American Speedway  

2008 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2008 West Coast Results Page

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

California Speedway
August 13, 2008 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Ricky Wells came from behind again to win the Scratch Main Event for the third consecutive time at Industry Speedway.

Bobby “Boogaloo” Schwartz, who recently celebrated his 52nd birthday, got the best start and led into turn one. Wells, who started from gate four, went to the outside to try to overtake Schwartz on the back straight. The former National Champion wasn’t going to give up the lead easily, though, and Schwartz maintained a slight edge at the end of lap one. Wells pulled even with the leader heading into turn three and found enough traction on the exit of turn four to propel himself into the lead at the end of the second lap. The Under 21 National Champion dropped to the inside in front of Schwartz entering turn one. Wells led the rest of the way for his fourth overall Scratch Main victory at Industry in 2008. Schwartz was second, Jimmy Fishback finished third, Eddie Castro was fourth, and Shawn McConnell finished fifth.

The first heat took three attempts to complete after Neil Facchini crashed twice, the second time taking him out of the meeting completely. McConnell passed Brad Sauer to win the heat. Schwartz held off the persistent Castro for his first win of the night. Charlie Venegas led the last heat of the round before Wells used the outside to take the lead and his first win.

Round two began with Castro passing Jason Ramirez on the outside for the win. Wells used the outside again to victimize Russell Green and take his second win. Fishback passed Jon Stasiefski on lap two for the lead and went on to victory to end the second round.

The final round started with Green pressuring Marvin Sonnier for three laps before getting the lead and the win. Schwartz won the next heat in which Venegas fell while trying to pass him for the lead. The result was Venegas missing the semis for the second straight week. McConnell was awarded the win the last heat after a scary crash in which Castro snapped a chain and Ramirez went over the top of him and into the wall. Both riders were able to walk away and participate in the semis.

The first semi was a preview of the main as Schwartz was first off the line but Wells went around him on the back straight. That was the way the finished with both riders transferring to the main. Castro won the second semi with McConnell following him into the main. Brad Sauer got the best start in the Last Chance, but Fishback found enough dirt on the outside to take the lead and the win.

The first attempt to run the Second Division Main Event ended up in a three-rider pile in turn one and left Rick Fritch unable to restart. J.C. Masters led the second try for a lap before Steve Bowen got into the back of him and brought both riders down as well as Bryan Buffington. Masters was unable to restart and Bowen was penalized. Frank Pecce, racing for the first time in six years, led the third attempt into turn one, but Rudy Laurer charged up the inside on the back straight to take the lead. Laurer went uncontested from there to win the Second Division Main for the third time this season. Buffington was second, Pecce finished third, and Bowen was fourth.

Ron Mongenel led all four laps to the Third Division Main Event for the third time in 2008. Tim McGrath finished second, Tony DeAlmeida was third, and Hugh Randolph finished fourth.

Gino Manzares passed Joey Holt on the back straight and never looked back en route to victory in the Youth First Division Main Event victory. Holt finished second and Brad Pappalardo was fourth.

The Youth Second Division Main Event was far and away the best race of the night. Nicky Reimer and Samuel Ramirez were side-by-side for three laps before Ramirez, on the outside, pulled ahead at the end of lap three. Reimer was unfazed and took the lead from Ramirez on the back straight. Ramirez tried to retake the lead, but Reimer held him off for the victory.

Nicky Reimer passed Jacob Wondolowski on the third lap to take the lead and the win in the Pee Wee Main Event. Wondolowski held on for second, James Walter finished third, and Nick Varner was fourth.


Pee Wee Main Event 
41 - Nicky Reimer 
251 - Jacob Wondolowski 
 22 - James Walter 
  3 - Nick Varner 
Youth Second Division Main Event 41 - Nicky Reimer 
 22 - Samuel Ramirez 
 Youth First Division Main Event 
 21 - Gino Manzares 
 4 - Joey Holt 
 611 - Brad Pappalardo 
Third Division Consolation 
124 - Paul Thornton 
371 - Gary Greenwood 
226 - Rick Huspek Third Division Main Event
158 - Ron Mongenel 
186 - Tim McGrath 
157 - Tony DeAlmeida 
308 - Hugh Randolph 

Second Division Main Event (restarted) 
182 - Rudy Laurer 10 
 77 - Bryan Buffington 10 
234 - Frank Pecce 0 
177 - Steve Bowen 10	(penalty line) (retired) 
202 - J.C. Masters 		0 	(non starter) 
288 - Rick Fritch 0 	(non starter) 

First Division Scoring	1	2	3	T
 6 - Shawn McConnell 3 	2 	3 	8 
 11 - Bobby Schwartz 3 	0 	3 	6 
 14 - Eddie Castro 2 	3 	1 	6 
 21 - Brad Sauer 2 	2 	2 	6 
 25 - Jimmy Fishback 1 	3 	1 	5 
 43 - Charlie Venegas 2 	M	F 	2 
 52 - Marvin Sonnier 0 	0 	0 	0 
 66 - Jason Ramirez 1 	2 	2 	5 
 86 - Neil Facchini N 	- 	- 	0 
110 - Jon Stasiefski 0 	1 	1	2 
142 - Ricky Wells 3 	3 	2 	8 
321 - Russell Green 1 	1 	3 	5 

Race Results 8: (restarted twice) McConnell, Sauer, Green, Facchini (non starter) 
 9: Schwartz, Castro, Fishback, Stasiefski 
10: Wells, Venegas, Ramirez, Sonnier 
18: Castro [20], Ramirez[10], Venegas[20] (two-minute exclusion) 
19: Wells[30], McConnell [30], Green [10], Schwartz[30], 
20: Fishback[10], Sauer[20], Stasiefski[0], Sonnier[0] 
25: Green [10], Wells[30], Fishback[30], Sonnier[0] 
26: Schwartz[0], Sauer[20], Stasiefski [10], Venegas[0] (fell) 
27: (awarded) McConnell [20], Ramirez [20], Castro[30] (fell) 

Semi #1: Wells, Schwartz, Green, Fishback 
Semi #2: Castro, McConnell, Ramirez, Sauer 

Last Chance 
25 - Jimmy Fishback
21 - Brad Sauer 
66 - Jason Ramirez 
321 - Russell Green 

Scratch Main Event 
142 - Ricky Wells 
11 - Bobby Schwartz 
25 - Jimmy Fishback 
14 - Eddie Castro 
6 - Shawn McConnell
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.