American Speedway  

2004 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2004 California Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Jack Milne Cup
June 5 2004 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans and Jerry Morana

Mike Faria

Mike Faria added another title to his trophy case by winning the 2004 Jack Milne Cup with a perfect night at Costa Mesa on Saturday.

Faria had first gate choice and selected the pole. Two-time National Champion Bobby Schwartz touched the tapes on the first attempt and was forced to start from the penalty line. 2000 Jack Milne Cup and National Champion Charlie Venegas was first off the line from his gate three starting position but was unable to get to the pole and drifted too wide entering turn one. Faria planted himself on the inside line and into the lead as the field exited turn two. National Champion Scott Brant, who had won the past two Milne Cups chased Faria all four laps, but couldn't find a way past. Faria calmly held off all of Brant's challenges and was first to the checkered flag. Chris Manchester was third, Venegas finished fourth, and Schwartz was fifth.

An all-scratch format was used with three rounds to determine the 10 riders who would be in the semis. After three rounds of racing Faria and Schwartz had a perfect 12 points, followed by Manchester with 11, Brant and Venegas each had 10, Eddie Castro had scored nine, Andy Northrup had eight, and Bobby Krips, Alan Christian, and Buck Blair each had seven.

In the first semi, Castro touched the tapes and was banished to the penalty line. On the second start, Schwartz and Blair were out first with Manchester running third. Schwartz secured the lead, but Blair was holding off Manchester when Northrup fell and brought out the red flag. The third attempt had Manchester getting the gate and taking the win with Schwartz finishing second and both riders transferring to the main. The second semi had far less drama as Faria jumped into the lead followed by Brant and the two remained in those positions until the finish. The Last Chance was an easy win for Venegas and gave him the final spot in the main event.

In the Support Main Event, Dario Galvin jumped into the lead from the outside starting position. Nate Perkins gave chase for over two laps, but fell in turn three and forced Scott Tidwell to lay his bike down which brought out the red flag. The referee declared that the race was finished and that Galvin was the winner. Hideaki Ota was credited with second place, Eloy Medellin was third, Tidwell finished fourth, and Perkins was declared fifth.

Rohn Zellner jumped into the early lead in the Support B Main Event and held that position through the first lap. It didn't last long, though, because Zellner drifted wide in turn two and allowed Malcolm Roe to slip by on the inside. Roe was never seriously challenged and he cruised to the win. Carl Gazafy was second, Zellner finished third, Mike Boyle was fourth, Steve Dziadus finished fifth, and Mark Robertson was sixth.

Jason Ramirez took the lead at the start and never looked back as he romped to victory in the Youth Division One Main Event. Skyler Greyson finished second, Ricky Wells was third, and Tamara Krips finished fourth. Gino Manzares was victorious in the Youth Division Two Main Event with Austin Novratil finishing second, Nathan Galvin was third, and Joey Holt finished fourth.

The Jack Milne Cup is held in honor of the 1937 World Speedway Champion who, in addition to being one of the sport's pioneers, was also influential in the establishment and success of speedway at Costa Mesa.

The next event at the world famous bullring oval is this Saturday. The event will also include the Freestyle Motocross Jumpers who are making their second appearance of 2004.


Support B Main Event
180 - Malcolm Roe	10
176 - Carl Gazafy       20
163 - Rohn Zellner      10
198 - Mike Boyle        20
212 - Steve Dziadus     10
227 - Mark Robertson    20

Support Main Event
145 - Dario Galvin
240 - Hideaki Ota
178 - Eloy Medellin
118 - Scott Tidwell
389 - Nate Perkins    (fell)

Youth Second Division Main Event
 21 - Gino Manzares
  8 - Austin Novratil
134 - Nathan Galvin
114 - Joey Holt

Youth First Division Main Event (restarted)
 66 - Jason Ramirez
  2 - Skyler Greyson
142 - Ricky Wells     (penalty line)
 24 - Tamara Krips    (fell, remounted)

1st Division Scoring		1    2     3          T
  1 - Scott Brant       	4    3     3         10
  9 - Mike Faria         	4    4     4         12
 11 - Bobby Schwartz            4    4     4         12
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco         2    1     0          3
 14 - Eddie Castro          	3    3     3          9
 18 - Justin Boyle           	0    1     2          3
 24 - Bobby Krips           	3    1     3          7
 28 - Alan Christian         	4    3     E          7
 29 - George Fox            	1    2     2          5
 37 - Denny Scopellite          1    2     0          3
 39 - Buck Blair        	2    3     2          7
 43 - Charlie Venegas           2    4     4         10
 89 - Danny Perkins        	1    0     1          2
 93 - J.T. Mabry        	1    0     1          2
130 - Chris Manchester          3    4     4         11
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk           2    2     2          6
166 - Andy Northrup        	3    2     3          8
230 - Doug Greyson        	0    1     1          2
249 - John Stunkard        	0    0     1          1

Race Results
 1: Brant, Krips, Harmatiuk, Mabry
 2: Schwartz, Northrup, DiFrancesco, Scopellite, Stunkard
 3: Christian, Manchester, Venegas, Fox, Greyson
 4: Faria, Castro, Blair, Perkins, Boyle
12: Manchester, Brant, Northrup, Boyle, Perkins
13: Schwartz, Blair, Fox, Krips
14: Venegas, Castro, Scopellite, Greyson, Stunkard
15: Faria, Christian, Harmatiuk, DiFrancesco, Mabry
19: Venegas, Brant, Fox, Mabry, Christian (engine failure)
20: Schwartz, Castro, Boyle, Perkins, DiFrancesco
21: Manchester, Krips, Harmatiuk, Greyson
22: Faria, Northrup, Blair, Stunkard, Scopellite
Semi #1:(restarted) Manchester, Schwartz, Northrup, Castro (tape penalty), Blair
Semi #2: Faria, Brant, Christian, Venegas, Krips
Last Chance: Venegas, Northrup, Castro, Christian

Jack Milne Cup Final
  9 - Mike Faria
  1 - Scott Brant
130 - Chris Manchester
 43 - Charlie Venegas
 11 - Bobby Schwartz     (tape penalty)
Past Jack Milne Cup Winners
1998 - Bobby Schwartz
1999 - Gary Hicks
2000 - Charlie Venegas
2001 - Gary Hicks
2002 - Scott Brant
2003 - Scott Brant


www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.