American Speedway  

2006 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2006 California Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Season Opener
May 13, 2006 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans

Ryan Fisher was victorious in the Scratch Main at the 2006 Season Opener for Costa Mesa's world famous bullring oval at the Orange County Fairgrounds.

Dukie Ermolenko was first into turn one but lifted as he exited turn two and left an opening on the inside that Fisher exploited and took the lead as they entered turn three. Ermolenko was forced wide and Bryan Yarrow also slipped by on the inside. Fisher was flawless the rest of the way and was first to the checkered flag. Yarrow was second, Gary Hicks finished third, Bobby Schwartz was fourth, and Ermolenko ended up fifth.

George Fox led the eight-rider field from his 20 yard starting position at the start of the Handicap Main. Tommy Hedden beat his fellow 30-yard riders into turn one and set his sights on Fox. Hedden pressured Fox for several laps, but was unable to force an error from the leader. Shawn McConnell, running third at the time, fell in turn one on the seventh lap. Ermolenko was immediately behind him and had no time to avoid the prone McConnell and plowed into him. Trailing riders were able to take evasive action, but the red flag came out as McConnell was down for several minutes. The veteran rider was able to get up, but would not take part in the restart.

The restart would commence with just two laps remaining and the running order remaining the same. Fox led Hedden again and was up to his every challenge. Fox crossed the line first, Hedden was second, Fisher finished third, Ermolenko was fourth, and Shaun Harmatiuk finished fifth.

Bryan Buffington trapped the field from the outside and ran away with the Support Main Event. Rick Valdez was second, Johnny Lupo finished third, and Chris Metoyer was credited with fourth.

Ryan Tovat, in just his second night of speedway, led all four laps and went home the winner of the Support B Main Event. Vince Giamformaggio was second, Mike Bershee finished third, Kerry Sorensen was fourth, Mike Boyle finished fifth, and Dan Wensloff was sixth.

Jason Ramirez made a good start and led from tapes to checkered flag in the Youth Main Event. Joey Holt finished second and Austin Novratil was third.

Braydan Galvin defeated Lauren Hammond, Garrett Nepi, and Marina Braden in the first Pee Wee race and Samuel Ramirez beat Ryan DeLong, Ben McConnell, and Victoria Matthews in the second Pee Wee race.


Pee Wee Race 1
  1 - Braydan Galvin
 38 - Lauren Hammond
  5 - Garrett Nepi
117 - Marina Braden

Pee Wee Race 2
 22 - Samuel Ramirez
198 - Ryan DeLong
  2 - Ben McConnell
  6 - Victoria Matthews

Youth Main Event
 66 - Jason Ramirez
114 - Joey Holt
  8 - Austin Novratil         	       (retired)
  7 - Dylan Black            	       (non starter)
 21 - Gino Manzares       	       (non starter)

Support B Consolation
194 - Tony Bracy                  	20
181 - Michael Novratil                  20
313 - Robert Glamuzina              	20
288 - Rick Fritch                   	10
158 - Ron Mongenel              	10   (fell, remounted)
326 - Mark Lane                   	20   (fell)

Support B Main Event
389 - Ryan Tovat                  	10
309 - Vince Giamformaggio         	20
391 - Mike Bershee              	20
280 - Kerry Sorensen                  	10
198 - Mike Boyle                  	20
169 - Dan Wensloff               	10

Support Consolation
214 - Steve Murray
228 - Shane Kump
290 - Harold Hartke
212 - Steve Dziadus, Sr.
177 - Steve Bowen

Support Consolation
117 - Billy Braden
105 - Michael Hernandez
182 - Rudy Laurer
106 - Robert Fiesler

Support Consolation
113 - Mike McCarthy
338 - Dave Delbridge
107 - Monte McKeon
150 - Damon Barry               	(fell, remounted)

Support Main Event (restarted)
 77 - Bryan Buffington
293 - Rick Valdez
125 - Johhny Lupo
148 - Chris Metoyer              	(non starter)

Handicap Main Event (restarted)
 29 - George Fox                  	20
 40n - Tommy Hedden                 	30
 36 - Ryan Fisher                  	50
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko                	40
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk               	30
 13 - Nate Perkins                	30
  8n - Bryan Yarrow               	40
  6 - Shawn McConnell                	40  (non starter)

Last Chance
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
  1 - Chris Manchester
 40n - Tommy Hedden
  9 - Mike Faria         (retired)

Scratch Main Event
 36 - Ryan Fisher
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
  3 - Gary Hicks
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.