American Speedway  

2007 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2007 West Coast Results Page

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

2007 Denny Bartlett/Robin Hood Memorial
August 1, 2007 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Charlie "The Edge" Venegas followed his State Championship victory by going undefeated and winning the Denny Bartlett/Robin Hood Memorial at Industry Speedway.

Venegas and Buck Blair both entered the main event undefeated. Venegas won the draw to determine first choice and selected the inside with Blair taking gate two. Ryan Fisher picked gate four which left Jimmy Fishback with gate three.

Venegas exploded off the line and led into turn one. Blair and Fisher made it a three-rider battle as the trio exited turn two. Venegas held a slight advantage while Fisher was finding too much traction and was fighting to keep his front wheel on the ground. Venegas led into turn three and Blair secured second. Blair spent two laps trying to catch Venegas, but Fisher was knocking on Blair's door as they took the white flag. Blair went wide coming out of turn two and Fisher cut back and made a bold inside move entering turn three which brought both riders down. Venegas was awarded the victory while Fisher was deemed the cause of the red and was credited with fourth which gave second to Blair and third to Fishback.

Blair began the heats with a win over Bobby Schwartz. Shawn McConnell went down hard in the next heat and restarted, but eventually withdrew from the meeting. Fishback scored his first win in the restart. Fisher held off Ricky Wells for his first win. Venegas ended the first round with a win over Eddie Castro.

Fisher began the second round by defeating Castro. Fishback made it two straight with a victory over Schwartz. Blair made it two in a row by beating Greg Ayers. Venegas matched the perfect scores of Fisher, Fishback, and Blair with his second win to end round two.

Venegas remained perfect by beating Fishback to start the final round. Blair stayed perfect with his third win in event 25. Fisher made it three in a row as well with a win over Schwartz. Castro won the final heat.

Blair got the best start in the first semi and led Fisher all the way to the checkered flag and into the main event. Venegas led the second semi from start to finish, but behind him Castro used the outside to make up a 20-yard penalty for touching the tapes and missed beating Fishback for second by inches. Castro won the Consolation.

An ailing McConnell was eliminated first in the Last of the Mohicans Last Man Out Challenge and was followed out the door by Blair. This left Wells and Fishback for the two-lap final challenge. Wells got the best start and held off Fishback for the win.

Steve Bowen led the Second Division Main Event for four laps before coming under attack from Allen Doss. Doss made a desperate move in the final corner and bumped Bowen off the inside line. Bowen managed to stay upright, but the field had already gone by. Doss to the victory, Rick Valdez finished second, Kim Stevens was third, Eloy Medellin finished fourth, Jim Painter was fifth, and Bowen finished sixth.

Aimiris Santana was the leader of the Third Division Main Event the first three laps, but Danny Baker pressured him as they took the white flag. Baker hit Santana's back wheel in turn two and went over the highside and collected Ed Martinez at the same time. Santana was awarded the victory, Ron Mongenel was second, Hugh Randolph was third, Lance Remington was fourth, Ed Martinez was fifth, and Baker was credited with sixth.

Gino Manzares led the Youth First Division Main Event for two laps before Russell Green went to the cushion and made an impressive pass for the lead on the back straight. Green went too deep into turn three and slid off which allowed Manzares to cruise to victory. Joey Holt finished second and Green was third.

Richard Crocker was victorious in the Youth Second Division Main Event with Brayden Galvin finishing second and Eloy Medellin III finishing third.
Erika Lyons passed Bryson Galvin on the third lap and led the rest of the way to win the Pee Wee Main Event. Galvin finished second and Nathan Remington was third.

Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen led from start to finish to win the Sidecar Main Event. Kirk Williams and Loren Thursten were second, Scott Driggers and Shawn Driggers finished third, and Brian Motis and Matt Davis were fourth.

The Denny Bartlett/Robin Hood Memorial honors the former speedway rider who passed away last year. Bartlett competed under the name Robin Hood at San Bernardino to avoid being "blacklisted" by other race tracks that had differences with San Bernardino at that time. The evening also featured the Harley race, which was won by Jimmy Fishback, as well as an unlimited desert car exhibition by Twisted Tin and an exhibition by hillclimbers Bret and Robie Peterson.

