American Speedway  

2006 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2006 California Results Page

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

California Speedway
August 23, 2006 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Charlie "The Edge" Venegas followed up his perfect night at Costa Mesa with another undefeated evening, including his sixth main event victory, at Industry Hills.

Venegas drew the pole and was first to turn one. He was immediately challenged on the outside by Buck Blair. Blair was able to get his front wheel to Venegas's right hip, but couldn't muster enough traction to get past. Bryan Yarrow added pressure to the front-runners by challenging from the inside while Tommy Hedden was trying to follow Blair on the outside. Venegas remained on the inside line and was able to get a bikelength on Blair. Yarrow continued to fight Blair for second, but the Colorado native was making the outside line work. The field exited the final corner in a tight pack. Venegas crossed the line first while Blair held off Yarrow for second by inches with Hedden finishing fourth.

Hedden kicked off the heat races by beating Nate Perkins. Greg Ayers scored an impressive win ahead of Bobby Krips. Venegas beat Tim Gomez for his first win of the evening. Eddie Castro used the outside to pass Mark Dwyer for the victory in the next race. Yarrow finished the first round with a win with Blair taking second at the line after a nice outside pass of Shaun Harmatiuk.

Venegas began the second round with his second straight win. Perkins beat Yarrow for his first victory. Hedden used the outside to pass Gomez for the win in race 23. Harmatiuk beat Michael Hernandez in the next race.

Castro was leading the last race of round two before suffering a flat tire on the second lap. Blair took the lead but Castro insisted on riding out the race. It proved costly when he hit the fence in the final corner.

Blair made it two wins in a row to begin round three. Venegas remained perfect with a win. Yarrow passed Dario Galvin on the outside for his second win in race 30. Harmatiuk beat Castro in the next race for his second win. Krips held off Dwyer to win the final heat. Castro and Dwyer advanced to the semis via a four-rider runoff.

Hedden won the first semi with Yarrow using the outside to finish second and join him in the main. Venegas took the second semi with Blair passing Harmatiuk for second and the transfer to the main. Perkins was victorious in the Consolation.

In the Last Man Out race, Venegas was eliminated first, Yarrow was next to leave, followed by Hedden. The two-lap final turned out to be anticlimactic when McConnell fell while challenging Blair for the lead on the first lap. Blair took the easy win.

The Second Division Main required three restarts and a "cooling off" period before being completed. Rudy Laurer led the fourth attempt before going straight in turn two on the third lap and getting passed by Bryan Buffington. Buffington looked set for the win, but Laurer's pressure forced Buffington wide and Laurer was able to sneak by on the inside in the final corner to steal the win. Buffington had to settle for second, Rick Valdez was third, and Ryan Tovatt was credited with fourth.

Jamie Myers won the Third Division Main for the second straight week. Rick Fritch finished second, 74 year old Hugh Randolph was third, and John Marquez finished fourth.

Krystal Cramer trapped the field and ran away with the Youth First Division Main Event. Ben Essary came from the penalty line to finish second, Gino Manzares was third, and Steven Reese finished fourth.

An injury to Rocco Scopellite earlier in the evening left just two riders in the Youth Second Division Main. Russell Green emerged victorious after a great battle with Phillip Harmatiuk.

Braydan Galvin won the Pee Wee Main Event with Braden Sauer finishing second.

Kirk Williams and Travis Henderson won a wild Sidecar Main Event. Mark Adams and Ashley Thill led early, but were under pressure from Jeff Medberry and Chris Levitt. Meanwhile, Neil Facchini lost his passenger, uMatt Davis, but chose to keep racing. Medberry and Levitt slammed into Adams and Thill at the end of the second lap with both teams going into the infield. This left Medberry and Levitt as the leaders being chased by Facchini. In the final corner, Facchini finally paid for not having a passenger as his sidecar highsided in spectacular fashion. Facchini was able to walk away without any injuries. Medberry and Levitt were credited with the victory.


