American Speedway  

2008 Ventura Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2008 West Coast Results Page

Ventura Raceway
Ventura, California

Speedway / Flat Track
September 27, 2008 - Ventura
By Steve Evans

Travis Henderson celebrated the best result of his career by taking home the Main Event at the Ventura September race in another incredible Main Event. Randy DiFrancesco and Phil Collins got the best starts, though a lock up coming out of turn 2 by DiFrancesco created an opportunity for Henderson, Eddie Castro and Dale Facchini to get in the mix. At the end of lap one Henderson moved past Collins for the lead and Castro soon followed by for second. Castro chased Henderson all the way but he could not catch the 20 year old who was on the gas with his head down. Dale Facchini came home in third and DiFrancesco, who had slipped back to fifth after his early lock up passed Collins for 4th. Steve Nutter was credited with sixth but did not finish.

The Laydown Heat saw Castro and Collins in a great battle, Castro coming from 3rd place early on to use his favored outside to his advantage. Dale Facchini could not find space on the start line and signaled to the starter who started the race anyway! Facchini had about and 80 yard penalty from this before he could get going.

Bryan Thompson won the laydown class with a super fast start and he eased away for the win. Dan Waller was 2nd, Malcolm Roe passed Jonni Jade for third. In the Sidecar class Dave Alexander & Matt David came off the 20 for their win.

The Speedway races were part of the 'Ascot Reunion' Vintage Flat Track races. There were a number of celebrities present including Kenny Roberts. There were over 200 entries, though this cut the speedway races back significantly, with only 1 heat and main per rider allowed by the organizers due to the 10pm curfew (though races were over by 9...). On the plus side, the $3,000 purse ensured that it was a bumper pay day for those who turned out. There were 8 speedway / sidecar events only compared to 18 in the June race, which must have left some fans disappointed, especially as the Pro riders only raced twice.The Pro's served up two great races and it was a shame they could not have given the crowd more events.

Unofficial Results:

Upright B Main
141 Mark Lane
33 Johnny Costerella
3 Elijah Harrison
00 Toni Hicks
35 Bobby Hill non starter

Upright Main
57 Bryan Thompson
21 Dan Waller
180 Malcolm Roe
266 Jonni Jade

Sidecar Main
22 Dave Alexander / Matt Davis
66 Gerard Jackson / Dave German
33 Joseph Petrolovich / Steven Bumpass
1 Joe Jones / Jimmy Olsen (non starter)

Laydown Heat
14 Eddie Castro
12x Phil Collins
55 Travis Henderson
12 Randy DiFrancesco
19 Dale Facchini
172 Steve Nutter (ret)

Laydown Main
55 Travis Henderson
14 Eddie Castro
19 Dale Facchini
12 Randy DiFrancesco
12x Phil Collins
173 Steve Nutter (ret)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.