American Speedway  

2006 Fast Fridays Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2006 California Results Page

Fast Fridays Speedway
Gold Country Fairgrounds
Auburn, California

Fast Fridays, Auburn, California USA - May 5, 2006
By Gary Roberts

Opening night at Fast Fridays produced some very good fast racing on a well prepared track. In the past 2 weeks the weather has gone from a cold wet winter to a warm summer.

The crowd was reasonable, but there was a shortage of riders. Maybe they were out celebrating Cinco De Mayo, maybe it was the Kings game. Let’s hope the numbers pick up. On the bright side a few old faces reappeared. Former Junior National Champion Matt Becker returned to the sport with a brand new bike. A broken primary chain caused him to miss his scratch heat and a broken rear chain kept him out of the handicap main.

Bryan YarrowUnofficial results:

Scratch Main Event
1. Bryan Yarrow
2. Bart Bast
3. TJ Fowler
4. Nate Perkins
First time out, Nate Perkins fell and TJ Fowler layed it down to stop. Second time out Bryan Yarrow fell on turn 3. Third time Bryan got the gate and held off a very close and persistent Bart Bast for 4 laps.

Scratch Consolation Event
1. Mike Faria
2. Charlie Venegas
3. Chad Felicio
4. JT Mabry

Handicap Main Event
1. Bart Bast (40)
2. Nate Perkins (30)
3. Mike Faria (40)
4. Kenny Ingalls (0)
5. Danny Easley (10)
Matt Becker (30) qualified, but was a non starter
A good race, with Nate Perkins working his way early past Ingalls and Easley, only to lose the race to Bart Bast as they crossed the line.

Handicap Consolation Event
1. Chad Felicio (40)
2. Devin Defreece (0)
3. JT Mabry (10)
4. TJ Fowler (10)
5. Tommy Hedden (40)
Charlie Venegas also qualified for this race but was a non starter.

Division 2 Main Event
1. Josh West
2. Danny Poli
3. Mike Achilles
4. Tyler Hansen
5. Harlan Bast
6. Mike Browne

Division 2 Consolation Event
1. Steve Lewotsky
2. Bill Warnock
3. Cory Barringer
4. Brian Leventon
5. Kell Kerrigan
6. Les Veale

Division 3 Main Event
1. Matt Proto
2. Tom Fehrman
3. Jim Lewis
4. Clark Caravella
5. Jeff Spenser
6. Adrien Contrares
7. Johnny Frank
8. Dennis Jiron
Former Junior rider, Matt Proto returned after a 10 year absence from the sport. I don’t think he will be in Division 3 very long.

Division 3 Consolation Event
1. Josh Everle
2. Danny Turner
3. Steve Rowett
4. Kyle Porteous
5. Dennis Michel
6.Jeff Irwin
7. Lenny Bouressa

Youth Main Division 1
1.Ben Essary
2. Bryce Starks
3.Krystal Cramer
4. Cody Cicciarelli

Youth Main Division 2
1. Tom Reich
2. Will Hilgenberg
3. Steven Reese
4. Ben Turner
5. Micha Vaughan

Youth Main Division 3
1. Anson Maloney
2. Michelle Fehrman
3. Tyler Warren
4. Eric Randolf
5. Tanner Kane
6. Jameson Dilkey
It was good to get back to enjoy the old faces, smells and noise of speedway after the winter break. The much talked about new speedway track at Woodland has again suffered another delay, so tonight’s opening night has again been postponed. Some local neighbors have concerns about noise from the track and this must be addressed by an established process. Why can’t these people understand how privileged they are to live next to a speedway track?

Gary Roberts - gary_rob@ix.netcom.com

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.