American Speedway  

2006 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2006 California Results Page

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

California Speedway
June 7, 2006 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Ryan Fisher won the First Division Main Event for the second time in three weeks and became the first repeat winner of 2006 at Industry Hills Speedway.

Northern California's Tommy Hedden used the pole position to his advantage and was the leader into turn one. Hedden held the lead coming out of turn two, but Fisher used his wide line in the first corner to build up speed and make a brilliant outside pass on the back straight. Fisher dropped down to the inside line in turn three prompting Hedden to try outside at the completion of lap one. That decision marked the end of Hedden's challenge as Fisher was finding plenty of traction on the inside line. Hedden's outside line allowed Shawn McConnell to slide underneath him for second. Fisher maintained a safe advantage the rest of the way and claimed the victory. McConnell was second, Hedden finished third, and Charlie Venegas was fourth.

Fisher and Venegas squared off the in the first heat with Venegas emerging as the victor. Hedden won the next heat with second going to Mark Dwyer after a brilliant outside pass around McConnell. Bryan Yarrow, last week's main event winner, won the next heat. Buck Blair trapped from the outside and beat Skyler Greyson. Eddie Castro brought the first round to an end with his first win of the night.

McConnell started the second round with a win over Brad Sauer. Fisher defeated Yarrow for his first win. Hedden used the outside to pass Blair for the lead and was awarded the victory when Blair pulled up on the third lap and caused a crash behind him. Shaun Harmatiuk defeated Venegas in race 22. Nate Perkins won the final race of round two and was followed by Dwyer who made another outside pass to claim second.

Yarrow beat Blair to start the final round. Castro claimed his second win in the next race. Fisher handed Hedden his first loss in race 27. Venegas cruised to his second win. McConnell made it two wins in a row in the final heat race. Blair defeated Michael Hernandez in a runoff to take the final spot in the semis.

Fisher led the first semi from start to finish while behind him was a side-by-side battle between McConnell and Yarrow with McConnell ultimately claiming second. Venegas and Hedden were first and second, respectively, in the second semi and transferred to the main. Yarrow held off Castro to win the First Division Consolation.

Vince Giamformaggio trapped the field in the Second Division Main and led for three laps before coming under heavy pressure from Eloy Medellin. Giamformaggio drifted a little wide in the final corner and Medellin to attempt an inside pass. The two dashed to the finish with Giamformaggio winning by inches. Medellin pleaded his case to the referee, even politely suggesting him to watch the replay on the overhead video screen, but it was to no avail. Tony Bracy finished third and Rudy Laurer was fourth.

Justin Hassan dominated the Third Division Main with four smooth laps to take an easy victory. Steve Bowen was second, Travis Henderson finished third, and Jesse Batista was fourth.

Krystal Cramer stalked Joey Holt before passing him for the lead as they took the white flag and cruised the final lap for the win. Holt was second, Russell Green finished third, and Gino Manzares was fourth.


Pee Wee
198 - Ryan DeLong

Youth Main Event
13 - Krystal Cramer       	10
114 - Joey Holt                	0
18 - Russell Green         	0
21 - Gino Manzares		0

Third Division Consolation (restarted)
244 - DeWayne Stark
158 - Ron Mongenel
151 - Mark Skeels		(fell, remounted)
308 - Hugh Randolph           

Third Division Main Event
132 - Justin Hassan
177 - Steve Bowen
238 - Travis Henderson
233 - Jesse Batista

Second Division Consolation
339 - Sam Stavros
136 - Kim Stevens

Second Division Consolation
125 - Johnny Lupo
163 - Rohn Zellner
336 - Bill Green
210 - Tim Cochren

Second Division Main Event
309 - Vince Giamformaggio
178 - Eloy Medellin
194 - Tony Bracy
182 - Rudy Laurer

First Division Scoring		1	2	3		T
  6 - Shawn McConnell          	1     	3    	3           	7
  8n - Bryan Yarrow             3    	2    	3           	8
 13 - Nate Perkins             	1    	3    	0           	4
 14 - Eddie Castro            	3    	2    	3           	8
 17 - Robbie Sauer             	0    	0    	R          	0
 20 - Skyler Greyson           	2     	R    	1          	3
 21 - Brad Sauer               	1    	2    	1           	4
 36 - Ryan Fisher              	2    	3    	3           	8
 39 - Buck Blair               	3     	X    	2           	5
 40n - Tommy Hedden           	3     	3    	2           	8
 43 - Charlie Venegas          	3     	2    	3           	8
 77 - Bryan Buffington        	0     	1    	1           	2
 88 - Steve Furman             	1    	1    	R          	2
 99 - Greg Ayers               	0    	0    	2           	2
105 - Michael Hernandez       	2    	1    	2          	5
110 - Jon Stasiefski           	0    	1    	1           	2
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk         	2     	3    	1           	6
145 - Mark Dwyer               	2    	2    	0           	4
301 - Dale Facchini            	1    	1    	2           	4

Race Results
 8: Venegas, Fisher, Furman, Stasiefski
 9: Hedden, Dwyer, McConnell, Buffington
10: Yarrow, Hernandez, Facchini
11: Blair, Greyson, B.Sauer, Ayers
12: Castro, Harmatiuk, Perkins, R.Sauer
19: McConnell, B.Sauer, Stasiefski
20: Fisher, Yarrow, Buffington, R.Sauer (tape penalty)
21: (awarded) Hedden, Castro (tape penalty), Furman, Blair (excluded)
22: Harmatiuk, Venegas, Hernandez, Greyson (retired)
23: Perkins, Dwyer, Facchini, Ayers
25: Yarrow, Blair, Harmatiuk, Furman (retired)
26: Castro, Hernandez, Stasiefski, Dwyer (fell, remounted)
27: Fisher, Hedden, B.Sauer, Perkins
28: Venegas, Ayers, Buffington
29: McConnell, Facchini, Greyson, R.Sauer (retired)
Runoff: Blair, Hernandez
Semi #1: Fisher, McConnell, Harmatiuk, Yarrow
Semi #2: Venegas, Hedden, Blair, Castro

First Division Consolation
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
 14 - Eddie Castro
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk
 39 - Buck Blair

First Division Main Event
 36 - Ryan Fisher
  6 - Shawn McConnell
 40n - Tommy Hedden
 43 - Charlie Venegas		(retired)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.