American Speedway  

2006 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2006 California Results Page

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

Denny Bartlett/Robin Hood Memorial
August 9, 2006 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Shaun Harmatiuk captured the Denny Bartlett/Robin Hood Memorial Main, his first Scratch Main event victory of his career, at Industry Hills.

Buck Blair was lined up in gate four and was first off the line and attempted to trap the field entering turn one. Shawn McConnell overshot the turn and took Blair wide in turn two. Harmatiuk was the benefactor as he was glued to the pole and emerged from turn two with the lead. Blair and McConnell continued to battle for second and both nearly went down in turn one on the second lap. Tommy Hedden, anticipating a crash that never happened, laid his machine down. Meanwhile, Harmatiuk pulled away and cruised the final two laps for the victory. Blair finished second, McConnell was third, and Hedden was fourth.

Round one began with Eddie Castro passing Gary Hicks for the win. Bryan Yarrow defeated Blair for his first win. Ronnie Correy, on his rider return from England, defeated McConnell in his first race on American soil in a decade. Josh Larsen held off Hedden to win the next race. Charlie Venegas beat Mark Dwyer to finish the first round.

Blair began the second round with a defeat of McConnell. Venegas made it two in a row with a win over Castro. Yarrow made it two straight by beating Tim Gomez. Hedden beat Dwyer for his first win. Larsen finished off round two with his second win.

McConnell started the final round by beating Larsen. Correy was awarded his second victory when Michael Hernandez fell and brought out the red flag. Hicks beat Blair in race 30. Venegas remained perfect by beating Gomez. Harmatiuk forced a runoff by beating Hedden in the final heat. In the runoff, Harmatiuk beat Hicks and Castro for the final place in the semis.

Hedden and McConnell ran one and two in the first semi to book their places in the main event. Venegas used the outside in turn one to lead the second semi, but stayed wide throughout lap one and handed the lead to Blair and then second to Harmatiuk before fading to the back. Blair and Harmatiuk took the final two spots in the main event. Yarrow got the best start in the Consolation and held off Venegas for the win.

Rudy Laurer was in gate one for the Second Division Main Event and he put it to good use with a great start and four smooth laps to earn the victory. Eloy Medellin finished second, Travis Henderson was third, and Kim Stevens finished fourth.

Steve Bowen was the initial leader of the Third Division Main Event before being passed by Mike Lane. Lane held the lead until falling on the final lap and bringing out the red flag. Bowen was awarded the victory, Jamie Myers was second, Ron Mongenel was third, and Lane was credited with fourth.

Krystal Cramer held off Northern California's Ben Essary to win the Youth First Division Main. Joey Holt finished third.

Rocco Scopellite was victorious in the Youth Second Division Main Event. Bradlee Pappalardo finished second, Phillip Harmatiuk was third, Steven Reese finished fourth, and Russell Green was fifth.

Braydan Galvin continued his dominance of the Pee Wee division with another main event victory. Kyle Hedden was second, Elijah Hicks finished third, Kolby Hedden was fourth, Kayci Hedden finished fifth, and Brandon Larsen was sixth.


Pee Wee Main Event
1 - Braydan Galvin
45 - Kyle Hedden
3 - Elijah Hicks
1 - Kolby Hedden
2 - Kayci Hedden
- Brandon Larsen

Youth Second Division Main Event
9 - Rocco Scopellite 0
611 - Bradlee Pappalardo 0
139 - Phillip Harmatiuk 10
32n - Steven Reese 10
18 - Russell Green 10 (fell)
99 - Trevor Sargent 0 (non starter)

Youth First Division Main Event
13 - Krystal Cramer
24n - Ben Essary
114 - Joey Holt

Third Division Main Event (restarted) (awarded)
177 - Steve Bowen
143 - Jamie Myers
158 - Ron Mongenel (penalty line)
141 - Mike Lane (fell, excluded)

Second Division Consolation
383 - Randy Skinner
336 - Bill Green
132 - Justin Hassan
150 - Damon Barry

Second Division Consolation
269 - Ed Martinez
103 - Brent Smith
117 - Billy Braden (non starter)
125 - Johnny Lupo (non starter)

Second Division Consolation
I didn't get the result, but the participants were Bill Warnock, Chris Metoyer, Bryan Buffington, and Vince Giamformaggio

Second Division Main Event
182 - Rudy Laurer
178 - Eloy Medellin
238 - Travis Henderson (fell, remounted)
136 - Kim Stevens

First Division Scoring 1 2 3 T
2 - Josh Larsen 3 3 2 8
3 - Gary Hicks 2 1 3 6
6 - Shawn McConnell 2 2 3 7
8n - Bryan Yarrow 3 3 1 7
14 - Eddie Castro 3 2 1 7
17 - Robbie Sauer 0 1 0 1
20 - Ronnie Correy 3 1 3 7
21 - Brad Sauer 1 0 0 1
29n - Matt Browne 0 1 1 2
39 - Buck Blair 2 3 2 7
40n - Tommy Hedden 2 3 2 7
43 - Charlie Venegas 3 3 3 9
99 - Greg Ayers 1 0 0 1
105 - Michael Hernandez 0 1 F 1
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk 1 2 3 6
145 - Mark Dwyer 2 2 1 5
201 - Neil Facchini F 0 0 0
248 - Brian Starr R 0 1 1
256 - Tim Gomez 1 2 2 5
301 - Dale Facchini 1 0 2 3

Race Results
9: Castro, Hicks, Ayers, Browne
10: Yarrow, Blair, B.Sauer (tape penalty), Hernandez (tape penalty)
11: Correy, McConnell, Gomez, N.Facchini (fell)
12: (restarted) Larsen, Hedden, D.Facchini, R.Sauer (penalty line)
13: Venegas, Dwyer, Harmatiuk, Starr (retired)
21: Blair, McConnell, Browne, D.Facchini
22: Venegas, Castro, R.Sauer, N.Facchini
23: Yarrow, Gomez, Hicks, Starr
24: Hedden, Dwyer, Hernandez, Ayers
25: Larsen, Harmatiuk, Correy, B.Sauer (fell, remounted)
28: McConnell, Larsen, Starr, Ayers
29: (awarded) Correy, D.Facchini, Castro, Hernandez (fell)
30: Hicks, Blair, Dwyer, R.Sauer
31: Venegas, Gomez, Browne, B.Sauer
32: Harmatiuk, Hedden, Yarrow, N.Facchini
Runoff: Harmatiuk, Hicks, Castro
Semi #1: Hedden, McConnell, Correy, Larsen
Semi #2: Blair, Harmatiuk, Yarrow, Venegas

First Division Consolation
8n - Bryan Yarrow
43 - Charlie Venegas
2 - Josh Larsen
20 - Ronnie Correy (non starter)

Denny Bartlett/Robin Memorial Main Event
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk
39 - Buck Blair
6 - Shawn McConnell
40n - Tommy Hedden

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.