American Speedway  

2005 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2005 West Coast Results Page


Industry Hills Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

August 31, 2005 - Industry Hills Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Ryan Fisher

Ryan Fisher warmed up for this weekend's AMA National Championship rounds by winning his third main event of the season at The Grand in Industry Hills.

Charlie "The Edge" Venegas blasted through the tapes before they went up and was excluded for his effort. Fisher started in gate two and was first into turn one, but drifted wide on the exit of the corner. Fisher's wide line gave Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz room to make a move up the inside on the back straight. Schwartz edged ahead but Fisher didn't relinquish the lead without a fight. Fisher came back across Schwartz as they entered turn three and Bryan Yarrow made it a three-wide battle by going around the outside. Fisher emerged from turn four with the lead and held it down the front straight. Schwartz remained on Fisher's tail but Yarrow's outside line caused him to drift back. Fisher held off Schwartz the rest of the way to take home the win. Yarrow finished third and Venegas was credited with fourth.

Venegas was awarded the first heat after Brad Sauer fell and brought out the red flag. Buck Blair fought off Yarrow for his first win. Tommy Hedden stalked and passed Fisher to win the next heat. Schwartz closed the first round with a win.

Fisher began the second round with his first win. Blair held off Sauer for his second win. Venegas made it two for two by defeating Yarrow. Schwartz remained perfect with his win in the final race of round two.

Blair remained perfect and handed Schwartz his first defeat in the first race of round three. Venegas matched Blair's perfect score by winning race 24. Fisher was awarded the next race when John DeFries fell. Skyler Greyson put himself into the semis by winning the final heat race.

Venegas got the jump in the first semi while Schwartz tucked in behind him and into second. Hedden rode the outside and made it a three-rider fight for the two spots in the main. Venegas made himself as wide as possible to protect both lines and take the win while Schwartz held on for second. Yarrow won the second semi and Fisher was second after a bold dive to the inside on lap one garnered the position. Greyson led the Consolation for three laps before falling in turn one and handing the victory to Blair.

Matt McBride led the Second Division Main Event for three laps but succumbed to the pressure of Eloy Medellin in the final corner and allowed Medellin to steal the win, his first in the middle division. Medellin, whose is very popular with his fellow riders, was greeted in the pit lane by numerous people who treated him to the congratulatory bumps.

Dominic Maniaci was the initial leader of the Third Division Main, but he was overtaken by Mark Skeels on the second lap. Skeels was never threatened and cruised to his second victory of the year. Maniaci was second, Robert Glamuzina finished third, Wayne Isaac was fourth, Mike Bershee finished fifth, and Mike Lane was sixth.

Danny Jones, filling in for his brother, Joe, teamed up with Brandi McElroy to win the Sidecar Main Event. Jeff Medberry and Chris Levitt finished second and Kurt Williams and Jimmy Olsen were third.

Dominic Manzares defeated Austin Santana in the Pee Wee Main Event. Joey Holt won the Youth Second Division Main ahead of Russell Green, who finished second, and Dylan Black, who finished third.

Krystal Cramer jumped into the lead at the start of the Youth First Division Main Event, but hit a bump and went wide in turn two. Ricky Wells, who just won his second straight Youth National Championship, took over the lead on the back straight then ran away with the win. Austin Novratil was second, Cramer finished third, and Gino Manzares was fourth.

Saturday night will bring the biggest speedway event to hit The Grand. Round two of the AMA U.S. National Speedway Championship Series will be held at Southern California's newest speedway facility. The Elimination round will be held at 6:30, the rider parade will be at approximately 7:00, and the championship program begins at 7:30.


Sidecar Main Event
  9 - Danny Jones/Brandi McElroy
 11 - Jeff Medberry/Chris Levitt
 12 - Kurt Williams/Jimmy Olsen

Pee Wee Main Event
195 - Dominic Manzares
 14 - Austin Santana

Youth Second Division Main Event
114 - Joey Holt
 18 - Russell Green         
  7 - Dylan Black		(fell)

Youth First Division Main Event
  1 - Ricky Wells
  8 - Austin Novratil
 13 - Krystal Cramer
 21 - Gino Manzares

Third Division Consolation
308 - Hugh Randolph            
150 - Damon Barry         	(retired)
288 - Rick Fritch             	(non starter)

Third Division Main Event (restarted)
151 - Mark Skeels             	10
137 - Dominic Maniaci         	 0
313 - Robert Glamuzina        	 0
101 - Wayne Isaac              	 0
391 - Mike Bershee            	10	(fell, remounted)
141 - Mike Lane               	10   	(fell)

Second Division Consolation
105 - Michael Hernandez
163 - Rohn Zellner
336 - Bill Green
390 - Troy Robinson          	(fell, remounted)

Second Division Consolation
209 - Greg Vandemore
212 - Steve Dziadus, Sr.
177 - Bryan Buffington       	(fell)

Second Division Semi
182 - Rudy Laurer
140 - Matt McBride
136 - Kim Stevens
171 - Kenny Hansen

Second Division Semi
178 - Eloy Medellin
280 - Kerry Sorensen
103 - Brent Smith
309 - Vince Giamformaggio    	(fell, remounted)

Second Division Main Event (restarted)
178 - Eloy Medellin         
140 - Matt McBride
280 - Kerry Sorensen
182 - Rudy Laurer            	(penalty line) (fell)

First Division Scoring      	1	2	3	T
  8n - Bryan Yarrow           	2     	2    	2     	6
 11 - Bobby Schwartz           	3     	3    	2     	8
 16 - John DeFries             	1    	1    	F     	2
 17 - Robbie Sauer             	1    	0    	F      	1
 20 - Skyler Greyson          	2     	1    	3      	6
 21 - Brad Sauer               	F     	2    	2     	4
 24 - Bobby Krips             	2    	2    	1     	5
 36 - Ryan Fisher              	2    	3    	3      	8
 39 - Buck Blair               	3     	3    	3      	9
 40n - Tommy Hedden           	3     	1    	2     	6
 43 - Charlie Venegas          	3     	3    	3      	9
110 - Jon Stasiefski          	0    	0    	0      	0
201 - Neil Facchini            	1    	2    	1      	4
248 - Brian Starr             	F     	1    	0     	1
249 - John Stunkard           	F    	0    	1     	1
301 - Dale Facchini            	1    	0    	1     	2

Race Results
 3: (awarded) Venegas, Krips, D.Facchini, B.Sauer
 4: Blair, Yarrow, N.Facchini, Stunkard (fell)
 5: Hedden, Fisher, R.Sauer, Stasiefski
 6: Schwartz, Greyson, DeFries, Starr (fell)
14: Fisher, N.Facchini, Greyson, D.Facchini
15: Blair, B.Sauer, Starr, Stasiefski
16: Venegas, Yarrow, DeFries, R.Sauer
17: Schwartz, Krips, Hedden, Stunkard
23: Blair, Schwartz, D.Facchini, R.Sauer
24: Venegas, Hedden, N.Facchini, Starr
25: (awarded) Fisher, B.Sauer, Stunkard, DeFries (fell)
26: Greyson, Yarrow, Krips, Stasiefski
Semi #1: Venegas, Schwartz, Hedden, Krips
Semi #2: Yarrow, Fisher, Blair, Greyson

First Division Consolation
 39 - Buck Blair
 24 - Bobby Krips
 40n - Tommy Hedden
 20 - Skyler Greyson

First Division Main Event
 36 - Ryan Fisher
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
 43 - Charlie Venegas           (tape penalty)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.