American Speedway  

2002 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
Orange Show Pavilion
San Bernardino, California

2002 Week Five
Arrowhead Speedway
May 15, 2002
From Ryan Evans

2002 Arrowhead Speedway

Former National Champion Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz followed up Saturday's win at Costa Mesa with another Scratch Main Event victory at Arrowhead Motor Speedway Wednesday night.

Schwartz started on the pole and was the first rider into turn one. He wasn't afforded much breathing room on the first lap as Eddie Castro, Scott Brant, and Shawn McConnell chased Schwartz and they formed a quartet so tight that a blanket could be thrown over all four. Castro pressured Schwartz on the inside while Brant took his pursuit to the outside. At the end of the second lap Schwartz still held the lead over Castro while Brant switched to the inside line. Brant was able to squeeze by Castro for second, but couldn't catch Schwartz, who took the victory. Castro ended up third and McConnell was fourth.

Marvin Sonnier made his first Handicap Main of the season and took the lead at the start. 18 year old Shaun Harmatiuk chased Sonnier down and took the lead at the end of lap two. Harmatiuk's lead was short-lived as Brant, starting from the 50, took the lead and ran away with his second Handicap Main in a row. Castro worked his way to second, Harmatiuk finished third, Randy DiFrancesco was fourth, John DeFries was fifth, and Sonnier finished sixth.

The first attempt to complete the Second Division Main Event ended prematurely as several riders went down in turn one on the second lap. On the restart, Billy Braden took the lead and was running smooth for three laps. Entering turn one the fourth time, Braden hit a hole and straightened up. Braden was forced to lay his machine down before hitting the fence. Terry McCurdy, who makes the long trip from Bakersfield with Sonnier every Wednesday, took the lead after Braden fell and put together a steady final two laps to earn the win. Rudy Laurer was second, Randy Kreps finished third, Tomasz Hampel was fourth, Braden was credited with fifth, and last week's winner, Colorado's Chuck Johansen, was unable to make the restart.

Greg Vandemore, in only his second week of action, took the lead at the start of the Second Division B Main Event. Vandemore suffered engine problems at the end of lap one and relinguished the lead to Steve Nelson. Nelson held the lead for just over a lap before Japanese rider Hideaki Ota took the lead and ran away with the victory. Ota, who also won Saturday night at Costa Mesa, is staying in the United States for several weeks. Brian Hunt finished second, Steve Murray was third, Nelson was fourth, Rohn Zellner was fifth, and Vandemore was credited with sixth.


Second Division B Consolation
105 - Mike Hernandez                0
138 - Rich Brock                    0
164 - Rusty Hall                    0
155 - Kevin Templeton               0  (retired)

Second Division B Consolation
201 - Neil Facchini                10
132 - David Moore                   0
108 - Michael Hernandez             0
198 - Mike Boyle                   10
269 - Ed Martinez                  10  (fell, remounted)
208 - Geoff Herkner                 0  (fell, remounted)

Second Division B Consolation
296 - Tom Rossano                   0
147 - Winston Williams             10
123 - Chad Newlee                  20  *started on the 50
178 - Eloy Medellin                 0  *started on the 50
161 - Hector Quevedo                0
126 - Doug Lupo                     0
118 - Scott Tidwell                 0  *started on the 40
125 - Johnny Lupo                  10  (fell, remounted)

Second Division Main Event   (restarted)
158 - Terry McCurdy                20
182 - Rudy Laurer                  30
165 - Randy Kreps                  10
174 - Tomasz Hampel                10
117 - Billy Braden                  0  (fell)
 45c - Chuck Johansen              20  (non starter -restart)

Handicap Main Event
 10 - Scott Brant                  50
 14 - Eddie Castro                 50
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk              10
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco            30
316 - John DeFries                 20
 52 - Marvin Sonnier                0

Scratch Consolation
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
223 - Bobby Krips
 40n - Tommy Hedden     (engine failure)

Scratch Main Event
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
 10 - Scott Brant
 14 - Eddie Castro
  6 - Shawn McConnell   (fell, remounted)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.