American Speedway  

2009 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2009 West Coast Results Page

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

Surf, Skate, and Bikini Contest Night
July 15, 2009 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Billy “The Kid” Janniro capped a perfect night by winning the Scratch Main Event for the second consecutive week at Industry Speedway.

The first time the riders lined up for the Scratch Main, Ricky Wells touched the tapes and was sent to the penalty line. When the tapes finally came up Janniro exploded into the lead with Gary Hicks getting in behind him for second. Hicks pressured Janniro for the first lap with Jimmy Fishback running a close third. The National Champion ensured that there wouldn’t be any drama after lap one, though, and he pulled away with each successive lap and was first to the checkered flag. Hicks finished second, Fishback was third, Wells finished fourth, and Tyson Burmeister was fifth.

Janniro kicked off the heats the same way he ended the evening, with a victory. Hicks held off Wells for his first win. Fishback beat Gino Manzares to win event three. Mike Faria ended round one with a win over John Marquez.

Jason Ramirez beat fellow former Youth National Champion Brad Pappalardo to start round two. Janniro beat Faria for his second straight win. Hicks made it two for two by defeating “Fast” Eddie Castro in the next heat. Wells made a spectacular third-to-first move past Fishback and Burmeister on the second lap to end the second round with a victory.

The final round began with Fishback beating Faria for his second win. Burmeister beat Marquez in event 16. Janniro made it three wins in a row by beating Ramirez in the next event. Wells closed out the heats with a win over Hicks. Manzares beat Marquez in a runoff for the final spot in the semis.

Hicks suffered a broken chain prior to the first semi and borrowed a bike. Fishback and Burmeister showed no mercy and finished one-two and transferred to the main event. Janniro defeated Wells in the second semi with both riders transferring to the main. Hicks repaired his bike in time to win the Last Chance and book the final spot in the main.

Philip Harmatiuk led from start to finish and captured the Second Division Main Event. Josh Abbott finished second, Joey Holt was third, and Drew Coats finished fourth.

Arie Gardner, making his debut, led the Third Division Main Event for one lap before Ron Mongenel took over the lead. Mongenel ran away from the pack from there and crossed the finish line first. DeWayne Stark finished second, Paul Thornton was third, Gardner finished fourth, and Rick Huspek was fifth.

Rocco Scopellite beat Kyle Hicks and Bradley Wilson to win the Youth First Division Main Event.

Samuel Ramirez put together four smooth laps and was victorious in the Youth Second Division Main Event. Nicky Reimer finished second, Wilson was third, Maxwell Ruml finished fourth, Hayley Perrault was fifth, and Michael Wells finished sixth.

Reimer ran away with the win in the Pee Wee Main Event. Kale Fredholm was second, Michael Wells finished third, Dean Cameron finished fourth, Gino Scopellite was fifth, and Kole Fredholm finished sixth.

Dave Alexander and Matt Davis led all four laps to claim victory in the Sidecar Main Event. Sean Driggers and Missy Driggers finished second, Gerard Jackson and Dave German were third, and Tommy Thornton and Gene Stone were fourth.

The next event at Industry Speedway is Harley Night and will include the always-popular Harley Races during intermission.


Sidecar Main Event
 22 - Dave Alexander/Matt Davis
 23 - Sean Driggers/Missy Driggers
 66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German 	(retired)
 31 - Tommy Thornton/Gene Stone 	(retired)

Pee Wee Main Event
 41 - Nicky Reimer
 88 - Kale Fredholm
 14 - Michael Wells
 99 - Dean Cameron
  7 - Gino Scopellite
 55 - Kole Fredholm

Youth Second Division Main Event
 22 - Samuel Ramirez
 41 - Nicky Reimer
  2 - Bradley Wilson
356 - Maxwell Ruml
  0 - Hayley Perrault
 14 - Michael Wells

Youth First Division Main Event
  9 - Rocco Scopellite
103 - Kyle Hicks
  2 - Bradley Wilson

Third Division Main Event
158 - Ron Mongenel 		10
268 - DeWayne Stark 		10
124 - Paul Thornton 		0
174 - Arie Gardner 		0
226 - Rick Huspek 		0

Second Division Main Event
149 - Philip Harmatiuk
141 - Josh Abbott
244 - Joey Holt
195 - Drew Coats 		(tape penalty)

First Division Scoring 		1 	2 	3 	T
  1 - Billy Janniro 		3 	3 	3 	9
  3 - Gary Hicks 		3 	3 	2 	8
  9 - Mike Faria 		3 	2 	2 	7
 11 - Bobby Schwartz		0 	1 	0 	1
 14 - Eddie Castro 		1 	2 	N 	3
 25 - Jimmy Fishback		3 	2 	3 	8
 41 - John Marquez 		2 	0 	2 	4
 66 - Jason Ramirez 		1 	3 	2 	6
110 - Jon Stasiefski 		0 	0 	0 	0
141 - Josh Abbott 		0 	0 	- 	0
142 - Ricky Wells 		2 	3 	3	8
145 - Brad Pappalardo		0 	2 	1 	3
149 - Philip Harmatiuk 		1 	- 	- 	1
181 - Austin Novratil 		1 	1 	1 	3
184 - Tyson Burmeister 		2 	1 	3 	6
221 - Gino Manzares 		2 	1 	1 	4
321 - Russell Green 		0 	0 	0 	0

Race Results
 1: Janniro, Burmeister, Castro, Pappalardo
 2: Hicks, Wells, Ramirez, Green
 3: Fishback, Manzares, Novratil, Schwartz (tape penalty)
 4: Faria, Marquez, Harmatiuk, Stasiefski
 9: Ramirez, Pappalardo, Schwartz, Marquez (fell, remounted)
10: Janniro, Faria, Novratil, Green
11: Hicks, Castro, Manzares, Abbott
12: Wells, Fishback, Burmeister, Stasiefski (tape penalty)
15: Fishback, Faria, Manzares, Abbott
16: (restarted twice) Burmeister, Marquez, Stasiefski (non starter), Castro (non starter)
17: Janniro, Ramirez, Pappalardo, Schwartz
18: Wells, Hicks, Novratil, Green

Runoff: Manzares, Marquez
Semi#1: Fishback, Burmeister, Hicks, Ramirez
Semi#2: Janniro, Wells, Manzares, Faria (tape penalty)

First Division Last Chance
  3 - Gary Hicks
 66 - Jason Ramirez
221 - Gino Manzares
  9 - Mike Faria 		(tape penalty)

First Division Main Event
  1 - Billy Janniro
  3 - Gary Hicks
 25 - Jimmy Fishback
142 - Ricky Wells 		(tape penalty)
184 - Tyson Burmeister 		(fell)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.