American Speedway  

2002 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
Orange Show Pavilion
San Bernardino, California

2002 Week Thirteen
Arrowhead Speedway
July 10, 2002
From Ryan Evans

Scott Brant continued his domination at Arrowhead Motor Speedway by winning both main events Wednesday night.

Rudy Laurer was the early race leader in the Handicap Main and held off the early challenge of John DeFries before DeFries started suffering from engine problems that slowed him considerably. Laurer was still the leader at the end of two laps when Gary Hicks went under him for the lead entering turn one. Brant was quick to follow and planted himself right on the back tire of Hicks. The two riders battled for two laps, but Hicks held the lead when they took the white flag. Brant tried to go under Hicks in turn one when he saw an opening, but Hicks wasn't relinquishing the lead that easily. Hicks tried to hold his position and there was contact between the two riders coming out of turn two which left Hicks on the ground and forced "Fast" Eddie Castro to lay his bike down. Brant had remained upright and crossed the line first, but he would have to wait for the referee's decision. The referee determined that Hicks was the cause of the crash and the race results were determined by the last completed lap with a very unhappy Hicks credited with sixth place. Brant was declared the winner, Castro was second, Bobby Schwartz was third, Laurer was fourth, and DeFries was fifth.

The Scratch Main didn't offer any of the same controversy as Brant was first off the line when the tapes went up and cruised to the victory. Castro matched his Handicap Main result by finishing second, Hicks was third, and Northern California's Bryan Yarrow finished fourth.

Veteran rider Bill Green started by himself at the tapes and took the initial lead in the Second Division Main Event. Green opened up a significant lead on the field and was cruising the first three laps. Chad Newlee made it through the field and into second place and set his sights on Green. Newlee put in a valiant effort, but Green's lead was insurmountable and he went on to his first main event victory of 2002. Newlee added a little excitement to the finish when he brushed the wall and then fell at the finish line. Randy Kreps and Steve Murray were forced to take evasive action and it caused Murray to fall as well. Newlee was credited with second, Kreps was third, Murray finished fourth, Eloy Medellin was fifth, and Billy Braden was sixth.

Rusty Hall jumped into the lead in the Second Division B Main Event and appeared to have the race in control for three laps until Neil Facchini took over second and immediately closed the gap on Hall. Facchini went under Hall coming out of turn four and pulled away for the win. Hall held on to second, Michael Novratil was third, Mitch Melott was fourth, Jeffrey Badders finished fifth, and Steve Nelson was sixth.


Second Division B Consolation
208 - Geoff Herkner
155 - Kevin Templeton

Second Division B Main Event
201 - Neil Facchini  		10
164 - Rusty Hall                 0
181 - Michael Novratil          10
124 - Mitch Melott               0   (fell)
119 - Jeffrey Badders            0   (fell)
202 - Steve Nelson              10   (non starter)

Second Division Consolation
126 - Doug Lupo                  0
103 - Brent Smith                0
211n - Matt Browne              30   (non starter)

Second Division Main Event
336 - Bill Green                 0
123 - Chad Newlee               20
165 - Randy Kreps               10
214 - Steve Murray              10
178 - Eloy Medellin             10
117 - Billy Braden              20   (fell)

Handicap Main Event
 10 - Scott Brant               50
 14 - Eddie Castro              50
 11 - Bobby Schwartz            40
182 - Rudy Laurer                0
316 - John DeFries              10
  3 - Gary Hicks                40   (fell, excluded)

Scratch Consolation
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
173 - Jeff Blaydes
316 - John DeFries   (engine failure)

Scratch Main Event
 10 - Scott Brant
 14 - Eddie Castro
  3 - Gary Hicks
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.