American Speedway  

2008 Champion Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2008 East Coast Results Page

Champion Speedway
Owego, New York

Champion - Owego, New York, USA - July 7, 2008
By Jason Bonsignore

US Open Finals

It was an awesome night at Champion, great crowd, great races (20 Division 1 Riders), and it came down to the last of the 4 Grand Finals to determine the winner.

Congratulations to Shawn McConnell on his 3rd US Open Championship! He and Shaun Harmatiuk were tied several times throughout the night for total points. With one corner to go on the last lap of the final main Harmatiuk was in a position to tie McConnell again and force a run-off but he bobbled and McConnell moved by to take the title.

Casey Donholt did well to take third overall. Aaron Hesmer had a good night to move himself up the standings to 4th and Phil Collins showed he still has unreal talent and speed, thrilling the crowd several times. Once his gating gets back up to par and he gets comfortable with close racing...look out.

Katalin Davis was a popular winner in Support A and Dan Oakden took the overall in Support B.


1. Shawn McConnell CHAMPION-Brea, California
2. Shaun Harmatiuk Garden Grove, California
3. Casey Donholt Port Crane, NY
4. Aaron Hesmer Brantford, Ontario
5. Phil Collins Pismo Beach, California
6. Mikey Buman Binghamton, NY
7. Lenny McBride Windsor, NY
8. Adam Mittl Endicott, NY
9. Gene Bonsignore Rochester, NY
10. Tuff McBride Windsor, NY
11. Warren Diem Lancaster, PA
12. Jesse Diem Lancaster, PA
13. Dave Clark Berkshire, NY
14. Brian Hollenbeck Owego, NY
15. Josh Carr JohnSon City, NY
16. Jerry Harman Newark Valley, NY
17. Keith Hawkins Nichols, NY
18. Corey Brookes, Apalachin, NY
19. Jeff Orosz Toronto, Ontario
20. Russ Cornell Nichols, NY

Eastern Speedway Promotion

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.