American Speedway  

2002 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
Orange Show Pavilion
San Bernardino, California

2002 Speedway
Arrowhead Speedway
August 21, 2002
From Ryan Evans

2002 Bryan Yarrow

Scott Brant and Bryan Yarrow were the main event winners at Arrowhead Motor Speedway in San Bernardino Wednesday night.

Brant and "Fast" Eddie Castro were side by side entering turn one, but when they exited turn two Brant found more traction and surged into the lead on the back straight. Castro challenged as they entered turn three, but Brant held him at bay. Castro tried to pass Brant on the inside and the outside the rest of the race, but couldn't find any success as Brant was first to the checkered flag. Bryan Yarrow was third, and Shaun Harmatiuk was fourth.

The Handicap Main had a new face starting at the front of the field. Rick Valdez qualified for a First Division Main Event for the first time and he led the field at the start of the race. Yarrow caught Valdez as they entered turn one the second time and took the lead. A pileup in turn four left several riders on the ground and brought out the red flag. The race was restarted with one lap complete and the riders lining up in running order. Since Valdez was the leader at the end of lap one, he would start at the front again. On the restart Yarrow passed Valdez the first time the came around and quickly extended his lead. Brant was making the outside line work and was moving around the field. Yarrow maintained a quick pace and when Brant took over second the 2000 Junior National Champion was gone. Yarrow took the win, Brant was second, Harmatiuk finished third, Castro was fourth, Valdez finished fifth, and "Cowboy" Bobby Krips was sixth.

Rohn Zellner beat fellow zero yard rider Hector Quevedo to turn one to take the lead in the Second Division Main Event. Zellner had comfortable lead, but Jonathan Curry and Rudy Laurer were storming through the field. On the final lap, it looked like Zellner would take an easy win while Curry and Laurer had a fierce battle for second going on. In the final corner, Zellner went extremely wide. Curry and Laurer both saw the mistake and tried to exploit it. The two riders made contact with each other with Laurer going down. Zellner and Curry had a drag race to the finish with Zellner getting to the line first. Curry had to settle for second, Quevedo was third, Billy Braden finished fourth, Laurer was fifth, and Neil Facchini was sixth.

The Second Division B Main Event required two restarts. On the third start Rusty Hall took the lead. Hall held the lead for a lap before Geoff Herkner took the lead. Herkner never looked back from there and went on to capture his third main event victory of the year. Hall held on to second, Steve Dziadus finished third, Mitch Melott was fourth, and David Moore finished fifth.

In the Junior Main Event, third generation rider Dario Galvin took the lead at the start and ran away with the victory. Krystal Cramer finished second, Jason Ramirez was third, Jay Ricketts was fourth, and Tim Gomez was fifth.


Second Division B Main Event
208 - Geoff Herkner		10
164 - Rusty Hall                 0
212 - Steve Dziadus              0  (penalty line)
124 - Mitch Melott               0
132 - David Moore               10  (penalty line)
197 - Kim Stevens               10
202 - Steve Nelson              10  (fell, remounted)

Second Division Consolation
214 - Steve Murray              10
123 - Chad Newlee               30
336 - Bill Green                20
118 - Scott Tidwell             10
126 - Doug Lupo                  0
178 - Eloy Medellin             10  (non starter)

Second Division Main Event
163 - Rohn Zellner               0
 31n - Jonathan Curry           30
161 - Hector Quevedo             0
117 - Billy Braden              20
182 - Rudy Laurer               30  (fell)
201 - Neil Facchini             10  (fell)

Junior Speedway Main Event
  5 - Dario Galvin               0
 27 - Krystal Cramer             0
 99 - Jason Ramirez              0
 29n - Jay Ricketts             10
 36 - Tim Gomez                 70  (fell, remounted)

Total Image Challenge Race
 14 - Eddie Castro
 10 - Scott Brant
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
 24 - Bobby Krips

Handicap Main Event
  8n - Bryan Yarrow             20
 10 - Scott Brant               50
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk           20
 14 - Eddie Castro              50
293 - Rick Valdez                0   (engine failure)
 24 - Bobby Krips               30   (fell)

Scratch Consolation
 24 - Bobby Krips
 31n - Jonathan Curry
 19 - Richard Jones
293 - Rick Valdez	(non starter)

Scratch Main Event
 10 - Scott Brant
 14 - Eddie Castro
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.