American Speedway  

2005 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2005 West Coast Results Page


Industry Hills Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

August 3, 2005 - Industry Hills Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Ryan Fisher

Ryan Fisher turned in a dominant performance to win his second main event of the season at The Grand in Industry Hills.

Fisher started on the outside with Bobby Schwartz, Scott Brant, and Bryan Yarrow lined up to his left. When the tapes went up Fisher exploded from the line and trapped the field as they entered turn one. As he exited turn two Fisher already left his trio of competitors in his wake. Fisher was flawless the entire four laps en route to victory. Schwartz was second, Brant finished third, and Yarrow was fourth.

Schwartz defeated Chris Kerr in the opening heat. Fisher beat Shawn McConnell for his first win of the night. Charlie Venegas was victorious over Tommy Hedden in the next heat. Yarrow passed Jimmy Fishback on the outside for a hard-earned victory. Brant completed the first round with a win over Bobby Krips.

Brant defeated Schwartz in the first race of the second round after an excellent four-lap side by side battle. Venegas beat McConnell for his second straight win. Fisher made it two in a row with a win over Kerr. Yarrow passed Shaun Harmatiuk on the second lap on his way to his second victory. The final race of the second round saw Krips pass Neil Facchini on the outside for the lead only to give up the lead on the final corner when Hedden moved him off the line to steal the win.

Venegas began the final round by beating Fishback for his third victory. Brant and McConnell swapped the lead several times before Brant edged ahead at the line for the win. Event 30 was a classic battle in which all four riders raced in a tight pack and traded places the entire race before Nate Perkins pulled ahead for the win and Harmatiuk passing Kerr in the final corner for second. Schwartz held off Krips in the next race for his second win. Fisher remained perfect by defeating Yarrow in the final heat race.

The first semi was practically a walkover when Venegas and Fishback were both penalized for touching the tapes. Yarrow and Schwartz were the beneficiaries and cruised into the main event. Brant remained perfect by winning the second semi ahead of Fisher who would join him in the main. McConnell won the Consolation after two restarts.

In the Second Division Main Event last week's winner, Rich Brock, and four-time main event winner, Mark Baldwin, battled shoulder to shoulder for the lead on the first lap. At the end of the second lap Brock's inside line paid off when he surged ahead. Baldwin was unable to get past the leader on the final two laps and Brock was first to the checkered flag. Baldwin finished second, Eloy Medellin was third, and Billy Braden finished fourth.

John Zuber led all four laps to win the Third Division Main Event for the second consecutive week. Wayne Isaac finished second, Kerry Sorensen was third, Justin Hassan finished fourth, Matt McBride was fifth, and Mark Skeels was credited with sixth.

Rocco Scopellite passed Austin Santana at the end of lap one and ran away with the Pee Wee Main. Dominic Manzares was second, Santana finished third, and Trevor Sargent was fourth.

Joey Holt used a good start to grab the lead and he rode four smooth laps to win the Youth Second Division Main. Phillip Harmatiuk finished second, Dylan Black was third, and Russell Green finished fourth. Gino Manzares held off Krystal Cramer to win the Youth First Division Main.

The Grand has been experiencing a consistent growth in crowd size with each passing week. Next week should see that trend continue as the Freestyle Motocross Jumpers will perform for the first time at the Grand. Also visiting the Grand for the first time will be 1998 SRA National Champion Bart Bast whose visit will undoubtedly help him prepare for the AMA National Championship round being held in September.

Pee Wee Main Event
  7 - Rocco Scopellite    	    30
195 - Dominic Manzares          30
 14 - Austin Santana             0
 99 - Trevor Sargent             0

Youth Second Division Main Event
114 - Joey Holt
139 - Phillip Harmatiuk
  7 - Dylan Black
 18 - Russell Green

Youth First Division Main Event	
 21 - Gino Manzares              0
 13 - Krystal Cramer            30

Third Division Consolation
212 - Steve Dziadus, Sr.        10
390 - Troy Robinson             10
193 - Billy Swaim               10
150 - Damon Barry               10
391 - Mike Bershee               0
137 - Dominic Maniaci            0	(fell)

Third Division Main Event (restarted)
286 - John Zuber                 0
101 - Wayne Isaac                0
280 - Kerry Sorensen            10
132 - Justin Hassan              0   	(penalty line) (fell)
140 - Matt McBride              10  	(retired)
151 - Mark Skeels               10  	(fell)

Second Division Consolation
163 - Rohn Zellner
338 - Dave Delbridge
244 - DeWayne Stark

Second Division Consolation
105 - Michael Hernandez
103 - Brent Smith
336 - Bill Green

Second Division Semi (awarded)
138 - Rich Brock
117 - Billy Braden
182 - Rudy Laurer
309 - Vince Giamformaggio         (fell, excluded)

Second Division Semi
115 - Mark Baldwin
178 - Eloy Medellin
177 - Bryan Buffington
272 - Steve Dziadus, Jr.

Second Division Main Event
138 - Rich Brock
115 - Mark Baldwin
178 - Eloy Medellin
117 - Billy Braden           (tape penalty)

First Division Scoring    		1     2    3           T
  6 - Shawn McConnell  		2     2    2           6
  8n - Bryan Yarrow       		3     3    2           8
 10 - Scott Brant              	3     3    3           9
 11 - Bobby Schwartz           	3     2    3           8
 24 - Bobby Krips              	2     1    2           5
 25 - Jimmy Fishback           	2     2    2           6
 27n - Chris Kerr              	2     2    1           5
 36 - Ryan Fisher              	3     3    3           9
 40n - Tommy Hedden           	2     3    1           6
 43 - Charlie Venegas          	3     3    3           9
 45 - Dario Galvin            	1     R    1           2
120 - Skyler Greyson           	1     1    1           3
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk         	1     2    2           5
201 - Neil Facchini            	0     F    0           0
212n - Kenny Ingalls           	0     1    1           2
214 - Steve Murray             	1     1    1           3
301 - Dale Facchini            	R     1    0           1
389 - Nate Perkins             	1     E    3           4

Race Results
 8: Schwartz, Kerr, Greyson, D.Facchini (retired)
 9: (restarted) Fisher, McConnell, Galvin (penalty line), N.Facchini
10: Venegas, Hedden, Murray
11: Yarrow, Fishback, Perkins
12: Brant, Krips, Harmatiuk, Ingalls
17: Brant, Schwartz, Murray (tape penalty)
18: Venegas, McConnell, Greyson, Perkins (engine failure)
19: Fisher, Kerr, Ingalls
20: Yarrow, Harmatiuk, D.Facchini, Galvin
21: Hedden, Fishback, Krips, N.Facchini (fell)
28: Venegas, Fishback, Ingalls
29: Brant, McConnell, Hedden, D.Facchini
30: Perkins, Harmatiuk, Kerr, N.Facchini
31: Schwartz, Krips, Galvin
32: Fisher, Yarrow, Greyson, Murray
Semi #1: Yarrow, Schwartz, Venegas (tape penalty), Fishback (tape penalty)
Semi #2: Brant, Fisher, McConnell, Hedden

First Division Consolation (restarted twice)
  6 - Shawn McConnell
 40n - Tommy Hedden
 25 - Jimmy Fishback     	(penalty line)
 43 - Charlie Venegas     	(non starter)

First Division Main Event
 36 - Ryan Fisher
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
 10 - Scott Brant
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.