American Speedway  

2008 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2008 West Coast Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

August 16, 2008 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans

Shawn “Mad Dog” McConnell went undefeated and won the Scratch Main for the third time at the world famous Costa Mesa Speedway.

McConnell and Bobby “Boogaloo” Schwartz both entered the main event without suffering a loss. McConnell won the draw to determine starting position and he selected the pole. Schwartz, however, led the field into turn one after getting a better start from gate two. The former National Champion drifted wide in turn two and McConnell charged up the inside to snatch the lead on the back straight. Schwartz got back in line behind the recently-crowned U.S. Open Champion and waited for a mistake. McConnell never turned a wheel wrong, though, and led all the way to the checkered flag. Schwartz settled for second, Ricky Wells finished third, Jason Ramirez was fourth, and Robbie Sauer finished fifth.

Wells began the evening by running away with his first heat win. McConnell beat Robbie Sauer to win the second heat. Ramirez was victorious over Brad Sauer in the third heat. Schwartz finished the round with a win over Russell Green.

Round two started with Wells getting his second straight win. McConnell was awarded the victory in the next race. Greg Ayers took a convincing win the race 11. Schwartz used the outside to pass Robbie Sauer and close out the second round with his second win.

Wells opened the final round with his third straight win. Robbie Sauer led event 18 for three laps before McConnell went by in turn one to take the lead and the victory. Neil Facchini was victorious in the penultimate heat. Schwartz ended the heats with a victory, thus matching the perfect scores of Wells and McConnell.

Schwartz and Wells met in the first semi and it was the 52 year old veteran getting the better of the 17 year old, but both riders moved on to the main event. McConnell easily won the second semi and Robbie Sauer passed Mike Bloom to take the second transfer spot. Ramirez ran away with the Last Chance to book the final spot in the main event.

Robert Christian travelled from Reno, Nevada and led all four laps to take home an impressive Support Main Event victory. Bryan Buffington finished second, Vince Giamformaggio was third, Steve Bowen finished fourth, and Ryan Tovatt was fifth.

Brad Moreau was victorious in the Support B Main Event. Jim Lavender finished second, Jonni Jade was third, Tony Squillace finished fourth, and Norman Graham was fifth.

Chad Hoyt was victorious in the Youth First Division Main Event with Rocco Scopellite finishing second and Joey Holt coming in third.

River McDougall was awarded the victory in the Youth Second Division Main Event after the red flag came out for a fallen rider. Major Davis was second, Nicky Reimer finished third, Brad Painter was fourth, and Samuel Ramirez was credited with fifth.

The Sidecars made their second exhibition appearance and six teams took to the track in groups of three and excited the crowd with some great racing. The final race featured a great side-by-side battle between National Champions Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen and the Dan Jones and Chris Jones. As the teams were racing to the checkered flag Dan Jones and Chris Jones carried to much speed into the corner, hit the wall, and sent both tumbling to the ground. Fortunately, a fire on the machine and everyone’s fears were both tempered as track staff took care of the fire and both Jones Brothers rose to their feet. The crowd showed their appreciation with a loud ovation.

Next week is the second Orange County Harley Davidson Night of 2008. The evening will include people racing around the oval on street-legal Harleys. This spectacle is sure to bring an overflow crowd.


Youth Second Division Main Event (restarted) (awarded)
 43 – River McDougall	(penalty line)
999 – Major Davis
 41 – Nicky Reimer
777 – Brad Painter
 22 – Samuel Ramirez		(fell)

Youth First Division Main Event
154 – Chad Hoyt
  9 – Rocco Scopellite
  4 – Joey Holt

Support B Consolation
292 – Mike Schultz
399 – Jeff Shaffer
124 – Paul Thornton

Support B Consolation (restarted)
189 – Chris Thomas
401 – Robert Portal
222 – Tom Bostic
308 – Hugh Randolph

Support B Last Chance
129 – Norman Graham
362 – Ralph Chudy
169 – Dan Wensloff
371 – Gary Greenwood

Support B Main Event
153 – Brad Moreau
102 – Jim Lavender
266 – Jonni Jade
221 – Tony Squillace
129 – Norman Graham

Support Last Chance
389 – Ryan Tovatt
172 – Jim Painter
176 – Carl Gazafy
326 – Mark Lane			(non starter)

Support Main Event (restarted)
222n – Robert Christian
 77 – Bryan Buffington
309 – Vince Giamformaggio
177 – Steve Bowen
389 – Ryan Tovatt		(fell)

First Division Scoring	1	2	3	T
  6 – Shawn McConnell		3	3	3	9
 11 – Bobby Schwartz		3	3	3	9
 17 – Robbie Sauer		2	2	0	4
 21 – Brad Sauer		2	F	0	2
 22 – Mike Bloom		2	2	1	5
 25 – Jimmy Fishback		R	-	-	0
 66 – Jason Ramirez		3	0	2	5
 86 – Neil Facchini		R	0	3	3
 99 – Greg Ayers		1	3	1	5
120 – Doug Greyson		F	1	2	3
142 – Ricky Wells		3	3	3	9
163 – Rohn Zellner		1	1	2	4
178 – Eloy Medellin		1	1	0	2
182 – Rudy Laurer		0	1	2	3
249 – John Stunkard		1	2	1	4
321 – Russell Green		2	2	1	5

Race Results
 1: (restarted twice) Wells, Bloom, Ayers (penalty line), Laurer (penalty line)
 2: McConnell, R.Sauer, Zellner, Fishback (retired)
 3: (restarted) Ramirez, B.Sauer, Medellin, Greyson (fell)
 4: Schwartz, Green, Stunkard, Facchini (retired)
 9: (restarted) Wells, Green, Greyson, Facchini (penalty line) (fell, remounted)
10: (awarded) McConnell, Bloom, Medellin, B.Sauer (fell)
11: Ayers, Stunkard, Laurer (fell)
12: Schwartz, R.Sauer, Zellner, Ramirez (fell, remounted)
17: Wells, Zellner, Ayers, Medellin (fell, remounted)
18: McConnell, Greyson, Stunkard, R.Sauer (fell, remounted)
19: Facchini, Ramirez, Bloom, B.Sauer
20: Schwartz, Laurer, Green
Semi #1: Schwartz, Wells, Stunkard, Green, Ayers (retired)
Semi #2: McConnell, R.Sauer, Bloom, Ramirez (tape penalty), Zellner (fell)

Last Chance
 66 – Jason Ramirez
 22 – Mike Bloom
321 – Russell Green
249 – John Stunkard

Scratch Main Event
  6 – Shawn McConnell
 11 – Bobby Schwartz
142 – Ricky Wells
 66 – Jason Ramirez
 17 – Robbie Sauer
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.