American Speedway  

2008 Golden Gate Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2008 West Coast Results Page

Golden Gate Motor Speedway
Solano County Fairgrounds
Vallejo, California

Jack Milne Tribute Night
August 9, 2008 - Golden Gate Motor Speedway
By Gary Roberts

On August 3 Golden Gate Speedway hosted its third event, the Jack Milne tribute night. In remembrance of Jack Milne, all 44 competing riders, plus Charlie Venegas and Bobby Hedden came out on the track, without helmets and cruised for a few laps, something rarely seen, in American Speedway.

Much the same as the past 2 weeks, the weather was pleasant, initially hot sunshine, then a cool breeze. For the most part, the track held together well and enabled some great racing. All the riders enjoyed the track, some too much, there were a number of crashes and I am sure a number of riders will be sore today. The most serious damage was Greg Hooten’s broken thumb, but even that did not stop him completing the program.

This week Tommy Hedden won the main event from a good gate he held off Mike Faria for 4 laps. Faria was chased by Chad Felicio, who lead last week’s winner Bob Hicks. Right at the end Faria’s bike appeared to go away, handing Felicio second place.

The handicap main was won by Bryce Starks, who did well to hold off a challenge from fellow 16 year old Ben Essary who took second place ahead of Tommy Hedden.

The second division race had a number of restarts but eventual winner was Danny Faria. Chris Wilkes, in only his third week of racing, won the division three main.

It was good to see more riders this week, with the Felicio and Faria families joining the list, among others.

Scratch Main Event
1. Tommy Hedden; 2. Chad Felicio; 3. Mike Faria; 4. Bob Hicks.

Scratch Consolation Event
1. Kenny Ingalls; 2. Ben Essary; 3. JT Mabry; 4. Greg Hooten.

Handicap Main Event
1. Bryce Starks; 2. Ben Essary; 3. Tommy Hedden; 4. Jim Lewis; 5. Mike Faria.

Handicap Consolation Event
1. Devin Defreece; 2. Ricky Felicio; 3. Chad Felicio; 4. Shawn Eldridge; 5. Danny Turner.

Division 2 Main Event
1. Danny Faria; 2. Steve Lewotsky; 3. Shane Loessberg; 4. Doug Geist; 5. Richard Fehrman.

Division 2 Consolation Event
1. Charles Haines; 2. Matt Drury; 3. Mike Browne; 4. Ed Martinez; 5. Les Veale.

Division 3 Main Event
1. Chris Wilkes; 2. John Randolph; 3. Kjell Lovlien; 4. Harley Peek; 5. Dustin Berdollt.

Division 3 Consolation Event
1. Tor Lovlien; 2. Greg Lovlien; 3. Rich Mignano; 4. Tori Hubbert.

Youth Main event
1. Thomas Reich; 2. Tyler Warren; 3. Kendra Warren; 4. Cody Ciciarelli; 5. Gage Geist.

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.