Sidecar Main Event
4 - Kirk Williams/Travis Henderson
23 - Mark Adams/Ashley Thill
11 - Jeff Medberry/Chris Levitt
4 - Neil Facchini/uMatt Davis

Pee Wee Main Event
1 - Braydan Galvin
22 - Braden Sauer

Youth Second Division Main Event
18 - Russell Green
139 - Phillip Harmatiuk
9 - Rocco Scopellite (non starter)

Youth First Division Main Event (restarted)
13 - Krystal Cramer
24n - Ben Essary (penalty line)
21 - Gino Manzares
32n - Steven Reese (fell)

Third Division Consolation
158 - Ron Mongenel
141 - Mike Lane (fell)

Third Division Main Event
143 - Jamie Myers
288 - Rick Fritch
308 - Hugh Randolph
241 - John Marquez

Second Division Consolation
117 - Billy Braden
178 - Eloy Medellin
103 - Brent Smith
136 - Kim Stevens

Second Division Consolation
309 - Vince Giamformaggio
383 - Randy Skinner (tape penalty)
301n - Bill Warnock (fell, remounted)
150 - Damon Barry (retired)

Second Division Consolation
238 - Travis Henderson
132 - Justin Hassan
391 - Mike Bershee
336 - Bill Green (non starter)

Second Division Main Event (restarted three times)
182 - Rudy Laurer
77 - Bryan Buffington
293 - Rick Valdez (penalty line)
389 - Ryan Tovatt (non starter)

Last Man Out Race
39 - Buck Blair
6 - Shawn McConnell
40n - Tommy Hedden
8n - Bryan Yarrow
43 - Charlie Venegas

First Division Scoring 1 2 3 T
6 - Shawn McConnell 1 F N 1
8n - Bryan Yarrow 3 2 3 8
13 - Nate Perkins 2 3 1 6
14 - Eddie Castro 3 F 2 5
17 - Robbie Sauer R R R 0
21 - Brad Sauer F 1 1 2
24 - Bobby Krips 2 F 3 5
39 - Buck Blair 2 3 3 8
40n - Tommy Hedden 3 3 2 8
43 - Charlie Venegas 3 3 3 9
45 - Dario Galvin 1 0 2 3
99 - Greg Ayers 3 1 0 4
105 - Michael Hernandez 1 2 0 3
120 - Doug Greyson 1 1 0 2
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk 1 3 3 7
145 - Mark Dwyer 2 1 2 5
178 - Eloy Medellin 1 - - 1
201 - Neil Facchini 0 2 1 3
238 - Travis Henderson 0 - - 0
256 - Tim Gomez 2 2 1 5
293 - Rick Valdez 1 - - 1
301 - Dale Facchini F 2 2 4

Race Results
9: Hedden, Perkins, Galvin, D.Facchini (fell)
10: Ayers, Krips, McConnell, N.Facchini (fell, remounted)
11: Venegas, Gomez, Greyson, B.Sauer (fell)
12: Castro, Dwyer, Hernandez, R.Sauer (retired)
13: Yarrow, Blair, Harmatiuk, Henderson
21: Venegas, N.Facchini, Dwyer, Galvin
22: Perkins, Yarrow, B.Sauer, R.Sauer (retired)
23: Hedden, Gomez, Medellin, McConnell (fell)
24: Harmatiuk, Hernandez, Ayers, Krips (fell)
25: Blair, D.Facchini, Greyson, Castro (fell)
28: Blair, Hedden, N.Facchini, R. Sauer (retired)
29: Venegas, D.Facchini, Valdez, Hernandez
30: Yarrow, Galvin, Gomez, Ayers
31: Harmatiuk, Castro, B.Sauer, McConnell (non starter)
32: Krips, Dwyer, Perkins, Greyson
Runoff: Castro, Dwyer, Gomez (fell, remounted), Krips (retired)
Semi #1: Hedden, Yarrow, Perkins, Castro
Semi #2: (restarted) Venegas, Blair, Harmatiuk, Dwyer (non starter)

First Division Consolation
13 - Nate Perkins
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk
14 - Eddie Castro
145 - Mark Dwyer (non starter)

First Division Main Event
43 - Charlie Venegas
39 - Buck Blair
8n - Bryan Yarrow
40n - Tommy Hedden

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.