delight of the crowd who saluted Hedden with a rousing ovation. Brant finished third, Josh Larsen was fourth, Shaun Harmatiuk was fifth, and Randy DiFrancesco was sixth.

Rick Valdez quickly established a comfortable lead in the Second Division Main Event. Valdez held the lead after two laps when a pileup in turn one brought out the red flag. Chad Newlee was deemed the cause of the crash and was forced to start at the rear of the staggered restart. The restart would begin with three laps remaining.

Valdez started at the front of the field in the restart with Northern California's Billy Hiles, who traveled with Kerr for the meeting, starting 10 yards behind him. Despite the fact that Hiles is a back-yardage rider, Valdez was not intimidated and quickly showed Hiles that he would have to earn the victory. Hiles stalked Valdez for three laps, and despite one slight bobble, Valdez never showed any signs of cracking under the pressure as held off Hiles to take the victory. Randy Kreps was third, Marvin Sonnier finished fourth, Chad Newlee was fifth, and Rudy Laurer was sixth.

Geoff Herkner, who was competing in just his second speedway meeting assumed the lead in the Second Division B Main Event. Herkner held the lead for the first three laps before Doug Benjamin, who returned to speedway at the end of last season after a decade away from the sport, made a challenge for the lead. Benjamin made his move in the last corner when he swept around the outside. The riders crossed the line just inches apart and the ruling went in favor of Benjamin. A disappointed Herkner had to settle for second, Brian Hunt finished third, Michael Novratil was fourth, Mike Boyle was fifth, and Steve Nelson was sixth.


Second Division B Consolation  (restarted)
269 - Ed Martinez               10
212 - Steve Dziadus              0
350 - Kodiak Calkin              0    (penalty line)
201 - Neil Facchini              0

Second Division B Main Event
128 - Doug Benjamin             10
208 - Geoff Herkner              0
332 - Brian Hunt                 0
181 - Michael Novratil          10
198 - Mike Boyle                10
202 - Steve Nelson               0

Second Division Consolation
117 - Billy Braden               0
158 - Terry McCurdy             20
118 - Scott Tidwell              0     (fell, remounted)

Second Division Consolation
178 - Eloy Medellin              0
173 - Jeff Blaydes              30
106 - Robert Fiesler            10
126 - Doug Lupo                  0
239 - Philip Williams           10
174 - Tomasz Hampel             10

Second Division Main Event      (restarted)
293 - Rick Valdez                0
 44n - Billy Hiles              30
165 - Randy Kreps               10
 52 - Marvin Sonnier            30
123 - Chad Newlee               10     (retired)
182 - Rudy Laurer               30     (non starter - restart)

Junior Main Event
142 - Ricky Wells               20
  1 - T.J. Fowler               40
  3 - Justin Boyle              40     (non starter)

Handicap Main Event
 40n - Tommy Hedden             30
 27n - Chris Kerr                0
 10 - Scott Brant               50
  4 - Josh Larsen               50
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk           10
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco         30     (engine failure)

Scratch Consolation
 14 - Eddie Castro
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco
  6 - Shawn McConnell

Scratch Main Event
  3 - Gary Hicks
 10 - Scott Brant
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
223 - Bobby Krips
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.