American Speedway  

2009 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2009 West Coast Results Page

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

June 10, 2009 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Gary Hicks topped his perfect night by winning the Scratch Main Event for the third consecutive week on AFLAC Night at Industry Speedway.

The start of the Scratch Main was delayed when Charlie “The Edge” Venegas touched the tapes and was penalized. When the tapes finally went up Hicks jumped into the lead but came under fire from Buck Blair. Hicks led down back straight and hugged the inside line entering turn three. Blair went to the outside and inched ahead of Hicks but brushed the wall with his rear tire exiting turn four and lost his momentum. Hicks regained the lead and “Flyin” Mike Faria went past Blair as well. Hicks was never threatened on the final three laps and he cruised to the victory. Faria finished second, Blair was third, Jason Ramirez finished fourth, and Venegas ended up fifth after a mechanical problem caused him to fall in turn three.

Venegas began the evening by winning the first heat ahead of “Fast” Eddie Castro. Jimmy Fishback led the second heat until he went wide and allowed Hicks to assume the lead and get the win. Faria was victorious over Ramirez in the third heat. Bobby “Boogaloo” Schwartz held off a persistent Shawn “Mad Dog” McConnell to win the final heat of the opening round.

Round two began with McConnell crashing against the fence. The veteran rider was able to restart, but was penalized. Blair beat Russell Green in the restart for his first win. Venegas beat Ramirez for his second straight win. Hicks made it two in a row with an easy win in event 11. Faria was awarded the victory in the final race of the second round after Fishback lifted badly in turn four and hit the fence at a high rate of speed. The former Junior National Champion was down for several minutes, but was able to slowly walk off the track. However, he withdrew from the rest of the meeting.

Faria and Castro began the final round with an awesome inside-outside battle that the diminutive Castro was able to get the better of as he found enough traction on the outside to power himself to victory. Green led the next heat for a lap before Venegas used the outside to make the pass for the lead and took his third win. McConnell beat Blair in event 17. Hicks ended the heats by defeating Schwartz for his third victory. Ramirez defeated Green in a runoff for the final spot in the semis.

Venegas won the first semi with Faria getting second as both riders transferred to the main. Hicks and an impressive Ramirez ran one-two and made it to the main. Blair brilliantly trapped from the outside and won the First Division Last Chance to earn the final spot in the main.

Joey Holt led all four laps en route to victory in the Second Division Main Event. Steve “Rattlesnake” Bowen finished second, Frank Pecce was third, and Chris Thomas finished fourth.

Paul Thornton led the Third Division Main Event for a lap before Tim McGrath went around him on the outside. McGrath ran away from there and was first to the checkered flag. Thornton held on to second, DeWayne Stark finished third, Ron Mongenel was fourth, Tony DeAlmeida finished fifth, and 77 year old Hugh Randolph was sixth.

Samuel Ramirez led from start to finish and won the Youth Main Event. Maxwell Ruml finished second, Nicky Reimer was third, and Hayley Perrault finished fourth.

National Champions Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen never turned a wheel wrong and won the Sidecar Main Event. Dave Alexander and Matt Davis were second, Stuart Glass and Steve Bumpus finished third, and Kirk Williams and John DeFries were fourth.

AFLAC Night featured a show car display from NASCAR driver Carl Edwards and included a contest in which the participants emulated the AFLAC-quacking sound the duck makes during the AFLAC television commercials. The winner won over $500 worth of souvenirs. Next Wednesday’s event at Industry Speedway is Classic Car Club Night.


Sidecar Main Event
  1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen
 22 - Dave Alexander/Matt Davis
911 - Stuart Glass/Steve Bumpus
  4 - Kirk Williams/John DeFries

Youth Main Event
 22 - Samuel Ramirez
356 - Maxwell Ruml
 41 - Nicky Reimer
  0 - Hayley Perreualt

Third Division Main Event
186 - Tim McGrath 		10
124 - Paul Thornton 		0
268 - DeWayne Stark 		0
158 - Ron Mongenel 		10
157 - Tony DeAlmeida 		10
308 - Hugh Randolph 		0

Second Division Semi
244 - Joey Holt 		0
177 - Steve Bowen 		0
213 - Mark Sincavage 		10
274 - Bubba Vazzana 		0
363 - Butch Waymire 		10
266 - Jonni Jade 		0

Second Division Main Event
244 - Joey Holt
177 - Steve Bowen
234 - Frank Pecce
189 - Chris Thomas

First Division Scoring 		1 	2 	3 	T
  3 - Gary Hicks 		3 	3 	3 	9
  6 - Shawn McConnell 		2 	1 	3 	6
  9 - Mike Faria 		3 	3 	2 	8
 11 - Bobby Schwartz 		3 	1 	2 	6
 14 - Eddie Castro 		2 	2 	3 	7
 25 - Jimmy Fishback 		2 	2 	N 	4
 39 - Buck Blair 		1 	3 	2 	6
 41 - John Marquez 		0 	0 	1 	1
 43 - Charlie Venegas 		3 	3 	3 	9
 66 - Jason Ramirez 		2 	2 	1 	5
141 - Josh Abbott 		0 	0 	F 	0
178 - Eloy Medellin 		1 	0 	0 	1
181 - Austin Novratil 		N 	1 	1 	2
184 - Tyson Burmeister 		1 	0 	1 	2
221 - Gino Manzares 		0 	1 	0 	1
321 - Russell Green 		1 	2 	2 	5

Race Results
 1: Venegas, Castro, Burmeister, Marquez
 2: Hicks, Fishback, Green, Abbott
 3: (restarted) Faria, Ramirez, Blair, Novratil (non starter)
 4: Schwartz, McConnell, Medellin, Manzares
 9: (restarted) Blair, Green, McConnell (penalty line), Abbott 
10: Venegas, Ramirez, Schwartz, Burmeister
11: Hicks, Castro (penalty line), Manzares, Medellin
12: (restarted) (awarded) Faria, Fishback, Novratil, Marquez (non starter)
15: (restarted) Castro, Faria, Ramirez (penalty line), Manzares
16: Venegas, Green, Novratil, Fishback (non starter)
17: (restarted) McConnell, Blair, Marquez (penalty line), Medellin (fell, remounted)
18: Hicks, Schwartz, Burmeister, Abbott (fell)

Runoff: Ramirez, Green
Semi #1: Venegas, Faria, Schwartz, Blair (retired)
Semi #2: Hicks, Ramirez, McConnell, Castro (tape penalty)

First Division Last Chance
 39 - Buck Blair
  6 - Shawn McConnell
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
 14 - Eddie Castro

First Division Main Event
  3 - Gary Hicks 
  9 - Mike Faria
 39 - Buck Blair
 66 - Jason Ramirez
 43 - Charlie Venegas 		(tape penalty)	(fell)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.