American Speedway  

2002 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
Orange Show Pavilion
San Bernardino, California

2002 Week Three
Arrowhead Speedway
April 17, 2002
From Ryan Evans

2002 Arrowhead Speedway

Dukie Ermolenko rode a flawless race to capture the Scratch Main Event at Arrowhead Motor Speedway in San Bernardino.

Ermolenko lined up on the pole and jumped into the lead entering turn one. Josh Larsen made a big run around the outside, but as he pulled alongside Ermolenko the two riders made contact and Larsen tumbled down the back straight. Referee Steve Lucero ordered a complete restart.

On the restart, Ermolenko was the first rider into turn one again and this time he was unchallenged on the back straight. Gary Hicks, who had won the previous two Scratch Mains at Arrowhead chased Ermolenko while also battling Larsen who continuously attempted to go around Hicks. Larsen was unable to find enough traction to get into second and Hicks's attempts to extend his winning streak suffered the same fate. Ermolenko took the victory ahead of Hicks, Larsen, and "Fast" Eddie Castro.

The much-improved "Cowboy" Bobby Krips took the early lead in the Handicap Main, but he would soon come under immense pressure as four riders started from the 50 yard line. Hicks was the first of the back-yardage contingent to get to turn one and he quickly turned up the heat on John DeFries. Hicks disposed of DeFries and set his sights on Krips. Hicks took the lead on lap five and was never challenged as he took his first Handicap Main Event of the season. Larsen beat Krips to the line by inches for second, Castro was fourth, Ermolenko was fifth, and DeFries was sixth.

Doug Benjamin, winner of last week's Second Division B Main Event, jumped to the early lead in the Second Division Main Event and was never challenged as he went on to record a main event victory for the second week in a row. Rick Valdez made a nice pass in the last corner to get second, Billy Braden was third, Eloy Medellin was fourth, Rudy Laurer was fifth, and Chad Newlee was sixth.
fter second by inches last week, Geoff Herkner made no mistakes and dominated the Second Division B Main Event to record his first main event victory. Ed Martinez finished second, Neil Facchini was third, James Herr was fourth, Steve Nelson finished fifth, and Brian Hunt was sixth.


Second Division B Consolation
127 - Mike Fontaine              0
212 - Steve Dziadus              0
350 - Kodiak Calkin              0

Second Division B Main Event
208 - Geoff Herkner              0
269 - Ed Martinez               10
201 - Neil Facchini              0
167 - James Herr                 0
202 - Steve Nelson               0
332 - Brian Hunt                10

Second Division Consolation
118 - Scott Tidwell              0
165 - Randy Kreps               10
 52 - Marvin Sonnier            30
126 - Doug Lupo                  0
147 - Winston Williams          10
158 - Terry McCurdy             20
174 - Tomasz Hampel             10
106 - Robert Fiesler            10   (non starter)

Handicap Main Event
  3 - Gary Hicks                50
  2 - Josh Larsen               50
223 - Bobby Krips               20
 14 - Eddie Castro              50
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko           50
316 - John DeFries              20

Scratch Consolation
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
223 - Bobby Krips
316 - John DeFries
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco       (non starter)

Scratch Main Event  (restarted)
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
  3 - Gary Hicks
  2 - Josh Larsen
 14 - Eddie Castro
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.