American Speedway  

2006 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2006 California Results Page

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

Tommy Hedden Takes Main
July 19, 2006 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Tommy Hedden followed up his podium performance in the California State Championship with his second main event victory at Industry Hills this season.

Charlie Venegas was first off the line from gate two and led the pack into turn one. Venegas was leading coming off turn two, but Hedden used the outside line and found enough traction to catapult himself into the lead on the back straight. Hedden dropped down to the inside line in turn three to maintain his lead. Venegas tried to gain ground, but Hedden maintained a safe lead all the way to the checkered flag. Eddie Castro finished third and Buck Blair was fourth.

Venegas began the scratch heats with a win over Dale Facchini and Tim Gomez, who was making his first domestic appearance after being injured on the Dream Team tour. Hedden was leading comfortably in the next heat before falling and handing the win to Mark Dwyer. Castro defeated Blair and Neil Facchini for his first win. Bryan Yarrow beat Dario Galvin and Eloy Medellin to finish round one.

Galvin scored an impressive win over Castro to start round two. Hedden won his first race ahead of Dale Facchini. Venegas won his second straight race by beating Dwyer. Blair used the outside to pass Yarrow and get the victory in the last race of the second round.

Castro began the final round with his second win. Brad Sauer got the best start in race 25, but Galvin used the outside to take the lead and a runaway win. Neil Facchini led the next race before being passed by eventual race winner Yarrow and then Hedden. Blair won the final heat ahead of Gomez while Venegas settled for third after a fall.

Venegas was a convincing winner in the first semi with Castro taking second to transfer to the main. Blair trapped from the outside and scored an impressive win in the second semi with Hedden following him to the main. Yarrow made a great start from the outside and cruised to the win in the Consolation.

Rick Valdez got the best start in the Second Division Main, but wily veteran Rudy Laurer used the outside in turns one and two and built up enough speed to take the lead on the back straight. Valdez stalked him for four laps, but couldn't force a mistake. At the line, it was Laurer taking his second victory of the season. Valdez settled for second, Travis Henderson was third, and Billy Braden finished fourth.

Ron Mongenel led all four laps en route to his first ever victory in the Third Division Main Event. Jamie Myers finished second and Jesse Batista was third.

Braydan Galvin won both heats and the Pee Wee Main Event which featured its largest field of the season. Josh Malaguarnero was second, Samuel Ramirez finished third, Ryan DeLong was fourth, Tyler Villalobos finished fifth, Austin Santana was sixth, and Emalee Pappalardo finished seventh.

Russell Green led all four laps and took home the Youth Second Division Main Event. Joey Holt was second, Bradlee Pappalardo finished third, and Rocco Scopellite was fourth.

The Youth First Division Main Event had just two participants, but Jason Ramirez and Krystal Cramer turned in an impressive four-lap battle. Ramirez led from the start, but the young lady didn't let him run away with an easy win. Cramer tried every which way to get around the leader and the rider waged a classic battle often just inches apart. Ramirez defeated Cramer by inches as both riders received a standing ovation from the appreciative crowd.

There won't be speedway racing at Industry Hills next Wednesday. Speedway returns to Industry Hills on Wednesday, August 2.


Pee Wee Main Event
1 - Braydan Galvin
46 - Joshua Malaguarnero
22 - Samuel Ramirez
198 - Ryan DeLong
23 - Tyler Villalobos
7 - Austin Santana
DQ1 - Emalee Pappalardo

Youth Second Division Main Event
18 - Russell Green
114 - Joey Holt
611 - Bradlee Pappalardo
9 - Rocco Scopellite

Youth First Division Main Event
66 - Jason Ramirez
13 - Krystal Cramer

Third Division Main Event
158 - Ron Mongenel
143 - Jamie Myers
233 - Jesse Batista
241 - John Marquez (non starter)

Second Division Consolation
389 - Ryan Tovatt
103 - Brent Smith
132 - Justin Hassan
343n - Jeff Irwin

Second Division Consolation (restarted)
136 - Kim Stevens
210 - Tim Cochren (penalty line)
244 - DeWayne Stark
309 - Vince Giamformaggio (retired)

Second Division Main Event
182 - Rudy Laurer
293 - Rick Valdez
238 - Travis Henderson
117 - Billy Braden

First Division Scoring 1 2 3 T
8n - Bryan Yarrow 3 2 3 8
14 - Eddie Castro 3 2 3 8
21 - Brad Sauer 2 1 1 4
39 - Buck Blair 2 3 3 8
40n - Tommy Hedden 1 3 2 6
43 - Charlie Venegas 3 3 1 7
45 - Dario Galvin 2 3 3 8
145 - Mark Dwyer 3 2 2 7
178 - Eloy Medellin 1 1 1 3
201 - Neil Facchini 1 1 1 3
256 - Tim Gomez 1 1 2 4
301 - Dale Facchini 2 2 2 6

Race Results
8: Venegas, D.Facchini, Gomez
9: Dwyer, Sauer, Hedden (fell, remounted)
10: Castro, Blair, N.Facchini (fell, remounted)
11: Yarrow, Galvin, Medellin
18: Galvin, Castro, N.Facchini
19: Hedden, D.Facchini, Sauer
20: Venegas, Dwyer, Medellin
21: Blair, Yarrow, Gomez
24: Castro, D.Facchini, Medellin
25: Galvin, Dwyer, Sauer
26: Yarrow, Hedden, N.Facchini
27: Blair, Gomez, Venegas (fell)
Semi #1: Venegas, Castro, Yarrow, D.Facchini
Semi #2: Blair, Hedden, Dwyer, Galvin

First Division Consolation
8n - Bryan Yarrow
301 - Dale Facchini
145 - Mark Dwyer
45 - Dario Galvin

First Division Main Event
40n - Tommy Hedden
43 - Charlie Venegas
14 - Eddie Castro
39 - Buck Blair

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.