American Speedway  

2008 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2008 West Coast Results Page

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

Harley Night
June 18, 2008 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Charlie “The Edge” Venegas further demonstrated his Wednesday night mastery by winning his sixth Scratch Main Event of the season on Harley Night at Industry Speedway.

Shawn “Mad Dog” McConnell started from gate one and led into turn one on the inside line. Venegas got a burst of speed on the back straight and went to the outside to challenge the leader entering turn three. McConnell hugged the inside line on the exit of turn four, but Venegas found more traction on the outside and took the lead at the close of lap one. Venegas dropped down to the inside entering turn one and never looked back. Venegas was first to the checkered flag, McConnell was second, Ricky Wells finished third, Buck Blair was fourth, and Bobby Schwartz finished fifth.

The heat races began with Venegas getting the better of Jimmy Fishback for his first win. Blair held off Wells for his first win. McConnell finished round one by defeating Schwartz. Wells started the round two by coming from the back to earn the win. Russell Green started in front and was never caught en route to victory. Jason Ramirez withstood a fierce challenge from Fishback to complete the second round with a win while Blair stole second after Fishback hooked up and brushed the wall in the final corner. Schwartz started in front to open the third round and scored a predictable victory. Fishback beat McConnell in race 26. Venegas ended the heats with a win over Wells.

John Marquez beat Green in a runoff for the final spot in the semis, but only after an intense four-lap battle at close quarters. Venegas won the first semi with second going to Blair. Wells and McConnell finished one-two in the second semi to earn the transfers to the main. Schwartz won the Last Chance to grab the final spot in the main.

In the Second Division Main Bryan Buffington held a slight lead entering turn one, but Steve Bowen found traction in turn two and took himself and Buffington wide. Rudy Laurer cut back underneath both riders to take the lead on the back straight. By the time the other two sorted themselves out, Laurer had an insurmountable lead. Laurer cruised to the victory, Bowen was second, Buffington finished third, Justin Hassan was fourth, and Dylan Black finished fifth.

Tim McGrath led the Third Division Main Event for three laps before Mark Sincavage closed to within striking distance. McGrath led into the final corner, but drifted wide and Sincavage went by in the inside to steal the victory. McGrath had to settle for second, Paul Thornton was third, Tony DeAlmeida finished fourth, and Rick Huspek was fifth.

Gino Manzares won both of his heats and the Youth Main Event. Joey Holt was second, Brad Pappalardo finished third, and Samuel Ramirez was fourth.

Nicky Reimer won the Pee Wee Main Event and the $50 donated by Tom Foster. Dean Cameron finished second, Cameron Dalbey was third, Brandon Denton finished fourth, and James Walter was fifth.

Dave Alexnaer and Chris Lovitt were leading the Sidecar Main Event when the Jones Brothers, returning to competition after several years away, and the Driggers Brothers tangled and both teams went tumbling down the front straight. All four combatants were unhurt, but the teams were unable to restart. Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen took advantage of the second chance by getting the best start and leading all four laps for the victory. Alexander and Lovitt finished second, and Gerard Jackson and Dave German were third.

This Wednesday’s program will include Freestyle Motocross Jumpers.


Sidecar Main Event (restarted)
  1 – Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen
 22 – Dave Alexander/Chris Lovitt
 66 – Gerard Jackson/Dave German
  7 – Dan Jones/Chris Jones		(non starter)
 13 – Scott Driggers/Sean Driggers	(non starter)

Pee Wee Main Event
 41 – Nicky Reimer
 99 – Dean Cameron
100 – Cameron Dalbey	(fell, remounted)
 24 – Brandon Denton
 22 – James Walter

Youth Main Event (restarted)
 21 – Gino Manzares
  4 – Joey Holt
611 – Brad Pappalardo		(penalty line)
 22 – Samuel Ramirez

Third Division Consolation
189 – Chris Thomas
308 – Hugh Randolph

Third Division Main Event
213 – Mark Sincavage			20
186 – Tim McGrath			0
124 – Paul Thornton			0
157 – Tony DeAlmeida			0
226 – Rick Huspek			0

Second Division Consolation
177 – Steve Bowen
176 – Carl Gazafy
202 – J.C. Masters

Second Division Consolation
132 – Justin Hassan
 52 – Marvin Sonnier
136 – Kim Stevens
153 – Brad Moreau

Second Division Main Event
182 – Rudy Laurer
177 – Steve Bowen
 77 – Bryan Buffington
132 – Justin Hassan
201 – Dylan Black

First Division Scoring		1	2	3	T
  6 – Shawn McConnell			3	2	2	7
 11 – Bobby Schwartz			2	0	3	5
 17 – Robbie Sauer			1	0	1	2
 21 – Brad Sauer			0	1	1	2
 25 – Jimmy Fishback			2	1	3	6
 39 – Buck Blair			3	2	2	7
 41 – John Marquez			1	2	0	3
 43 – Charlie Venegas			3	1	3	7
142 – Ricky Wells			2	3	2	7
166 – Jason Ramirez			1	3	1	5
178 – Eloy Medellin			F	0	0	0
321 – Russell Green			0	3	0	3

Race Results
 9: Venegas, Fishback, R.Sauer, Medellin (fell)
10: Blair, Wells, Marquez, B.Sauer
11: McConnell, Schwartz, Ramirez, Green
18: Wells [20], McConnell [30], B.Sauer [0], R.Sauer [10]
19: Green [0], Marquez [10], Venegas [30], Schwartz [20]
20: (restarted) Ramirez [10], Blair [30], Fishback, [20], Medellin [0] (penalty line)
25: Schwartz [0], Blair [20], Ramirez [30], Green [30]
26: Fishback [10], McConnell [20], B.Sauer [10], Marquez [20]
27: Venegas [10], Wells [30], R.Sauer [0], Medellin [0]
Runoff: Marquez, Green
Semi #1: Venegas, Blair, Ramirez, Schwartz (tape penalty)
Semi #2: Wells, McConnell, Fishback, Marquez

Last Chance
 11 – Bobby Schwartz
166 – Jason Ramirez
 41 – John Marquez
 25 – Jimmy Fishback		(fell)

Scratch Main Event
 43 – Charlie Venegas
  6 – Shawn McConnell
142 – Ricky Wells
 39 – Buck Blair
 11 – Bobby Schwartz
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.