American Speedway  

2006 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2006 California Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Fall Classic
September 30, 2006 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans

Charlie "The Edge" Venegas began the defense of his National Championship with a victory in the Fall Classic in front of a large crowd at the world famous bullring in Costa Mesa.

Venegas started in gate three with Mike Faria and Josh Larsen lined up inside of him and Bryan Yarrow and Bobby Schwartz outside of him. Venegas was first off the line and went straight for the cushion in turn two. Larsen and Faria followed Venegas to the wide line but Venegas found enough traction to lead down the back straight. Meanwhile, Yarrow utilized a great cutback move to shoot up the inside and into second. Yarrow tried to make a run at Venegas, but was busier trying to fend off the inside charge of Larsen. With Yarrow focused on protecting second, Venegas pulled away for the win. Yarrow held off Larsen for second, Faria finished fourth, and Schwartz was fifth.

Larsen was leading the first heat when his engine went away on the final lap, but his lead was large enough that he coasted to the victory just ahead of Mark Dwyer. Venegas was leading the second heat but curiously rode a wide line which allowed Nate Perkins an opportunity to make it interesting. Exiting the final corner, Perkins found more traction and nipped Venegas at the line for the win. Faria was dominant in winning the third heat. Schwartz finished the opening round with his first win.

Castro began the second round by beating Buck Blair and Larsen, who was now riding Faria's backup bike. Shaun Harmatiuk was leading the next heat with Venegas closing fast when Jessee Finch went down and brought out the red flag. The race was awarded to Harmatiuk since half of the laps were completed. Faria made it two in a row with another easy victory in race eleven. Schwartz completed round two by holding off a very game Perkins for his second straight win.

Hedden was the initial leader in the first race of the final round, but Larsen roared up the inside on the second lap and pulled away for the win. Venegas got on the winning track by defeating Castro in race seventeen. Faria remained perfect by defeating Blair in the next race. Yarrow ended the perfect run for Schwartz by winning the final heat.

Schwartz was leading the first heat for two laps before hitting a clump of dirt which straightened him out and allowed the field to go by. Yarrow went on to the victory with Venegas getting second and joining him in the main. In the second semi Larsen and Faria had an inside-outside battle with Larsen coming out on top and Faria taking second to get the transfer to the main. Schwartz won the Last Chance to secure the final spot in the main.

The Support Main Event had to be restarted after Billy Braden went down hard on the first attempt. On the second try Bryan Buffington got the start and led the whole distance for the victory. Mike Bloom was second, Rudy Laurer finished third, Eloy Medellin was fourth, and Braden was credited with fifth.

Adrian Contreras made the trip from Northern California pay off by leading the Support B Main Event from start to finish. Kerry Sorensen finished second, Jeff Irwin was third, Phil Harmatiuk finished fourth, Ron Mongenel was fifth, and Mike Lane was sixth.

The Fall Classic marked the final event of the 38th season of speedway at Costa Mesa. The 2007 season is tentatively set to begin with the Spring Classic on Saturday, May 5. Other events on the calendar include the traditional Jack Milne Cup, the Fair Derby, and the SRA U.S. National Championship. Also, on the schedule is Round One of the AMA National Championship Series.


Support B Consolation
132 - Justin Hassan
288 - Rick Fritch
169 - Dan Wensloff
308 - Hugh Randolph
311 - Brandon Buhrow

Support B Consolation
269 - Ed Martinez
232 - Allen Doss
198 - Mike Boyle
255 - Kris Harlow
313 - Robert Glamuzina        (fell, remounted)

Support B Main Event
388n - Adrian Contreras      	0
280 - Kerry Sorensen            10
343n - Jeff Irwin               0
100 - Phil Harmatiuk         	10
158 - Ron Mongenel            	0  	(fell)
141 - Mike Lane              	10   	(fell)

Support Consolation
391 - Mike Bershee
326 - Mark Lane
212 - Steve Dziadus
118 - Scott Tidwell

Support Last Chance
202 - Mike Bloom
163 - Rohn Zellner
389 - Ryan Tovatt
228 - Shane Kump          (fell)

Support Main Event (restarted)
 77 - Bryan Buffington
202 - Mike Bloom
182 - Rudy Laurer
178 - Eloy Medellin      	(fell, remounted)
117 - Billy Braden           	(non starter)

First Division Scoring	1	2	3		T
  1 - Charlie Venegas         	3     	3    	4         	10
  2 - Josh Larsen             	4    	2    	4           	10
  8n - Bryan Yarrow            	2    	1    	4           	7
  9 - Mike Faria               	4     	4    	4           	12
 11 - Bobby Schwartz           	4     	4    	3           	11
 13 - Nate Perkins            	4    	3    	0           	7
 14 - Eddie Castro            	R    	4    	3          	7
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko          	0     	2    	N          	2
 24 - Bobby Krips              	2    	1    	2           	5
 37 - Jessee Finch            	2    	Fx  	0           	2
 39 - Buck Blair               	3    	3    	3           	9
 40n - Tommy Hedden           	1     	3    	3           	7
 45 - Dario Galvin             	0    	0    	F          	0
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk         	3    	4    	2           	9
145 - Mark Dwyer               	3    	1    	1           	5
238 - Travis Henderson         	1    	0    	1           	2
248 - Brian Starr              	0    	2    	1           	3
256 - Tim Gomez                	1    	2    	2           	5
293 - Rick Valdez             	1    	1    	1           	3
301 - Dale Facchini            	2    	F    	2          	4

Race Results
 1: Larsen, Dwyer, Krips, Hedden, Ermolenko
 2: (restarted) Perkins, Venegas, Yarrow, Gomez (penalty line), Galvin (fell, remounted)
 3: Faria, Blair, Finch, Henderson, Starr
 4: Schwartz, Harmatiuk, Facchini, Valdez, Castro (retired)
 9: Castro, Blair, Larsen, Valdez, Galvin
10: (awarded) Harmatiuk, Venegas, Ermolenko, Dwyer, Finch (fell, excluded)
11: Faria, Hedden, Gomez, Yarrow, Facchini (fell)
12: Schwartz, Perkins, Starr, Krips, Henderson
16: Larsen, Hedden, Gomez, Henderson, Finch
17: Venegas, Castro, Facchini, Starr, Perkins (fell, remounted)
18: Faria, Blair, Krips, Valdez, Ermolenko (non starter)
19: Yarrow, Schwartz, Harmatiuk, Dwyer, Galvin (fell)
Semi #1: Yarrow, Venegas, Harmatiuk (tape penalty), Schwartz, Hedden (fell, remounted)
Semi #2: Larsen, Faria, Perkins, Blair, Castro

Last Chance
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
 13 - Nate Perkins
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk
 39 - Buck Blair

Scratch Main Event
  1 - Charlie Venegas
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
  2 - Josh Larsen
  9 - Mike Faria
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.