American Speedway  

2002 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
Orange Show Pavilion
San Bernardino, California

2002 Week Fourteen
Arrowhead Speedway
July 17, 2002
From Ryan Evans


Gary Hicks earned a speedway hat trick by winning both main events and the Total Image Challenge at Arrowhead Motor Speedway.

Hicks began his trio of victories by impressively holding off Billy Janniro, who was competing on a rider return from England. Hicks gated Janniro and withstood all of his attempts to win the Total Image Challenge.

Northern California's Matt Browne took the lead to start the Handicap Main Event and held the lead for the first two laps. Hicks took the lead at the start of lap three with Janniro behind him. Hicks steadily pulled away from Janniro and on the fifth lap Scott Brant passed Janniro for second on the back straight. Brant couldn't catch Hicks, however, and had to settle for second while Hicks took the checkered flag first. Janniro was third, John DeFries finished fourth, Browne was fifth, and Danny Perkins finished sixth.

Janniro used the pole to jump into the lead in the Scratch Main, but Hicks didn't allow him any breathing room. At the end of the first lap Hicks was right on Janniro's back tire. Hicks got a wheel under Janniro entering turn one and took the lead exiting turn two. Hicks continuously pulled away from Janniro, who was then passed by Brant again. Hicks went on to the victory, Brant was second, Janniro was third, and Eddie Castro was fourth.

The first attempt of the Second Division Main Event ended abruptly in turn three when a crash brought out the red flag. On the restart, Tom Rossano took the lead, but Neil Facchini rode the outside impressively to take the lead. Facchini, who was competing in Second Division for the first time, held the lead for a lap until Chad Newlee took control. Newlee then ran away from the field to earn his second main event victory of the season. Rick Valdez finished second, Rossano was third, Facchini finished fourth, Steve Murray was credited with fifth, and Billy Braden was credited with sixth.

Mark Baldwin took the initial lead and never looked back as he easily captured the Second Division B Main Event in his first evening of racing in 2002. Rusty Hall was second, DeWayne Stark was third, Mitch Melott finished fourth, Kevin Templeton was fifth, and Steve Nelson was sixth.


Second Division B Consolation
108 - Mike Hernandez   		0
105 - Michael Hernandez         0
208 - Geoff Herkner            10
227 - Mark Robertson           10
222 - Tim Marsh                 0
119 - Jeffrey Badders           0

Second Division B Main Event
115 - Mark Baldwin              0
164 - Rusty Hall                0
244 - DeWayne Stark             0
124 - Mitch Melott              0       (fell, remounted)
155 - Kevin Templeton          10	(fell)
202 - Steve Nelson             10       (fell)

Second Division Consolation
212n - Greg Hooten Jr.         30
182 - Rudy Laurer              30
126 - Doug Lupo                 0
132 - David Moore               0
161 - Hector Quevedo            0
147 - Winston Williams         10  	(fell)

Second Division Consolation
196 - Rod Lenz                  0
338 - Dave Delbridge           20
165 - Randy Kreps              10
336 - Bill Green               10
103 - Brent Smith               0
178 - Eloy Medellin            10  	(non starter)

Second Division Main Event   (restarted)
123 - Chad Newlee              20
293 - Rick Valdez              20
296 - Tom Rossano               0
201 - Neil Facchini             0
214 - Steve Murray             10   	(fell, excluded)
117 - Billy Braden             20  	(fell - non starter)

Total Image Challenge Race
  3 - Gary Hicks
 14n - Billy Janniro
 14 - Eddie Castro
 24 - Bobby Krips

Handicap Main Event
  3 - Gary Hicks               40
 10 - Scott Brant              50
 14n - Billy Janniro           50
316 - John DeFries             10
211n - Matt Browne              0
 89 - Danny Perkins            10

Scratch Consolation
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk
 24 - Bobby Krips

Scratch Main Event
  3 - Gary Hicks
 10 - Scott Brant
 14n - Billy Janniro
 14 - Eddie Castro
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.