American Speedway  

2004 Fast Fridays Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2004 California Results Page

Fast Fridays Speedway
Gold Country Fairgrounds
Auburn, California

Challenge Elimination Series - Round 1
May 14, 2004 - Fast Fridays, Auburn
By Gary Roberts

For the second week of the season for Fast Fridays the crowd was not as big as last week. Someone said there was a men’s netball match on, the Sacramento Kings or something. The absent spectators missed some great racing.

Unofficial results:

Scratch Main
1. Bobby Hedden
2. Bart Bast
3. Chris Manchester
4. John Cook
Veteran John Cook made a rare appearance and qualified to both mains. He moved at the start, which triggered Chris Manchester to ride through the tapes, collecting a 10 yard penalty. Second time out Cookie and Bobby Hedden collided in turn four, and John joined Chris on the penalty line. Basically that was the finishing order. Bobby Hedden and Bart had a battle out front, with Chris and John swapping places behind.

Scratch Consolation
1. Charlie Venegas
2. Scott Brant
3. Chad Felicio
4. Bart Bardecki
A very determined Charlie Venegas got a slightly better gate than Scott Brant and held it, just, for four lap.

Handicap Main
1. Greg Hooten (0)
2. Matt Browne (10)
3. Shaun Harmatuik (30)
4. John Cook (50)
5. Chris Manchester (50)
6. Chris Kerr (30)
By the time the handicap main came around the track had dried out and became dry slick and slightly dusty. This didn’t make overtaking easy and Greg Hooten rode a flawless race, to take his well deserved first main event win, since moving up from the Youth program 2 years ago. Southern California rider and hopefully regular visitor this season, Shaun Harmatuik rode well from the 30 yard line.

Handicap Consolation
1.  Mike Faria (50)
2. Bart Bast (50)
3. Bobby Hedden (50)
4. Tommy Hedden (40)
5. JT Mabry (0)
6. Chad Felicio (40)
JT Mabry started all alone on the zero yard line with the rest of the field way behind him. He held on for 3 laps, then the freight train caught up, lead by Mike Faria.

Division 2 Main
1.Steve Lewotsky
2. TJ Fowler
3. Shawn Eldridge
4. Vince Bertolucci
5. David Fonts
6. Greg Searle
For the second week, super smooth Steve Lewotsky won the second division main. But right on his rear mudguard for the last 3 laps was two times former youth national champion, TJ Fowler.

Division 2 Consolation
1. Tony Bracy
2. Bruce Bast
3. Mike Browne
4. Harlan Bast
5. Greg Hooten Snr.
6. Mike Achilles

Division 3 Main
1. Kenny Ingalls
2. Kell Kerrigan
3. John Deatherage
4. Brian Ballard
5. Steve Rowett
6. Brian Deland
7. Greg Howell
8. Dennis Chandler.
Kenny Ingalls made his first appearance with both heat and main event wins.

Division 3 Consolation
1. Norman Brooks
2. Greg Lovlien
3. Matt Pangburn
4. Johnny Frank
Danny Poli, RJ Becerra, Sean Billenstein and Rich Mignano were there somewhere too. Its difficult keeping track with new riders, some without recognizable names or numbers.

Youths Division 1
1. Jay Ricketts
2. Paul Johnson
3. Alex Marcucci
4. Mitchell Johnson

Youths Division 2
1. Cody Ciciarelli
2. Tom Fehrman
3. Tori Hubbert
4. Dillon Petersen

Youths Division 3
1. Bryce Olney
2. Troy Guisande
3. Trevor Searle
4. Jacob Bracy

Gary Roberts - gary_rob@ix.netcom.com

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.