American Speedway  

2009 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2009 West Coast Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Orange County Harley Davidson Night
August 22, 2009 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans

Colorado native "Battling" Buck Blair took home top honors by winning the main event on Orange County Harley Davidson Night at the world famous Costa Mesa Speedway.

Blair started in gate four and beat everyone into turn one but drifted a little wide exiting turn two. Gary Hicks tried to charge underneath the leader on the back straight but Blair pulled his machine back to the inside to protect his position. Hicks was planted on Blair's back tire the rest of the way, but was unable to force an error. Blair was first to the checkered flag, Hicks settled for second, "Flyin" Mike Faria finished third, Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz was fourth, and Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback was fifth.

Schwartz led the first heat before Faria used a brilliant cutback move in turn four to take the lead and the eventual win. Tommy Hedden was victorious in the second heat. Fishback took the win in the third heat. Gary Hicks held off Blair to end round one with a win.

Schwartz started the second round by collecting his first win. Faria defeated Hedden for his second straight victory. Dukie Ermolenko led the next heat before Fishback took over the lead on the third lap and earned the win. Gary Hicks beat Shawn McConnell to end the second round.

Schwartz began the final round of heats by defeating Northern California's Bob Hicks for his second straight win. Blair made it two in a row by defeating Hedden. Shaun Harmatiuk beat Faria in the next heat. McConnell closed out the heats with a victory.

Fishback and Blair finished one-two in the first semi to transfer to the main event. Hicks won the second semi with Faria following him into the main by finishing second.

Hedden led the first lap of the Last Chance for a lap before feeling immense pressure from Schwartz. Schwartz blasted up the inside on the back straight with Hedden trying to fight him off. Schwartz pushed his way past the leader in a move that brought the appreciative crowd to its feet. Hedden used the outside to remain in contention, but Schwartz held him off to take the final transfer to the main and a wild ovation from the fans.

Rick Farron led from start to finish and earned the victory in the Support Main Event. Rudy Laurer finished second, Drew Coats was third, and Ryan Tovatt finished fourth.

Charlie Ousley put together four smooth laps and was victorious in the Support B Main Event. Dan Wensloff finished second, Gene Stone was third, and Michael Moore finished fourth.

Rocco Scopellite led the Youth First Division Main Event before Nicky Reimer went by the second time down the back straight. Reimer never looked back from there and collected the win. Scopellite held on for second, Maxwell Ruml finished third, and Samuel Ramirez was fourth.

Hayley Perrault led the first two laps of the Youth Second Division Main Event before Dillon Ruml took over the lead. Dillon Ruml led the rest of the way for the victory. Perrault was second, Jacob Wondolowski finished third, Elijah Harrison-Hicks was fourth, and Michael Wells finished fifth.


Youth Second Division Main Event
111 – Dillon Ruml
0 – Hayley Perrault
251 – Jacob Wondolowski
3 – Elijah Harrison-Hicks
14 – Michael Wells

Youth First Division Main Event
41 – Nicky Reimer
9 – Rocco Scopellite
356 – Maxwell Ruml
22 – Samuel Ramirez (fell)

Support B Main Event
312 – Charlie Ousley
169 – Dan Wensloff
231 – Gene Stone
161 – Michael Moore

Support Last Chance
195 – Drew Coats
176 – Carl Gazafy
150 – Damon Barry (fell, remounted)

Support Main Event
147 – Rick Farron
182 – Rudy Laurer
195 – Drew Coats
389 – Ryan Tovatt

First Division Scoring 1 2 3 T
3 – Gary Hicks 4 4 R 8
6 – Shawn McConnell 2 3 4 9
9 – Mike Faria 4 4 3 11
11 – Bobby Schwartz 3 4 4 11
15 – Dukie Ermolenko 0 3 N 3
17 – Robbie Sauer 2 1 1 4
21 – Brad Sauer 2 2 2 6
22 – Mike Bloom 1 1 2 4
22n – Bob Hicks 1 1 3 5
25 – Jimmy Fishback 4 4 2 10
30n – Devin Defreece 1 2 1 4
39 – Buck Blair 3 2 4 9
40 – Tommy Hedden 4 3 3 10
139 – Shaun Harmatiuk 3 3 4 10
145 – Brad Pappalardo 1 1 2 4
149 – Philip Harmatiuk 2 0 1 3
178 – Eloy Medellin 0 0 0 0
184 – Tyson Burmeister 3 2 3 8

Race Results
1: Faria, Schwartz, P.Harmatiuk, Bloom
2: Hedden, Burmeister, B.Sauer, Pappalardo, Ermolenko
3: Fishback, S.Harmaituk, R.Sauer, B.Hicks, Medellin
4: G.Hicks, Bliar, McConnell, Defreece
9: Schwartz, S.Harmatiuk, Blair, Pappalardo, P.Harmatiuk
10: Faria, Hedden, Burmeister, R.Sauer
11: Fishback, Ermolenko, Defreece, Bloom, Medellin
12: G.Hicks, McConnell, B.Sauer, B.Hicks
15: Schwartz, B.Hicks, Bloom, R.Sauer, Medellin
16: Blair, Hedden, B.Sauer, Defreece, G.Hicks (retired)
17: S.Harmatiuk, Faria, Fishback, P.Harmatiuk
18: McConnell, Burmeister, Pappalardo, Ermolenko (non starter)

Semi #1: Fishback, Blair, McConnell, Schwartz, B.Sauer
Semi #2: G.Hicks, Faria, S.Harmatiuk, Hedden

First Division Last Chance
11 – Bobby Schwartz
6 – Shawn McConnell
40 – Tommy Hedden
139 – Shaun Harmatiuk

First Division Main Event
39 – Buck Blair
3 – Gary Hicks
9 – Mike Faria
11 – Bobby Schwartz
25 – Jimmy Fishback (retired)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.