American Speedway  

2002 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
Orange Show Pavilion
San Bernardino, California

2002 Week Fifteen
Arrowhead Speedway
July 24, 2002
From Ryan Evans


"Fast" Eddie Castro became the second rider in as many weeks to capture the hat trick by winning the Total Image Challenge and both main events at Arrowhead Motor Speedway in San Bernardino on Wednesday.

After Shaun Harmatiuk and Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz were eliminated, respectively, Castro and 2000 Junior National Champion Bryan Yarrow were the remaining riders for the final two laps. Castro was first out of the gate but Yarrow mounted a challenge on the outside. Yarrow remained on the outside through three and four, but Castro was hooked up on the bottom line and held the lead all the way to the checkered flag.

Matt Browne held the initial lead in the Handicap Main Event. Browne held the lead until the third lap when John DeFries went under him exiting turn two. DeFries held the lead for a lap before Harmatiuk went by on the back straight. Castro and Brant both chased Harmatiuk for a lap and each chose distinctively different battle plans to pursue the lead. Entering turn four, Brant went under Harmatiuk while Castro went extremely wide and found traction near the boards to go around both Harmatiuk and Brant as they took the white flag. Castro then planted his bike on the pole entering turn one and held off Brant throughout the last lap to take the win and bring the crowd to its feet with a raucous ovation. Harmatiuk held on to third, DeFries finished fourth, Yarrow was fifth, and Browne finished sixth.

The first attempt to run the Scratch Main ended in turn one when Castro and Yarrow fell. On the restart, Brant was first into turn one, but Castro used the outside line to go around Brant on the back straight. Brant tried everything he could the rest of the way, but there was no denying Castro as he completed his hat trick of victories. Brant settled for second, Schwartz was third, and Yarrow was fourth.

Rod Lenz rode five perfect laps as led the Second Division Main Event from start to finish to earn his first main event victory of the season. Neil Facchini was second, Rick Valdez finished third, Bill Green was fourth, Billy Braden finished fifth, and Rohn Zellner was sixth.

Jeffrey Badders took the lead at the start of the Second Division B Main Event and opened a comfortable lead. Mark Baldwin, aboard a two-valve Jawa, closed in on Badders on the third lap and took the lead as they took the white flag. Baldwin then pulled away to win the main event for the second consecutive week. Steve Nelson finished second, Rusty Hall was third, Badders finished fourth, Steve Dziadus was fifth, and Kevin Templeton was credited with sixth.


Second Division B Consolation
105 - Michael Hernandez 	0
108 - Mike Hernandez            0
244 - DeWayne Stark             0
227 - Mark Robertson           10

Second Division B Main Event     (restarted)
115 - Mark Baldwin             10
202 - Steve Nelson             10
164 - Rusty Hall                0
119 - Jeffrey Badders           0
212 - Steve Dziadus             0
155 - Kevin Templeton          10	(fell)

Second Division Consolation
126 - Doug Lupo                 0
125 - Johnny Lupo              10
338 - Dave Delbridge           20
178 - Eloy Medellin            10
123 - Chad Newlee              30   	(fell)

Second Division Main Event
196 - Rod Lenz                  0
201 - Neil Facchini             0
293 - Rick Valdez              20
336 - Bill Green               10
117 - Billy Braden             20
163 - Rohn Zellner              0

Junior Main Event
 10 - Tim Gomez
  5 - Dario Galvin
 27 - Krystal Cramer

Total Image Challenge
 14 - Eddie Castro
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk

Handicap Main Event
 14 - Eddie Castro              50
 10 - Scott Brant               50
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk           20
316 - John DeFries              10
  8n - Bryan Yarrow             20
211n - Matt Browne               0

Scratch Consolation (restarted)
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk
316 - John DeFries
211n - Matt Browne
 19 - Richard Jones

Scratch Main Event
 14 - Eddie Castro
 10 - Scott Brant
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.