American Speedway  

2004 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2004 California Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Stanley's Exhaust Tech Motorcycle Demo Derby
August 21, 2004 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans

2004 Buck Blair

Mike Faria and Buck Blair won the First Division main events at Costa Mesa on Saturday night.

The Scratch Main began with 2000 National Champion Charlie "The Edge" Venegas jumping into the lead from gate four, but the red light quickly came on to stop the race. Bobby Schwartz was penalized on the restart, but that didn't console a very obviously frustrated Venegas. When the riders staged for the second time, Venegas blew through the starting tapes then abandoned his bike in turn two to express his feelings about having the first attempt brought to a halt while he was leading.

The restart was all Faria as the three-time National Champion was able to beat Chris Manchester to turn one and get to the precious inside line. Despite Manchester's constant pressure, Faria remained glued to the pole and took home his fourth 2004 Scratch Main victory at Costa Mesa. Schwartz was third, Eddie Castro finished fourth, and Venegas was credited with fifth.

Sixteen year old Dario Galvin led the first lap of the Handicap Main, but Buck Blair made an inside pass entering turn three the second time to take over the lead. Andy Northrup followed Blair for several laps, but couldn't make up any ground and eventually had to contend with the field behind him. Blair, a Colorado native who moved to Southern California this year, remained in control all the way to the checkered flag to garner the win. Shawn McConnell was second, Manchester finished third, Castro was fourth, and Northrup ended up fifth.

The Support Main Event had a couple added incentives on this particular evening. Dick Kreps not only added money to the purse for the main event, but a perpetual trophy was crafted for the main event winner. Needless to say, the riders were full of anxiety and the result was nearly disaster.

All five main event riders went into turn one aiming for the same spot and caused a massive pileup which took down the entire field. It took several minutes, but all riders returned to their feet and were determined to restart. When the tapes went up again, Brian Starr's bike remained still and ended his race. Meanwhile, Nate Perkins jumped into the lead and quickly left the field behind. Perkins was cruising on lap three when he overslid badly in turn four and allowed 2003 Support Champion John Stunkard to get within striking distance. Perkins was able to compose himself and held on for the final lap to win the main. Stunkard had to settle for second, Hideaki Ota was third, Tony Bracy finished fourth, and Starr got fifth.

In the Support B Main, there was a scramble for the lead on the first lap with Mike Boyle emerging as the leader at the end of lap one. Boyle began receiving heat from Carl Gazafy and the two battled for the lead. Gazafy was able to get by Boyle entering the final corner and beat him to the finish line. Monte McKeon finished third, Keith Mullally was fourth, Kim Stevens finished fifth, and Steve Dziadus was sixth.


Support B Consolation (restarted)
102 - Jim Lavender		10
150 - Damon Barry         	10
169 - Dan Wensloff         	10
308 - Hugh Randolph      	10

Support B Main Event
176 - Carl Gazafy           	10
198 - Mike Boyle            	20
107 - Monte McKeon      	20
185 - Keith Mullally         	20
136 - Kim Stevens          	10
212 - Steve Dziadus        	10

Support Consolation
182 - Rudy Laurer
106 - Robert Fiesler
336 - Bill Green
118 - Scott Tidwell

Support Last Chance
249 - John Stunkard
163 - Rohn Zellner
214 - Steve Murray
178 - Eloy Medellin

Dick Kreps Support Championship Final (restarted)
389 - Nate Perkins
249 - John Stunkard
240 - Hideaki Ota
194 - Tony Bracy
248 - Brian Starr       (retired)

Handicap Main Event
 39 - Buck Blair          	20
  6 - Shawn McConnell          	40
130 - Chris Manchester         	50
 14 - Eddie Castro              40
166 - Andy Northrup             30
  9 - Mike Faria               	50
145 - Dario Galvin              10   (fell, remounted)
 18 - Justin Boyle           	30   (fell)

Last Chance
 14 - Eddie Castro
 18 - Justin Boyle
166 - Andy Northrup
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk

Scratch Main Event
  9 - Mike Faria
130 - Chris Manchester
 11 - Bobby Schwartz     	(penalty line)
 14 - Eddie Castro
 43 - Charlie Venegas     	(tape exclusion)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.