American Speedway  

2009 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2009 West Coast Results Page

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

Classic Car Club Night
June 17, 2009 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Charlie "The Edge" Venegas went undefeated and claimed his first main event victory of the year at Industry Speedway.

Venegas, who owns the most main event victories in the track's six-year history, started from gate one and held the advantage as the field entered turn one. National Champion Billy "The Kid" Janniro made a good start but was pushed wide in the first bend. Venegas led down the back straight with Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell following his inside line while Janniro went to the outside. Janniro couldn't find enough traction on the outside so he tried to cut back underneath McConnell. The California State Champion benefitted from McConnell having to contend with Janniro and opened up his lead with each lap. Janniro's efforts to pass McConnell ended when he fell in the final corner. Venegas crossed the line first, McConnell finished second, Buck Blair was third, Kenny Ingalls finished fourth, and Janniro was credited with fifth.

The heats began with former National Champion "Flyin" Mike Faria leading before Tyson Burmeister aggressively took the lead and went on to the victory. Blair earned the victory in the second heat. Janniro dominated the next heat for his first win. Venegas ended round one with a win over McConnell.

Round two began with Venegas getting his second win ahead of Burmeister. McConnell went by Faria on the second lap of event 11 to get his first win. "Fast" Eddie Castro earned his first win in the next heat. Janniro concluded the second round by beating Ingalls for his second win.

The final round started with Youth National Champion Brad Pappalardo and Burmeister battling side-by-side for the lead before Blair fell and brought out the red flag. Pappalardo led the restart before he and Burmeister clashed in turn four and left the 16 year old on the ground. Pappalardo didn't make the restart. Burmeister led the third attempt before he pulled up with a mechanical issue and allowed Castro to take the lead and his second win.

McConnell earned his second straight win by beating Ingalls in event 18. Faria cruised to victory in the next heat. Venegas won his third consecutive race ahead of Jason Ramirez and Janniro to close out the heats.
McConnell got the best start in the first semi and led a very pesky Janniro all the way to the finish as both riders transferred to the main. Venegas remained perfect by winning the second semi with Ingalls following him into the main. Blair won the Last Chance to earn the final spot in the main.

Chris Thomas led the Second Division Main Event before he fell and handed the lead over to Northern California's Danny Faria. Faria, the son of Mike Faria, led the rest of the way to take the victory. Joey Holt finished second, Pete Pedersen, a native of Denmark who now resides in North Dakota, was third, Bubba Vazzana finished fourth, and Thomas was fifth.

Butch Waymire, who works as an airline pilot when he isn't going sideways on a speedway bike, led all four laps to capture the Third Division Main Event. Rod Requejo was second, DeWayne Stark finished third, Rick Huspek was fourth, and Tony DeAlmeida finished fifth.

Nicky Reimer put together four smooth laps to win the Youth Main Event. Maxwell Ruml finished second, Samuel Ramirez was third, Dillon Ruml finished fourth, and Hayley Perreault was fifth.

Gerard Jackson and Dave German led from start to finish and captured their first Sidecar Main Event victory of the year. Davd Alexander and Matt Davis finished second with Tommy Thornton and Steven Bumpus coming in third.

Next Wednesday is Fan Appreciation Night at Industry Speedway.


Sidecar Main Event
 66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German
 22 - Dave Alexander/Matt Davis
 31 - Tommy Thornton/Steve Bumpus

Pee Wee Main Event
 41 - Nicky Reimer
Michael Wells

Youth Main Event
 41 - Nicky Reimer
356 - Maxwell Ruml
 22 - Samuel Ramirez
111 - Dillon Ruml
  0 - Hayley Perrault 		(fell)

Third Division Last Chance
131 - Rod Requejo
124 - Paul Thornton
308 - Hugh Randolph
369 - Andy Schwarm 		(fell) 

Third Division Main Event
363 - Butch Waymire
131 - Rod Requejo
268 - DeWayne Stark
226 - Rick Huspek
157 - Tony DeAlmeida 		(fell, remounted)

Second Division Semi
274 - Bubba Vazzana
234 - Frank Pecce
178 - Eloy Medellin 		(retired)
136 - Kim Stevens 		(retired)

Second Division Semi
105 - Daniel Faria
186 - Tim McGrath
213 - Mark Sincavage
242 - Bruce Marteney
266 - Jonni Jade 		(fell)

Second Division Main Event (restarted)
105 - Daniel Faria
244 - Joey Holt 		(penalty line)
127 - Pete Pedersen
274 - Bubba Vazzana 		(penalty line)
189 - Chris Thomas 		(fell)

First Division Scoring 	1 	2 	3 	T
  1 - Billy Janniro 		3 	3 	1 	7
  6 - Shawn McConnell 		2 	3 	3 	8
  9 - Mike Faria 		1 	2 	3 	6
 11 - Bobby Schwartz 		2 	R 	1 	3
 14 - Eddie Castro 		1 	3 	3 	7
 39 - Buck Blair 		3 	1 	2 	6
 43 - Charlie Venegas 		3 	3 	3 	9
 66 - Jason Ramirez 		1 	1 	2 	4
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk 		1 	2 	2 	5
145 - Brad Pappalardo 		0 	0 	N 	0
178 - Eloy Medellin 		0 	1 	0 	1
181 - Austin Novratil 		F 	F 	0 	0
184 - Tyson Burmeister 		3 	2 	1 	6
212n - Kenny Ingalls 		2 	2 	2 	6
221 - Gino Manzares 		0 	0 	0 	0
244 - Joey Holt 		2 	1 	1 	4

Race Results
 1: Burmeister, Ingalls, Faria, Manzares
 2: Blair, Holt, Castro (tape penalty), Medellin
 3: (restarted) Janniro, Schwartz, Ramirez, Pappalardo (penalty line)
 4: (awarded) Venegas, McConnell, Harmatiuk, Novratil (fell) 
10: Venegas, Burmeister, Holt, Schwartz (retired)
11: McConnell, Faria, Ramirez, Pappalardo
12: Castro, Harmatiuk, Medellin, Novratil (fell)
13: Janniro, Ingalls, Blair (tape penalty), Manzares
17: (restarted twice) Castro, Blair, Burmeister, Pappalardo (non starter)
18: McConnell, Ingalls, Schwartz, Medellin
19: Faria, Harmatiuk, Holt, Manzares
20: Venegas, Ramirez, Janniro, Novratil

Semi #1: McConnell, Janniro, Blair, Burmeister
Semi #2: Venegas, Ingalls, Castro, Faria (tape penalty) 

First Division Last Chance
 39 - Buck Blair
 14 - Eddie Castro
  9 - Mike Faria
184 - Tyson Burmeister

First Division Main Event
 43 - Charlie Venegas
  6 - Shawn McConnell
 39 - Buck Blair
212n - Kenny Ingalls
  1 - Billy Janniro 		(fell)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.