American Speedway  

2005 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2005 West Coast Results Page


Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

August 13, 2005 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans

National Champion "Flyin" Mike Faria

"Flyin" Mike Faria won his fifth straight Scratch Main Event at Costa Mesa as racing returned to the world famous bullring oval after the layoff for the Orange County Fair.

Faria led from the start but the race was brought to a halt when Randy DiFrancesco, Eddie Castro, and Chris Kerr got together in turn three. DiFrancesco was a casualty as he chose not to participate in the restart and pulled out of the Handicap Main as well. On the restart, Faria again jumped out first and cruised to the victory. Impressive rookie Nate Perkins finished second in his first appearance in a Costa Mesa Scratch Main, Kerr was third, Castro finished fourth, and DiFrancesco got credit for fifth.

The Handicap Main didn't get past turn one without incident as Kerr and Ryan Fisher went down. On the restart, Dale Facchini led for two laps with Shaun Harmatiuk right on his back tire. As they entered turn one the third time, Harmatiuk spun around in turn one brought out the red flag. Six laps remained on the restart, but Facchini now had to fight off Fisher. Facchini maintained the lead for nearly four laps, but Fisher moved underneath in turn three and Facchini went down in turn four. The race was awarded to Fisher with Castro getting second, Kerr was third, Harmatiuk was fourth, and Skyler Greyson was fifth.

Steve Murray was first to turn one in the Support Main Event but lost the lead to Rick Valdez in turn three. Murray turned the tables on Valdez and passed him back as they entered turn one. Murray pulled away after the pass and was first to the checkered flag. Billy Braden finished second, Valdez was third, John Stunkard finished fourth, and Eloy Medellin was fifth.

Keith Mullally, a Long Beach Motorcycle Police Officer, put together four smooth laps to take home the Support B Main Event. Steve Dziadus, Sr. was second, Mike McCarthy finished third, Mike Boyle was fourth, Damon Barry finished fifth, and Matt McBride was sixth.

Jason Ramirez won both heats and the Youth First Division Main. Austin Novratil was second and Gino Manzares was third. Joey Holt also won both his heats and he won the Youth Second Division Main. Newcomer Cory Williamson was second, Dylan Black finished third, and Chad Hoyt was fourth.

Pee Wee Race #1
 15 - Spencer Hunter-Lasbrook
 10 - Shane Terry
198 - Ryan Delong
  2 - Jack Higginson

Pee Wee Race #2
  1 - Braydan Galvin
 38 - Lauren Hammond
 98 - Broc Nicol
 22 - Sean McDonald
199 - Tommy Batelle

Youth Second Division Main Event
114 - Joey Holt
343 - Cory Williamson
  7 - Dylan Black
154 - Chad Hoyt

Youth First Division Main Event
 66 - Jason Ramirez
  8 - Austin Novratil
 21 - Gino Manzares       (fell)

Support B Consolation
313 - Robert Glamuzina		20
169 - Dan Wensloff            	10
193 - Billy Swaim              	20
151 - Mark Skeels              	10	(fell)

Support B Main Event (restart)
185 - Keith Mullally          	10
212 - Steve Dziadus, Sr.       	20
113 - Mike McCarthy            	20
198 - Mike Boyle               	20
150 - Damon Barry              	10  	(fell, remounted)
140 - Matt McBride            	20  	(fell)

Support Consolation
213 - Mark Sincavage
165 - Randy Kreps
181 - Michael Novratil            	(retired)

Support Consolation
177 - Bryan Buffington
165 - Randy Kreps
106 - Robert Fiesler
228 - Shane Kump                 	(fell)

Support Consolation
148 - Chris Metoyer
163 - Rohn Zellner
113n - Rachalle Kerr
107 - Monte McKeon

Support Last Chance
178 - Eloy Medellin
182 - Rudy Laurer
338 - Dave Delbridge
176 - Carl Gazafy

Support Main Event 
214 - Steve Murray
117 - Billy Braden
293 - Rick Valdez
249 - John Stunkard        		(tape penalty)
178 - Eloy Medellin

Handicap Main Event (restarted twice) (awarded)
 36 - Ryan Fisher         	40
 14 - Eddie Castro            	40
 27n - Chris Kerr              	40
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk         	30   	(penalty line)
120 - Skyler Greyson         	20
  9 - Mike Faria               	50
301 - Dale Facchini           	10   	(fell)
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco       	30  	(non starter)

Last Chance (restarted)
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk
 39 - Buck Blair           	(excluded)
 36 - Ryan Fisher                  (two-minute exclusion)

Scratch Main Event (restarted)
  9 - Mike Faria
389 - Nate Perkins
 27n - Chris Kerr
 14 - Eddie Castro           	(tape penalty)
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco       	(non starter-restart)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.