American Speedway  

2009 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2009 West Coast Results Page

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

Night of Legends
August 26, 2009 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Tommy Hedden won his first Southern California main event of 2009 as Industry Speedway hosted many of America's greatest speedway riders on their Night of Legends.

Hedden made the best start from gate two and led the field into turn one."Fast" Eddie Castro chased after the Northern Californian on the first lap but couldn't find a way past. Hedden maintained a tight inside line the entire distance, never made a mistake, and was first to the checkered flag. Castro settled for second, "Flyin" Mike Faria finished third, Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell was fourth, and "Battling" Buck Blair was credited with fifth.

The Night of Legends welcomed back many riders from speedway's past, but was undoubtedly headlined by former two-time World Champion Bruce Penhall. Penhall did several laps alone before taking part in an exhibition match race with Gino Manzares, a rider that the icon has mentored this season. Penhall also announced that the helmet he was wearing would be auctioned on eBay with the proceeds going to the USA Dream Team tour of Britain in October.

Among the more than two dozen riders who were in attendance included former National Champions Rick Woods and Kelly Moran and former Under 21 Champion Ron Preston. Billy Meister, Doug Nicol, Dubb Ferrell, Andy Northrup, Steve Murray, and Billy Gray participated in exhibition match races. Gray drew the biggest ovation by turning some pretty impressive laps at 71 years old. The legends were stationed near the entrance to the facility and graciously signed autographs and posed for pictures for the long lines of fans that patiently waited to see their favorites of years past.

Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback opened the heats by defeating Hedden. Faria, a legend himself, was awarded the victory in the second heat. Blair beat Castro in the third heat. McConnell ended round one with a victory over Brad Pappalardo.

Jason Ramirez passed Bobby Schwartz for an impressive victory to begin round two. Tyson Burmeister held off McConnell to win the next heat. Fishback made it two in a row with a win over Russell Green. Faria trapped from the outside and held off Blair to end the second round with his second win.

Blair started the final round by beating Fishback. Burmeister beat Faria for his second straight win. Schwartz defeated Hedden to win the penultimate heat.

McConnell defeated Pappalardo in the final heat.

Castro won a four-rider runoff to earn the final spot in the semis.

Hedden made a great start from the outside in the first semi and led Faria all the way into the main event. McConnell and Castro finished one-two in the second semi to book their place in the main. Blair won the Last Chance to earn the final place in the main.

Joey Holt led the Second Division Main Event before Kyle Hicks went by on the back straight. Hicks held off his fellow teenager the rest of the way for an impressive victory. Drew Coats finished third, Steve Bowen was fourth, Brad Moreau finished fifth, and Miles Calvin was sixth.

Justin Weeks led from start to finish and captured the Third Division Main Event for the second week in a row. Chris Jones finished second, Mike Schultz was third, and Gene Stone finished fourth.

National Champions Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen were victorious in the Sidecar Main Event. Gerard Jackson and Dave German finished second, Sean Driggers and Missy Driggers were third, and Brian Motis and Brandi McElroy were credited with fourth.


Sidecar Main Event (awarded)
1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen
66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German
23 - Sean Driggers/Missy Driggers
4 - Brian Motis/Brandi McElroy

Third Division Main Event
257 - Justin Weeks
116 - Chris Jones
292 - Mike Schultz
231 - Gene Stone

Second Division Main Event
103- Kyle Hicks 0
244 - Joey Holt 0
195 - Drew Coats 10
177 - Steve Bowen 0
153 - Brad Moreau 10
119 - Miles Calvin 10 (retired)

First Division Scoring 1 2 3 T
6 - Shawn McConnell 3 2 3 8
9 - Mike Faria 3 3 2 8
11 - Bobby Schwartz 1 0 3 4
14 - Eddie Castro 2 1 1 4
25 - Jimmy Fishback 3 3 2 8
39 - Buck Blair 3 2 3 8
40 - Tommy Hedden 2 1 2 5
41 - John Marquez 1 2 1 4
66 - Jason Ramirez 2 3 1 6
86 - Neil Facchini 0 0 0 0
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk 1 0 1 2
141 - Josh Abbott 1 1 0 2
145 - Brad Pappalardo 2 0 2 4
184 - Tyson Burmeister F 3 3 6
221 - Gino Manzares 0 1 X 1
321 - Russell Green 0 2 0 2

Race Results
1: Fishback, Hedden, Harmatiuk, Manzares
2: (awarded) Faria, Ramirez, Abbott, Burmeister (fell)
3: Blair, Castro, Schwartz, Green
4: McConnell, Pappalardo, Marquez, Facchini (fell, remounted)
10: Ramirez, Marquez, Manzares, Schwartz
11: Burmeister, McConnell, Castro (tape penalty), Harmatiuk
12: Fishback, Green, Abbott, Facchini
13: Faria, Blair, Hedden, Pappalardo
17: Blair, Fishback, Castro, Manzares (excluded)
18: Burmeister, Faria, Marquez, Facchini
19: Schwartz, Hedden, Harmatiuk, Green
20: McConnell, Pappalardo, Ramirez, Abbott

Runoff: Castro, Schwartz, Marquez (penalty line), Pappalardo
Semi #1: Hedden, Faria, Burmeister, Fishback
Semi #2: McConnell, Castro, Ramirez, Blair

First Division Last Chance (restarted twice)
39 - Buck Blair
66 - Jason Ramirez
184 - Tyson Burmeister (penalty line)
25 - Jimmy Fishback (retired)

First Division Main Event
40 - Tommy Hedden
14 - Eddie Castro
9 - Mike Faria
6 - Shawn McConnell (fell)
39 - Buck Blair (two-minute exclusion)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.