American Speedway  

2005 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2005 West Coast Results Page


Industry Hills Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

Spring Classic
April 20, 2005 - Industry Hills Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Bryan Yarrow

The 2005 Southern California season kicked off with the Spring Classic at The Grand in Industry Hills, but it was Northern California's Bryan Yarrow taking home the top honors by winning the Scratch Main.

Yarrow and Under 21 National Champion Justin Boyle gated together but Yarrow's inside position gave him the advantage when they reached turn one. Yarrow held the lead on the back straight but was now being chased by former National Champion Charlie "The Edge" Venegas. Venegas was unable to close any ground and Boyle lost third to Tommy Hedden and the positions remained unchanged. Yarrow was first to the checkered flag, Venegas was second, Hedden finished third, and Boyle was fourth.

Yarrow began the first of three preliminary rounds by defeating Nate Perkins and John Stunkard. Boyle beat Denny Scopellite and Tommy Hedden in the next heat. Venegas began his evening picking himself up off the ground in turn one while Eddie Castro closed out the opening round with a victory.

Hedden held off Yarrow in a battle of Northern riders to begin round two. Venegas found his winning stride by defeating Scopellite in the next race. Castro ended the second round with a victory to remain the evening's only undefeated rider.

Venegas began the final round with a win over Yarrow. Castro saw his unbeaten run evaporate when he missed the start and toiled around in last throughout a race won by Scopellite.

Yarrow exacted some revenge on Venegas by defeating him in the first semi, but both transfered to the main event. Hedden and Boyle finished one-two in the second semi to complete the main event field. Castro scored an easy win in the Consolation with Perkins finishing second, George Fox finishing third, and Scopellite finishing fourth.

Brian Starr put the experience he gained from the Dream Team tour of Britain to good use by running away with the Second Division Main Event. Starr made the victory look easy, but the battle for second involved several passes with Mark Baldwin eventually earning the position with Billy Lyons finishing third and Billy Braden finishing fourth.

Damon Barry led from start to finish to claim the Third Division Main Event victory. Mark Sincavage was second, Steve Dziadus Sr. finished third, Jim Lavender was fourth, Mike Nutting finished fifth, and Steve Dziadus Jr. was credited with sixth.

Austin Novratil was victorious in the first Youth Main Event of the season. Krystal Cramer fought through traffic from the 40 yard line to get second, Ricky Valdez finished third, and Dylan Black was fourth. Dominic Manzares won his first Youth Main Event with Rocco Scopellite finishing second, Braydan Glavin was third, and Hank Duncan finished fourth.

Wednesday marked the beginning of speedway's second season at The Grand. Sweetspeed Promotions, headed by Dukie Ermolenko and Freddie Orosco, have a 23-event schedule for 2005, including a National Championship round in September. There will not be any racing this Wednesday, but speedway returns for 22 consecutive weeks on May 4.


  9 - Joe Jones/Brandi McElroy
23 - Mark Adams/Jackie Bennett
16 - John DeFries/Jimmy Olsen
  4 - Brian Motis/Chris Coniglio          10   (retired)
11 - Jeff Medberry/Justin Boyle               (retired)

Pee Wee Main Event
195 - Dominic Manzares
  7 - Rocco Scopellite
  1 - Braydan Galvin
  6 - Hank Duncan

Youth Main Event
  8 - Austin Novratil         0
13 - Krystal Cramer        40
  5 - Ricky Valdez           10
  7 - Dylan Black            0
21 - Gino Manzares       10   (non starter)
114 - Joey Holt                0   (non starter)
135 - Eddie Conner         0   (non starter)

Third Division Consolation
151 - Mark Skeels
135 - Kerry Conner
308 - Hugh Randolph

Third Division Main Event
150 - Damon Barry         0
213 - Mark Sincavage           10
212 - Steve Dziadus Sr.        10
102 - Jim Lavender          10
218 - Mike Nutting          0
909 - Steve Dziadus Jr.        10   (excluded)

Second Division Main Event
248 - Brian Starr
115 - Mark Baldwin
321 - Billy Lyons
117 - Billy Braden

First Division Scoring       1    2    3           T
8n - Bryan Yarrow             3    2    2           7
14 - Eddie Castro              3    3    0           6
18 - Justin Boyle              3    1    3           7
29 - George Fox                2    1    1           4
37 - Denny Scopellite          2    2    3           7
40n - Tommy Hedden           1    3    1           5
43 - Charlie Venegas           0    3    3           6
45 - Dario Galvin              F    0    2          2
120 - Skyler Greyson            1    0    0           1
214 - Steve Murray              0    1    E          1
249 - John Stunkard             1    0    1           2
389 - Nate Perkins              2    2    2           6

Race Results
7: Yarrow, Perkins, Stunkard, Galvin (fell)
8: Boyle, Scopellite, Hedden, Murray
9: Castro, Fox, Greyson, Venegas (fell, remounted)
14: Hedden, Yarrow, Fox, Stunkard
15: Venegas, Scopellite, Murray, Galvin
16: Castro, Perkins, Boyle, Greyson
20: Venegas, Yarrow, Fox, Murray (engine failure)
21: Scopellite, Perkins, Hedden, Castro
22: Boyle, Galvin, Stunkard, Greyson
Semi #1: Yarrow, Venegas, Perkins, Fox
Semi #2: Hedden, Boyle, Scopellite, Castro

Scratch Consolation
14 - Eddie Castro
389 - Nate Perkins
29 - George Fox
37 - Denny Scopellite

Scratch Main Event
8n - Bryan Yarrow
43 - Charlie Venegas
40n - Tommy Hedden
18 - Justin Boyle

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.