American Speedway  

2002 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
Orange Show Pavilion
San Bernardino, California

2002 Week Six
Arrowhead Speedway
May 22, 2002
From Ryan Evans

After winning the Handicap Main the last two weeks, Scott Brant finally won the Scratch Main Wednesday night at Arrowhead Motor Speedway.

Brant, who started from gate two and Gary Hicks, who came from gate four, entered turn one evenly. Hicks appeared to have the advantage as they exited turn two, but Brant took the lead on the back straight. Hicks tried to get back under Brant in turn three, but his attempt was denied. Brant led after lap one and would never surrender the lead as he cruised to the victory. Hicks held on to second, "Fast" Eddie Castro finished third, and "Cowboy" Bobby Krips was fourth.

18 year old Shaun Harmatiuk has been close to winning Handicap Mains at Costa Mesa this year but hasn't led the all-important last lap. Things were different Wednesday as he led all six laps of the Handicap Main at Arrowhead to capture his first main event victory in First Division. Harmatiuk started from the 10 and was never seriously threatened while he put together a solid and smooth six laps for the victory. Castro fought through traffic to finish second, John DeFries was third, Brant was fourth, Bobby Schwartz finished fifth, and Krips was sixth.

Three men started at the front of the Second Division Main Event. Billy Braden beat Eloy Medellin and Tom Rossano to turn one and pulled away to a big lead. Rudy Laurer swiftly moved through traffic after starting on the 30 and seemed destined to catch Braden. Laurer got close to Braden several times, but he couldn't quite get past him and Braden held on for the win. Laurer settled for second, Medellin was third, last week's winner, Terry McCurdy, finished fourth, Rossano was fifth, and Randy Kreps finished sixth.

The Second Division B Main Event took three starts after two spectacular pileups ended the first two attempts. On the third start, Rich Brock, who won the main event on Saturday at Costa Mesa, broke away from the pack and established a sizable lead. Brock couldn't hold the lead as he fell in turn three on the second lap. Steve Murray, who returned to speedway last year after about 15 years away from the sport, assumed the lead and led all the way to the checkered flag. Rohn Zellner finished second, Steve Nelson was third, Neil Facchini was fourth, Brock was credited with fifth, and Rusty Hall was credited with sixth after suffering broken machinery on the second start.


Second Division B Consolation
108 - Mike Hernandez           0
209 - Greg Vandemore          10
208 - Geoff Herkner           10
155 - Kevin Templeton          0
105 - Michael Hernandez        0    (fell)
350 - Kodiak Calkin            0    (non starter)

Second Division B Main Event     (restarted twice)
214 - Steve Murray            10
163 - Rohn Zellner            10
202 - Steve Nelson             0
201 - Neil Facchini           10    (penalty line) (fell)
138 - Rich Brock               0    (fell)
164 - Rusty Hall               0    (non starter - restart)

Second Division Consolation
 45c - Chuck Johansen         20
112 - Bryan Baichtal           0
125 - Johnny Lupo             10
123 - Chad Newlee             20     *started on the 40
118 - Scott Tidwell            0     *started on the 40
126 - Doug Lupo                0     *started on the 30
174 - Tomasz Hampel           10     (non starter)
293 - Rick Valdez             10     (non starter)

Second Division Main Event
117 - Billy Braden             0
182 - Rudy Laurer             30
178 - Eloy Medellin            0
158 - Terry McCurdy           30
296 - Tom Rossano              0
165 - Randy Kreps             10

Handicap Main Event
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk         10
 14 - Eddie Castro            50
316 - John DeFries            20
 10 - Scott Brant             60
 11 - Bobby Schwartz          40
223 - Bobby Krips             20

Scratch Consolation
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
316 - John DeFries
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk   (fell, remounted)
 19 - Richard Jones     (fell)

Scratch Main Event
 10 - Scott Brant
  3 - Gary Hicks
 14 - Eddie Castro
223 - Bobby Krips
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.