American Speedway  

2006 Fast Fridays Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2006 California Results Page

Fast Fridays Speedway
Gold Country Fairgrounds
Auburn, California

Fast Fridays, Auburn, California USA - June 30, 2006
By Gary Roberts

What looked like the biggest crowd this season, saw some good racing, on a well prepared racetrack. The only thing missing was a whole bunch of riders. Where have they all gone? Sure, there are a number on the injured list, but compared to a couple of years ago, a lot of names are missing in all divisions. The pits seem deserted.

Back to the racing:

Bryan Yarrow made no mistake in taking the Scratch Main Event. The line up was Tommy Hedden on the inside, Mike Faria in gate two, Yarrow in gate three and Chad Felicio in gate four. In recent weeks the winner has come from the pole position but it was not to be last night. Hedden, Faria and Yarrow gated together and went into the turn side by side. Yarrow gained a slight lead over Faria as Hedden fell in turn two. The red flag came out and it was all four riders back for a complete restart. This time Yarrow and Faria gated together, but Yarrow made no mistake in establishing first place exiting the corner, with Faria in close second and Hedden third. Hedden then moved to the outside to try and pass Faria, but only discovered this offered no advantage when he lost his third place to Felicio.

JJ Martynse started the handicap main on the 20 yard line. Ahead of him was Josh West. Behind him were Hedden, Faria, Felicio and Buck Blair. West stayed in front for the first four laps with Martynse diminishing the gap each lap. On the start of the fourth lap Martynse got past him. Meanwhile Mike Faria, who was the only rider starting out from the 50 yard line, was riding the outside and moving up the field. Faria also passed West on the fourth lap, setting his sights firmly on Martynse. By turn one of the final lap the rest of the field was moving past West, contact was made and he went down. Despite Faria's pressure Martynse held on for a well deserved win. So once again, Fast Fridays has maintained the pattern of a different handicap main event winner every week this season.

Second division winner was, for the second time this season, Sacramento's veteran moto-crosser Danny Turner.

Third division winner was Auburn's Steve Rowett, who scored a victory over Grass Valley's Paul Schoen.

JJ MartynseUnofficial results:

Scratch Main Event
1. Bryan Yarrow; 2. Mike Faria; 3. Chad Felicio; 4. Tommy Hedden.

Scratch Consolation Event
1. TJ Fowler; 2. Buck Blair; 3. Kenny Ingalls; 4. JT Mabry.

Handicap Main Event
1. JJ Martynse; 2. Mike Faria; 3. Chad Felicio; 4. Buck Blair; 5. Tommy Hedden.

Handicap Consolation Event
1. Kenny Ingalls; 2. TJ Fowler; 3. Matt Becker; 4. Danny Easley; 5. Greg Hooten.

Division 2 Main Event
1. Danny Turner; 2. Jim Lewis; 3. Rick Valdez; 4. Matt Proto; 5. Mike Achilles.

Division 2 Consolation Event
1. Danny Poli; 2. Cory Barringer; 3. Harlan Bast; 4. Kim Stevens; 5. Josh Euerle.

Division 3 Main Event
1. Steve Rowett; 2. Paul Schoen; 3. Johnny Frank; 4. Adrien Contrares; 5. Jeff Irwin.

Division 3 Consolation Event
1. Clark Caravella; 2. Kjell Lovlien; 3. Tori Hubbert; 4. Dave Norman; 5. Tom Fehrman.

Youth Main Division 1
1. Bryce Starks; 2. Ben Essary; 3. Cody Cicciarelli; 4. Will Hilgenberg; 5. Ricky Felicio.

Youth Main Division 2
1. Steven Reese; 2. Ben Turner; 3. Amber Felicio; 4. Tom Reich.

Youth Main Division 3
1. Tyler Warren; 2. Tanner Kane; 3. Michelle Fehrman; 4. Jamison Dilkey.

So how about some of you semi-retired riders coming out and supporting the sport? If you are not a rider yourself, how about tracking down a rider and working on getting him to race again. Threats, bribery, blackmail, guilt, whatever works. There is at least one former junior national champion I am working on. If you are listening, Eric, the offer of the tire and the entry fee still stands.


Gary Roberts - gary_rob@ix.netcom.com

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.