American Speedway  

2004 Fast Fridays Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2004 California Results Page

Fast Fridays Speedway
Gold Country Fairgrounds
Auburn, California

Challenge Elimination Series - Round 4
July 23, 2004 - Fast Fridays, Auburn
By Gary Roberts

Northern California is still experiencing hot dry weather and preparing a speedway track under such conditions is not easy. This week things started off a big heavy, then became grippy in places, but smoothed out to a good racing surface for the main events. A good sized crowd was treated to a number of very good races.

Unofficial results:

Scratch Main
1. Bryan Yarrow
2. Mike Faria
3. Bobby Hedden
4. Billy Hiles
Bryan Yarrow got the gate and ran. Bobby Hedden missed the gate and moved from fourth to third on the third lap, but his progress ended there. The earlier semi final with Hedden, Faria, Bast and Brant was more like a more competitive race.

Scratch Consolation
1. Scott Brant
2. Bart Bast
3. Chad Felicio
4. JJ Martynse

Handicap Main
1. Bobby Hedden (50)
2. Tommy Hedden (40)
3. Mike Faria (50)
4. Bart Bast (50)
5. Chris Kerr (40)
6. Greg Hooten (10)

Handicap Consolation
1. Scott Brant (50)
2. Chad Felicio (50)
3. Devin DeFreece (0)
4. Bryan Yarrow (40)
5. JJ Martynse (20)
6. Billy Hiles (20)

Division 2 Main
1. Rachelle Kerr (0)
2. Ricky Adams (0)
3. Bill Warnock (10)
4. Kenny Ingalls (0)
5. Mike Achilles (10)
6. Brian Leventon (0)
Division 2 racing was marred by an accident in a qualifying heat when popular Auburn youngster, Bruce Bast suffered a broken femur. This was bad luck, since it seemed to be Bruce’s season for making enormous progress.

Division 2 Consolation
This whole race fell apart at the end. Mike Browne had been leading the race, very smoothly, but fell 50 yards before the finish line. Somehow he managed to collect the rest of the field, with the exception of Vince Bertolucci, who went on as the only finisher. Other competitors included David Fonts, Les Veale, Harlan Bast Snr. and Shawn Eldridge.

Division 3 Main
1. Sean Billenstein
2. Kell Kerrigan
3. Cory Barringer
4. Kjell Lovlien
5. Greg Howell
6. Matt Pangburn
7. Scott Robinson
8. Norman Brooks
Don Ballard qualified for the race, but mechanical problems prevented him starting.

Division 3 Consolation
1. Jim Jensen
2. Danny Poli
3. Ronny Woodsford
4. Steve Rowett
5. John Deatherage
6. Rich Mignano
7. Tor Lovlien
Matt Pangburn was a non starter.

Youths Division 1
1. Ricky Felicio (0)
2. Krystal Cramer (40)
3. Jay Ricketts (30)
4. Paul Johnson (30)
5. Mitchell Johnson (0)
It was good to see young Ricky Felicio recovering his form, after an unfortunate start to the season, when he broke his arm on opening night.

Youths Division 2
1. Bryce Starks (30)
2. Dillon Petersen (20)
3. Tom Fehrman (40)
4. Cody Ciciarelli (20)
5. Tori Hubbert (20)

Youths Division 3
1. Amber Felicio (0)
2. Troy Guisande (10)
3. Ben Essary (40)
4. John Randolph (0)

Next week is the 25 lapper, and endurance test of man and machine. Then the following week is the first round of the AMA National Championship. Round 2 is the following night at Victorville, round 3 is September 24, again at Auburn.

Gary Roberts - gary_rob@ix.netcom.com

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.