Next week is Kids Night at Industry Speedway. All children that are 12 years old or under are free with a paying adult.


Sidecar Main Event 
15 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen
 12 - Kirk Williams/Loren Thursten
 13 - Scott Driggers/Shawn Driggers
  4 - Brian Motis/Matt Davis Pee Wee Main Event 77 - Erika Lyons
  3 - Bryson Galvin
 12 - Nathan Remington 
Youth Second Division Main Event 
91 - Richard Crocker 
2 - Braydan Galvin 
178 - Eloy Medellin III 

Youth First Division Main Event 
21 - Gino Manzares 
4 - Joey Holt 
18 - Russell Green (fell, remounted) 

Third Division Consolation 328 - Steve Leffler                	0
362 - Ralph Chudy 10
157 - Tony DeAlmeida 0
714 - Joe Dillard 0
252 - Jeff Remington              	0 

Third Division Main Event (awarded)
357 - Aimiris Santana             	0
158 - Ron Mongenel 10
308 - Hugh Randolph 0
134 - Lance Remington 10
269 - Ed Martinez 10	(fell)
126 - Danny Baker 20  	(fell)

Second Division Consolation 
182 - Rudy Laurer 20
 77 - Bryan Buffington 20
389 - Ryan Tovatt 10
309 - Vince Giamformaggio 20

Second Division Main Event 232 - Allen Doss 10
293 - Rick Valdez 20
136 - Kim Stevens 0
178 - Eloy Medellin 20
172 - Jim Painter 0
177 - Steve Bowen 0 

Last of the Mohicans Last Man Out Challenge 
142 - Ricky Wells 
25 - Jimmy Fishback 
39 - Buck Blair 
6 - Shawn McConnell 

First Division Scoring               1  2  3    T 
6 - Shawn McConnell F  N  N    0
 11 - Bobby Schwartz 2  2  2    6
 14 - Eddie Castro 2  2  3    7
 25 - Jimmy Fishback 3  3  2    8
 32 - Billy Lyons 1  0  0    1
 36 - Ryan Fisher 3  3  3    9
 39 - Buck Blair 3  3  3    9
 43 - Charlie Venegas 3  3  3    9
 55 - Travis Henderson 1  1  0    2
 77 - Bryan Buffington 0  1  1    2
 99 - Greg Ayers 1  2  1    4
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk 2  1  2    5
142 - Ricky Wells 2  2  1    5
241 - John Marquez 0  0  2    2
309 - Vince Giamformaggio 1  1  1    3 

Race Results 9: Blair, Schwartz, Lyons
10: (restarted) Fishback, Harmatiuk, Henderson, McConnell (penalty line) (fell)
11: (restarted) Fisher, Wells, Giamformaggio, Marquez (penalty line)
12: Venegas, Castro, Ayers, Buffington
18: Fisher, Castro, Harmatiuk, Lyons
19: Fishback, Schwartz, Buffington, Marquez
20: Blair, Ayers, Giamformaggio, McConnell (non starter)
21: Venegas, Wells, Henderson (fell, remounted)
24: Venegas, Fishback, Giamformaggio, Lyons
25: Blair, Harmatiuk, Wells
26: Fisher, Schwartz, Ayers, Henderson
27: (restarted) Castro, Marquez, Buffington 

Semi #1: Blair, Fisher, Harmatiuk, Schwartz 
Semi #2: Venegas, Fishback, Castro (tape penalty), Wells 

First Division Consolation 
14 - Eddie Castro 
142 - Ricky Wells 
11 - Bobby Schwartz 
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk (engine failure) 

Denny Bartlett/Robin Hood Memorial Main Event (awarded)
 43 - Charlie Venegas 
 39 - Buck Blair 
 25 - Jimmy Fishback 
 36 - Ryan Fisher (fell, excluded)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.