American Speedway  

2005 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2005 West Coast Results Page


Industry Hills Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

June 15, 2005 - Industry Hills Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Charlie Venegas

Charlie "The Edge" Venegas took advantage of a restart and won his third Industry Hills Main Event of the season.

Buck Blair jumped into the lead in the main ahead of Venegas and was on his way to victory when Nate Perkins lifted on the back straight, hit the fence, and was unable to dislodge his right footpeg from a sheet of plywood. The red flag flew for safety reasons and restart was ordered. Venegas blasted into the lead on the restart and was never challenged the entire four laps. Justin Boyle finished second, a disappointed Blair was third, and Perkins was credited with fourth.

Blair got the heats started with a win over Neil Facchini. Shawn McConnell won the next race ahead of Skyler Greyson. George Fox took advantage of a Venegas engine failure to win the next heat. The final race of round one marked the return of 1995 Junior National Champion Jimmy Fishback after several years away from the sport. Shaun Harmatiuk jumped into the lead and was being chased by Boyle when Fishback stormed into second from the outside. Fishback tried to get to the pole but was nudged off the line and went down in turn three. Fishback injured his shoulder and didn't participate in the restart which was won by Dale Facchini after a great start from the outside.

Round two began with Venegas defeating Boyle. McConnell won race 14 with Fishback finishing second. Blair won his second straight race ahead of Dario Galvin in race 15. Scoppellite passed Perkins on the final corner to win the final race of the round.

Scopellite handed Blair his only loss to begin the final round. McConnell maintained his perfect score by defeating Brad Sauer in race 23. Venegas beat Greyson for his second win and Galvin finished the heats with a victory over Perkins. A five-rider runoff to defermine the final four spots in the semis lost all drama in turn one when Galvin parked and went into the infield. This allowed Boyle, Greyson, Perkins, and Sauer to make the semis.

Blair cruised to the main by winning the first semi and Perkins passed Scopellite on the second lap to earn the second transfer. Venegas won the second semi and Boyle followed him across the line for the final transfer. McConnell made a great start from gate four to win the Consolation.

Michael Hernandez and Steve Murray had a great one-lap battle in the Second Division Main before Hernandez brought out the red flag when he fell in turn one. The restart was all Murray as he ran away with his second main event win of 2005. Eloy Medellin finished second, Steve Dziadus Jr. was third, and Hernandez finished fourth.

Lee Crecelius stalked Kerry Sorensen for one and a half laps before passing him in turn three and running away with the Third Division Main. Carl Gazafy finished second, Vince Giamformaggio was third, Sorensen finished fourth, Steve Dziadus Sr. was fifth, and Damon Barry finished sixth.

Krystal Cramer took the lead in the Youth Main at the end of lap one and never looked back on her way to victory. Joey Holt finished second and Russell Green was third. After a great four-lap battle Braydan Galvin beat Rocco Scopellite in the Pee Wee Main.


Pee Wee Main Event
  1 - Braydan Galvin
  7 - Rocco Scopellite

Youth Main Event
13 - Krystal Cramer       50
114 - Joey Holt            10
18 - Russell Green         0

Third Division Consolation
102 - Jim Lavender          0
101 - Wayne Isaac           0
151 - Mark Skeels          10   (fell, remounted)
308 - Hugh Randolph         0
122 - Kevin Johnson        0   (fell)

Third Division Main Event
388 - Lee Crecelius     10
176 - Carl Gazafy          10
309 - Vince Giamformaggio  10
280 - Kerry Sorensen        0
212 - Steve Dziadus, Sr.   10
150 - Damon Barry         10   (retired)

Second Division Consolation
213 - Mark Sincavage
336 - Bill Green
117 - Billy Braden

Second Division Consolation
163 - Rohn Zellner
228 - Shane Kump
118 - Scott Tidwell          (fell)

Second Division Main Event (restarted)
214 - Steve Murray
178 - Eloy Medellin
272 - Steve Dziadus, Jr.
105 - Michael Hernandez       (penalty line) (fell, remounted)

First Division Scoring            1     2    3           T
  6 - Shawn McConnell          3     3    3           9
18 - Justin Boyle                2    2    1          5
21 - Brad Sauer              2     1    2           5
25 - Jimmy Fishback           N     2    1           3
29 - George Fox                  3    1    0           4
37 - Denny Scopellite           1     3    3           7
39 - Buck Blair               3     3    2           8
43 - Charlie Venegas           E     3    3           6
45 - Dario Galvin                X    2    3           5
115 - Mark Baldwin                0    R    N           0
120 - Skyler Greyson            2     1    2           5
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk       1     0    1           2
201 - Neil Facchini               2    0    1           3
248 - Brian Starr              1     1    0           2
301 - Dale Facchini               3    0    0           3
389 - Nate Perkins                1    2    2           5

Race Results
3: Blair, N.Facchini, Perkins, Baldwin
4: McConnell, Greyson, Starr, Galvin (excluded)
5: Fox, Sauer, Scopellite (fell, remounted), Venegas (engine failure)
6: (restarted) D.Facchini, Boyle, Harmatiuk, Fishback (non starter)
13: Venegas, Boyle, Starr, Baldwin (retired)
14: McConnell, Fishback, Fox (fell, remounted), N.Facchini (penalty line) (fell)
15: Blair, Galvin, Sauer, D.Facchini
16: Scopellite, Perkins, Greyson, Harmatiuk
22: Scopellite, Blair, Fishback, Starr
23: McConnell, Sauer, Harmatiuk (fell), Baldwin (non starter)
24: (restarted) Venegas, Greyson, N.Facchini (fell), D.Facchini (non starter)
25: Galvin, Perkins, Boyle, Fox
Runoff for Semi: Boyle, Greyson, Perkins, Sauer, Galvin (fell)
Semi #1: Blair, Perkins, Scopellite, Greyson
Semi #2: Venegas, Boyle, Sauer, McConnell (fell, remounted)

Scratch Consolation
  6 - Shawn McConnell
37 - Denny Scopellite
21 - Brad Sauer
120 - Skyler Greyson

Scratch Main Event (restarted)
43 - Charlie Venegas
18 - Justin Boyle
39 - Buck Blair
389 - Nate Perkins          (fell, excluded)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.