American Speedway  

2006 Victorville Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2006 California Results Page

Victorville Speedway
Wheel2Wheel Raceway
Victorville, California

Victorville Track Championship
September 23, 2006 - Victorville
By: Ryan Evans

"Fast" Eddie Castro captured the Victorville Track Championship with a victory in the main event at Wheel2Wheel Raceway.

The first attempt to run the main event had Tim Gomez taking the lead at the start and being chased by Ricky Wells. Wells lost a primary chain in turn four and went down hard and brought out the red flag. Wells was able to restart, but would do so from the penalty line. The second attempt ended in turn two when Castro and Gomez collided which left Gomez on the ground and brought out the red flag again. No penalty was assessed, so the riders lined up the same way. Castro saved his best start for the third try and jumped into the lead right away. Mark Dwyer and Gomez battled behind him with the veteran holding the seventeen year old at bay. Dwyer turned his attention toward Castro and chopped into the lead, but Castro never flinched and was first to the checkered flag. Dwyer finished second, Gomez was third, and Wells finished fourth.

The heats began with Yarrow taking the win with Gomez making an outside pass on Dale Facchini to steal second on the last lap. Castro scored a runaway win over Dwyer in the second heat. Shaun Harmatiuk held off Wells for his first win in the third heat.

Wells earned his first win in race ten by defeating Nate Perkins. Yarrow won his second straight race ahead of Dwyer. Harmatiuk fended off a determined Castro for his second win. Perkins defeated Neil Facchini to win race 16.

Yarrow won his third consecutive race to start the final round. Castro beat Michael Hull for his second win. Wells closed out the heats with a victory over Perkins.

In the runoff for the final spot in the semis, Gomez stalked Dale Facchini for three laps before making an outside pass on the back straight to grab the win on the last lap.

Harmatiuk got the best start in the first semi, but Castro was making the outside work and was on Harmatiuk's back tire when they took the white flag. Harmatiuk drifted into the wide line to block Castro, but the savvy veteran cut back to the inside on the exit of turn two. Just as Castro made his move Harmatiuk lost a chain and began to coast. Dwyer was the beneficiary and took second behind the victorious Castro. Wells got the start in the second semi and was followed all the way to the checkered flag and into the main by Gomez. Yarrow held off Perkins to win the Consolation.

The Second Division Track Championship also required three attempts. On the third try Travis Henderson jumped into the lead and never looked back en route to the win. Billy Lyons finished second, Allen Doss was third, Vince Giamformaggio finished fourth, and Kenny Hansen was fifth.

Scott York won both of his heats and dominated the main to take home the Third Division Track Championship. Blake Bowen finished second, Matt Monkress was third, Mike Boyle finished fourth, Mike Nutting was fifth, and Hugh Randolph finished sixth.

Gino Manzares was victorious in the Youth Track Championship. Russell Green was second, Joey Holt finished third, and Dylan Black was fourth.

Garrett Nepi won the Pee Wee Track Championship with Erica Lyons finished second and Marina Braden finishing third.

Mark Adams and Ashley Thill took advantage of a breakdown on the machine of Joe Jones and Brandi McElroy to win the Sidecar Track Championship. Jeff Medberry and Chris Levitt were second, Kirk Williams and Matt Davis finished third, and Jones and McElroy were credited with fourth.

The next speedway event at Wheel2Wheel Raceway in Victorville is scheduled for Saturday, October 21. Two team matches are scheduled, however, all divisions, including Youth and Pee Wees, will be on the program.


Pure Rite Water Sidecar Track Championship
 23 - Mark Adams/Ashley Thill
 11 - Jeff Medberry/Chris Levitt
 12 - Kirk Williams/Matt Davis
  9 - Joe Jones/Brandi McElroy

Xtreme Motorsports Pee Wee Track Championship
  5 - Garrett Nepi
 77 - Erica Lyons
117 - Marina Braden

Pure Rite Water Youth Track Championship
 21 - Gino Manzares
 18 - Russell Green
114 - Joey Holt
  7 - Dylan Black

Joker Machine Third Division Track Championship
 55 - Scott York             	0
 69 - Blake Bowen             	0
273 - Matt Monkress            	0
198 - Mike Boyle               	10
218 - Mike Nutting            	0
308 - Hugh Randolph            	0

Battery Mart Second Division Consolation
280 - Kerry Sorensen
104n - Tyler Hansen
269 - Ed Martinez
136 - Kim Stevens
117 - Billy Braden          	(non starter)

Battery Mart Second Division Main Event (restarted twice)
238 - Travis Henderson
321 - Billy Lyons
232 - Allen Doss
309 - Vince Giamformaggio    	(penalty line)
171 - Kenny Hansen             	(retired)

Advanced Performance First Division 	1    	2    	3		T
  8 - Bryan Yarrow                     	3    	3    	3           	9
 13 - Nate Perkins                     	2    	3    	2           	7
 14 - Eddie Castro                     	3    	2    	3           	8
 99 - Greg Ayers                       	1    	0    	0           	1
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk               	3    	3    	2         	8
142 - Ricky Wells                      	2    	3    	3           	8
145 - Mark Dwyer                       	2    	2    	1           	5
201 - Neil Facchini                   	1     	2    	N          	3
212n - Kenny Ingalls                   	0     	0    	1           	1
238 - Travis Henderson                	0    	-     	-           	0
248 - Brian Starr                     	0    	0    	0           	0
256 - Tim Gomez                        	2    	1    	R          	3
301 - Dale Facchini                    	1    	1    	1           	3
320 - Michael Hull                    	1    	1    	2           	4

Race Results
 4: Yarrow, Gomez, D.Facchini, Starr
 5: Castro, Dwyer, N.Facchini (tape penalty), Henderson
 6: Harmatiuk, Wells, Ayers, Ingalls
10: Wells, Perkins, Hull, Starr
13: Yarrow, Dwyer, Hull, Ayers
15: Harmatiuk, Castro, Gomez, Starr
16: Perkins, N.Facchini, D.Facchini, Ingalls
21: (restarted) Yarrow, Harmatiuk, Ingalls (fell, remounted), N.Facchini (non starter)
22: Castro, Hull, D.Facchini, Ayers
24: Wells, Perkins, Dwyer, Gomez (retired)
Runoff: Gomez, D.Facchini, N.Facchini (non starter)
Semi #1: Castro, Dwyer, Hull, Harmatiuk (retired)
Semi #2: Wells, Gomez, Perkins, Yarrow

Advanced Performance Muffler First Division Consolation
  8 - Bryan Yarrow
 13 - Nate Perkins
320 - Michael Hull
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk		(non starter)

Advanced Performance First Division Track Championship (restarted twice)
 14 - Eddie Castro
145 - Mark Dwyer
256 - Tim Gomez
142 - Ricky Wells           	(penalty line)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.