American Speedway  

2007 Victorville Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2007 West Coast Results Page

Victorville Speedway
Wheel2Wheel Raceway
Victorville, California

Goodspeed Racing King of the Desert
April 21, 2007 - Victorville
By: Ryan Evans

Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell rose to the occasion and captured his first main event victory of 2007 at the Goodspeed Racing King of the Desert at Wheel2Wheel Raceway in Victorville.

Josh Larsen entered the main undefeated and utilized the first gate choice to pick gate four. Buck Blair picked gate three, "Fast" Eddie Castro then selected two, leaving McConnell with the pole. Castro was penalized for touching the tapes on the first attempt. When the tapes finally went up Larsen was first off the line, but lifted and allowed McConnell and Blair to beat him to turn one. McConnell emerged from turn two with the lead while Blair battled Larsen for second. Blair and Larsen swapped lines several times and their encounter continued through lap three when Larsen crossed under Blair to secure second. McConnell wasn't too far in the distance to deter Larsen who chased down the leader and made a desperate final-corner attempt for the lead around the outside. Larsen backed his machine into the corner a little too hard and slid off and Blair was forced to lay his bike down. The race was declared over with McConnell awarded the victory, Blair was second, Castro finished third, and Larsen was credited with fourth.

The first attempt of the Youth Second Division Main Event ended on a somber note as Dylan Black fell while leading and was struck by a trailing rider who had nowhere to go. Black was down for an extensive amount of time while being tended to. Black was transported from the facility via ambulance with what is believed to be a fractured upper arm. The meeting was delayed while waiting for the emergency personnel to return to the track.

Ricky Wells began the first round of First Division heats with a solid win over Castro. Larsen cruised to his first win in the next race. Blair beat Jimmy Fishback to finish round one.

Round two started with Wells collecting his second straight win. Castro beat Michael Hull for his first victory. Larsen defeated Blair to complete the second round.

Wells made it three wins in a row to start round three. Castro beat Fishback for his second straight win. Larsen concluded the heats by matching Wells's perfect score.

McConnell got the best gate in the first semi and had Blair and Wells snapping at his heels. McConnell used all of his vast experience and deftly raced mid-track as Blair used the low line and Wells tried the top of the race track, but neither could get past. McConnell took the win and Blair held off Wells for second. Larsen ran away with the second semi and Castro, who received a tape penalty, used the outside to squeeze past Fishback for second. Wells led the B Main wire-to-wire and Hull passed Fishback in the final corner for second.

John Marquez led all four laps en route to victory in the Second Division Main Event. Blake Bowen finished second, Mike O'Neil was third, and Bryan Buffington finished fourth.

Fred Remington led from start to finish in the Third Division Main Event. Brad Russell was second, Ralph Chudy finished third, and Mike Nutting was fourth.

Joey Holt defeated Russell Green to win the Youth First Division Main Event.

The restart of the Youth Second Division Main was won by Brad Pappalardo, his second victory of the week, with Braydan Galvin finishing second.

Erika Lyons was victorious in the Pee Wee Main and Bryson Galvin was second.

The next speedway meeting at Wheel2Wheel Raceway is the Eliminapolis 500, which is scheduled Saturday of Memorial Day Weekend, May 26. It will feature a $500 Last Man Out Challenge.

Pee Wee Main Event
 77 - Erika Lyons
  3 - Bryson Galvin
  2 - Brandon Larsen		(non starter)
Youth Second Division Main Event (restarted)
611 - Brad Pappalardo
  2 - Braydan Galvin
  7 - Dylan Black          	(non starter)
Youth First Division Main Event
  4 - Joey Holt
 18 - Russell Green
Third Division Main Event
152 - Fred Remington
317 - Brad Russell
362 - Ralph Chudy
218 - Mike Nutting
Second Division Consolation
288 - Rick Fritch
152 - Fred Remington
209 - Greg Vandemore
Second Division Last Chance
243 - Mike O'Neil
232 - Allen Doss
177 - Steve Bowen
163 - Rohn Zellner
Second Division Main Event
241 - John Marquez
187 - Blake Bowen
243 - Mike O'Neil
 77 - Bryan Buffington
First Division Scoring		1  2  3    T
  2 - Josh Larsen                     	3  3  3    9
  6 - Shawn McConnell             	1  2  1    4
 14 - Eddie Castro                   	1  3  3    7
 25 - Jimmy Fishback               	2  1  2    5
 39 - Buck Blair                       	3  2  2    7
 99 - Greg Ayers                     	2  1  2    5
110 - Jon Stasiefski                 	0  0  0    0
142 - Ricky Wells                    	3  3  3    9
202 - Mike Bloom                    	1  0  1    2
249 - John Stunkard                	0  0  0    0
320 - Michael Hull                   	2  2  R    4
321 - Billy Lyons                     	0  1  1    2
Race Results
 9: Wells, Hull, Castro, Lyons
10: (restarted) Larsen, Ayers, McConnell, Stunkard (penalty line)
11: Blair, Fishback, Bloom Stasiefski
16: Wells, McConnell, Ayers, Bloom
17: Castro, Hull, Lyons, Stasiefski
18: Larsen, Blair, Fishback, Stunkard
21: Wells, Ayers, Bloom, Stasiefski
22: Castro, Fishback, McConnell, Stunkard
23: Larsen, Blair, Lyons, Hull (retired)
Semi #1: McConnell, Blair, Wells, Ayers
Semi #2: Larsen, Castro (tape penalty), Fishback, Hull
First Division C Main
249 - John Stunkard
202 - Mike Bloom
110 - Jon Stasiefski
321 - Billy Lyons		(fell)
First Division B Main
142 - Ricky Wells
320 - Michael Hull
 25 - Jimmy Fishback
 99 - Greg Ayers
First Division Main Event (awarded)
  6 - Shawn McConnell
 39 - Buck Blair
 14 - Eddie Castro         	(tape penalty)
  2 - Josh Larsen           	(fell, excluded)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.